We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed stay with comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Water Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Water Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Jamshedpur, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxed stay with comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Thanks for the beautiful stay. Arrived not feeling well and could not have been better looked after. Staff and manager went above and beyond. Excellent, well maintained bungalows with all amenities perfect. Thank you very much for the stay. Keep up the good work always..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SubaramSubbiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    83
    24
    10
    10
See reviews for
63
130
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
Level Contributor
379 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed in a non AC chalet, set in pretty gardens with a sea view. Our bed was comfy and the fan and water both worked well. The best part was listening to the waves crashing on the shore and walking just a few metres to a small but surprisingly clean beach, which we shared with fishermen hauling in their catch in the morning, and mending their boat during the day. There is a great coastal path running in one direction to Varkala where there are shops and restaurants along the cliff with the beach below and in the opposite direction past a couple of small resorts to Edava. We had lunch and dinner once and the food was good, but the menu is fairly limited and there were other places within walking distance. They are building some new chalets behind the restaurant which are much closer together than the existing units.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our first impressions were not good. We had endured a near five hour car journey from Kochi when we could have come from Trivandrum in thirty per cent of the time. We were tired. I needed a nice large gin and tonic. Alas, Blue Water has no liquor licence. The cabin was very dark and gloomy. Had we chosen the right place? In the glorious sun next morning, it seemed better, much better. The bathroom was spotless (except for the window shelf). The shower water was hot. It was very pleasant sitting on the balcony overlooking the ocean with a well made pot of tea. Breakfast (included in our room rate) was very good: fresh pineapple juice, fresh fruit salad and eggs cooked to order. If, however, you are expecting a beach in front of the hotel, you will be disappointed. Immediately in front of the hotel, the small cliff suggests that India is preparing for invasion from the sea! Large granite slabs are heaped on the foreshore (and all along the coast) to prevent erosion. There are however two small beaches to the left and right. And a large open beach about 20 minutes walk south of the hotel, past the large commercial area on top of the cliff. Umbrellas can be hired. The hotel provides beach towels. The water is delightfully warm but the sea has big breakers. The currents are strong. There is no swimming pool. There are not enough loungers and chairs with cushions in the hotel grounds. The food is very simple: large fish steaks with chopped salad, prawn and chicken noodles, generous bowls of fresh fruit, a particularly good fish soup at lunchtime. We ate all our meals in the hotel. Our bill for lunch, dinner, fruit juices, coffee, teas etc. and laundry for the two of us over four days was in total IRs 4,560 or £55. You can afford to indulge! We would go again and try to stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BASILVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCR , India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

I visited Varkala with my wife. It was our second destination of our 10 day long Kerala adventure after Kochi. The Blue Water Beach Resort was booked as our abode for the 4 day stay there. The online portal of Antilog vacations had arranged for our total trip and it was a welcome change from the common difficulties associated with usual travel sites as the travel agent were really professional nd low cost in their approach.

We travelled from Fort Cochin and had a dedicated cab to the Odayam beach based on whatever inputs we had from the reviews and write-ups . The Blue Water Beach Resort is located near the Parambil Temple there. The first glimpse of the resort was stunning as we arrived at the stroke of sunset. The resort was located on a diminutive overhang unswervingly overlooking the seamless beach.

The receptionist was pretty nippy and we got a beach bungalow in the north east corner of the property. The bungalows were simple but beautiful and well maintained. The rooms were quite large at 45 sq mt but there were no geyser or AC in the bathroom and room respectively. Both seemed glaring omissions at the onset but given the milieu you hardly needed either as the temperature remained in the moderate range on the back of the sea breeze.

The resort was small overall with just about 5 bungalows and 4 rooms. But this led to personalized attention and each room was coupled with an adjoining hammock, chairs and tables. The north cliff of Varkala was the main town centre and was about a 15-20 min walk from the resort. We went for frequent leisurely walks and got mesmerized in the abundance of shops, bars and restaurants in that area. Thus all in all the Blue Water Beach Resort is a nature’s nest and you would find it very pleasing.

Room Tip: deluxe room-cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaiswal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Our visit to Varkala was made special by Blue Water Beach Resort. The staff is super friendly, especially the manager Rakesh, who is very hardworking, gentle and resourceful. The housekeeping person Francis, a multitasker, is another helpful soul around. The kitchen staff is seasonal contractual labor, as they have to return home during the heavy monsoon season. But all of them are great with services. Food is rather straightforward and simple continental unless for those days when Rakesh buys fresh catch from local fisherfolks (we had excellent grilled butterfish and sardines). The environs are clean, well maintained and family and especially kid-friendly. The beach is right below the resort's steps. Fish, boats, swimmers -- all have a good time in the balmy Kerala sun! Located on the south cliff, BWBR is rightly positioned between the commercial north cliff and the tail end of the pristine southside, Cottage shaped rooms are airconditioned, with hot and cold water/shower. If you visit, take a book for Rakesh who's an English Lit graduate and likes to read, His office has a spontaneous library from the books guests leave behind. I'd recommend the resort to all Varkala visitors and for return guests too! On the downside, which is not the resort's fault, alcohol supply is limited here because of prohibitive liquor tax in Kerala. You may check the rules and carry your own tipple.

Room Tip: Take the ones closer to the office for internet connection gets weaker as rooms are further backward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nabs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We planned for a trip to Varkala for our first anniversary. Bluewater beach resort was a choice made from the reviews of Tripadvisor.

Pros:

The restaurant and the service was very good. The views to the sea was good.

Cons

The hotel was average and overly priced. We stayed in a double deluxe A/c room with sea view Rs, 4700 with tax is heavy for this. All the room walls are wooden and our wooden walls were shared to next room. We could hear what our neighbours were speaking and so would have they. The window screens were filled with curtains of mesh and no screen. We could see the inside if we watched closely. So we covered the windows with beach towels.

There was no TV or telephone to call to the reception. The wifi was there and not working. The response from the reception before we arrived at the hotel was not exciting.

Room Tip: Choose a separate unit instead of a joint one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CK-Sathya-Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodaikanal, India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a beautiful place to say - the huts are fantastic with everything you need, Good staff, great Service , the food in the cafe lovely - recommend.

It is just a bit out of Varkala which is great - you feel like your sleeping in paradise (not by pubs and clubs) however only a short walk into Varkala so you get the best of both worlds.

The views and sunsets are stunning and right by the beach - what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sichot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#8 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.9 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Resort

Property: Blue Water Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road | Odayam, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#5 Family Hotel in Varkala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Water Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private seaside resort adjacent to Varkala Beach. Each independent wooden cottage is made in the traditional Kerala style and has unobstructed views of the Arabian Sea, with private verandah, comfortable furnishings and en-suite facilities. Our multi-cuisine restaurant, raised on coconut stilts, affords glorious views of the Kerala coastline. Private and spacious gardens provide a secluded environment for a relaxing holiday. Amenities include Ayurvedic treatment, yoga, internet access, travel desk and money exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Water Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Beach Hotel Varkala
Blue Water Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing