We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Water Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jickys Nest(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Magnolia Guesthouse(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$19
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$23
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$21
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
182
95
26
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
95
26
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswooden cottagesthe cliffserve beergrilled fisharabian seasituated rightsound of the wavesminute walkbeach resortfacing the seawe loved our staymemorable stayawesome placethe hustle and bustlebeautiful gardenshops and restaurantsindia
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights here last week. Location is superb right on a clean beach. Up on a slight rise with lots of places to sit and relax, in the shade, with views over the beach and along to the cliffs of Varkala about 1km away. Sit and watch the traditional net fishing off the beach while having breakfast. 20min easy walk into town along the water with a few restaurant/bars along the way. Food was good if a little more expensive than in town. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this is not for you. If you are travelling on a tight budget this is not for you. Its clean, basic but well put together (mossie nets over bed, aircon in some rooms), away from the hassle and haggle of town, and VERY relaxed. After numerous walks to town i'd say this is the pick of all the places along the beach to stay.

Room Tip: We were given 2 of the 4 rooms in the 4 room block. They were fine. An extra 10 meters to get in the ocean. Views of the ocean from the room. I don't think you can go wrong. There are some new cabins which may be better but I didn't get to look in, that would have required walking past the hammock...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This a nice place to stop when walking down the beach next to the Arabian Sea
relaxing atmosphere ideal for just a cup of coffee or a meal sitting in the lovely gardens of this resort which is at the heavenly odayam beach area.

Room Tip: Did not stay only stopped for coffee
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mlville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

" I was wandering for a place to relax and enjoy the beauty of a sunset from a wooden cottage very near to the beach ... when i came to Blue water - Varkala i stopped my wandering and stayed 4 days here .it was so unexpected and i enjoyed my full days there with full satisfaction of my mind . The rooms are clean and functional and the staffs and manager are always attentive "

"know where to find the sunrise and sunset times and note how the sky looks at those times at least once."

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haleel718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent three nights here in December 2013. We enjoyed our stay, but the price was not right, and travel arrangements made by the management turned out to be questionable. I would seek a different spot if I were to return.

First, the good stuff: the location is excellent, right on the beach front. You are a very short walk (thirty seconds down the hill, to be honest) from a clean, swimmable beach and the beautiful warm water of the Arabian Sea. You can watch traditional fishermen at work in the early mornings, right at that same beach. The resort is at the far end of the tourist beach, and it's actually a pretty long walk to the main tourist area - which keeps it quiet and secluded. The grounds are well kept. The staff are totally welcoming, friendly, and competent. The food at the restaurant was delicious - fantastic curries, a nice simple breakfast; we had our favorite fish meal there. The room was comfortable.

The not-so-good. Perhaps the rooms were done up nicely a few years (or more) ago, but at this point some amount of decay and wear and tear is setting in. A light fixture in our room was loose and fell (though didn't break); the framing around the bathroom door was rotting/shedding. There were strange leaking/clicking/pattering noises in the wall one night. Again, the room was comfortable, we slept well enough, but it was not a great spot, particularly considering the price.

The questionable. The construction noise was quite grating, and one night it continued almost to 8pm (right through our dinner). More importantly, we asked the manager to arrange a trip to the Alleppy Backwaters for us. He set up a taxi to Alleppy, an overnight houseboat trip in the backwaters, and a taxi from Alleppy to Munnar. We prepaid for everything. In hindsight (compared to other long-haul taxis we hired), I think he grossly overcharged us for the taxi rides, and he set us up with a third-rate houseboat (the crew were great; the bathroom had roaches). I emailed the management to request their response to my assessment, and I received none.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent Christmas here and had a fantastic time. Sri Kumar, the manager went out of his way to ensure we had a great time and we really enjoyed our stay.

On checking in we were given one of the rear bungalows but he quickly moved to us to a front one when it became free that afternoon. The bungalows were clean, as were the bathrooms and the staff could not have been more helpful. The children made themselves at home and were made extremely welcome - in fact they got totally spoilt and now think they can order banana pancakes with chocolate sauce every morning! Thanks Norwin!

The resort is set in beautiful gardens which offer lots of shade and is situated right on the beach (no cliff here). Afternoons in the hammock with a drink were perfect! The staff put on a fantastic Christmas dinner for us with a massive fish and all the trimmings and everyone in the resort sat around a large table enjoying the festivities.

Having not been to Varkala for 20 years we were very pleased not to be staying on the Cliff - full of tourist tat and same same restaurants - although if Bluewater got a coffee machine that would be magic!

We would definitely return here - ignore the winging reviews - our children stayed in one of the rooms mentioned (there are 4 in a traditional building) and it was much larger than the huts - and closer to the hot water! There was nowhere that I saw that came close to this place.

I can still hear the sound of the waves and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: The front rooms have the best view - one is a/c - one not.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PominOz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews