We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend your money elsewhere - false advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Water Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spend your money elsewhere - false advertising”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was meant to be the highlight of our trip over new year and we had booked this pale thinking it would be a cottage by the beach. We were certainly by the beach, but we were placed in a four bedroom apartment and NOT a cottage, as described on booking.com. On arrival we raised our complaint with the manager and he said there was no alternative as the booking was non refundable. We told him this was false advertising, as we booked the resort thinking we would be in a cottage - and his response was that this was the first complaint he had received in 8 years. He refused to listen to us and we had no choice but to stay. Refusing to do anything about it, we contacted booking.com and they informed us that the manager had not acknowledged a complaint - far from the truth. Responding to booking.com, they told us that the manager would offer a complimentary dinner - this could by no means resolve our complaint. The best thing about this resort is the waiter, who was really nice and accommodating.

I certainly won't be staying here again - the neighbouring resorts look a lot better. For the money we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yasemin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakesideRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
This is regarding the complaint by one of our precious guest Ms. Yasemin Isik. I would like to state that we have 4 coconut rooms in the coconut house which have more spacious rooms and a better view of the front lawn and the sea. Each and every room is attached with a spacious bathroom with all the amenities of an individual cottage. Most of my guests prefer staying in the 4 individual room coconut house because of its all wooden interiors and thatched roof which gives it the perfect indian style of ancient accommodation. Since my guest arrived on the 31st of Dec'13, we were full board and we did not have a choice to give them another accommodation. In future in all our advertisements we will be putting our 4 individual rooms coconut house as a separate entry. Sorry for the inconvenience caused.

GRM, Bluewater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    86
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
66
131
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
greatyarmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were asked to pay in advance, I was rather concerned about doing it, as it was over new year, but I had no reason to worry, I received a prompt email confirming the payment had been received.
On our arrival, a perfect reception, and shown to a great bungalow looking over the sea. We had the impression that we were on the top of a cliff, no it isn't, only a 3 meter walk down the path to the beach. During the day, the walk to the ' south cliffs' is fun, but in the dark, just get a tut tut for 100 rupees, a great fun place for an evening.
And I can genuinely say that the ' hospitality' we have received has been been perfect.
Ignore ant previous comments and stay, we will be back .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We enjoyed our 2-night stay. The resort is located approx. 20 min walk from the "Cliffs" in Varkala at a quiet and clean beach, where locals fish every morning. Our private cabin had a direct view of the ocean; the loud waves clearly audible from our balcony. Based on local standards the bathrooms were clean. Bed was comfortable nicely equipped with mosquito nets. The food was well-prepared and the personnel attended to all of our needs. A bit expensive by local standards but would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manhattansour999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week at the hôtel and we have to confirm it was one of the best service we had In our month In india! Location is perfect (10' foot distance from the cliff- away from the hustling) we felt like home thanks to the welcoming atmosphere & the great team.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Swissbourlingueurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Great location of these hut almost right on the water. We had a great time here, the manager was friendly and did everything to make us feel at wecome.The rooms are clean with a small teracce in front.
To get to the cliff and the restaurants can be an adventure, the walkway is very dark, no street lamps so make sure to carry a flash light.Its also scary to walk in the dark because there are many stray dogs, who are hungry and looking for food which is so sad to watch.
The breakfast at the hotel is served overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sollana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Truly an idyllic location! Friendly welcoming and attentive staff. Rustic bungalows with large clean bathroom facilities and quiet air conditioning.

Eat breakfast outside overlooking the Arabian Sea with a nice cup of Masala Tea while the fishermen haul in their nets. Take a dip in the warm waters and if you are lucky like us you will see Dolphin playing in the surf!

I would recommend Blue Water Beach resort to those wanting to seek solitude and relaxation in a stunning, pristine and peaceful environment. It is near enough to the hubbub of Varkala Cliff for those wanting some nightlife also.

We loved our stay here, and hope to one day come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethanwilson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The first thing to mention is that the general manager makes this hotel. For his helpfulness and attentiveness alone this hotel is worth a rating of 5.

We were travelling from Alappuzha when we were informed that due to the wildcat strike there would be no buses or Taxis. One phone call to the manager here, and he had arranged everything. Outstanding service.

The hotel itself - beach huts were beautiful, comfortable and clean. Food was excellent.
A couple of minor points - WiFi range was poor, and the path to the main varkala strip is unlit at one point; it can be treacherous at night. A torch is required and you might get a little wet! Though you can easily get tuk tuk easily to the hotel.

Location was perfect, bar at night time. Very close to the beach and the main a trip. Would happily stay at this hotel again. The atmosphere was unbelievably tranquil.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.0 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Resort

Property: Blue Water Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road | Odayam, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#5 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Water Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private seaside resort adjacent to Varkala Beach. Each independent wooden cottage is made in the traditional Kerala style and has unobstructed views of the Arabian Sea, with private verandah, comfortable furnishings and en-suite facilities. Our multi-cuisine restaurant, raised on coconut stilts, affords glorious views of the Kerala coastline. Private and spacious gardens provide a secluded environment for a relaxing holiday. Amenities include Ayurvedic treatment, yoga, internet access, travel desk and money exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Water Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Beach Hotel Varkala
Blue Water Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing