We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene, Beautiful Gardens, Spotless & Amazing View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 96 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Serene, Beautiful Gardens, Spotless & Amazing View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here in September and Varkala & the Seashore Resort were one of the highlights of our trip. Having come from Delhi, the Seashore Resort was the perfect retreat - it was spotlessly clean, the only sounds you could hear were the waves of the Arabian Sea and the view from our room was beautiful - the sunset from our balcony was amazing. Breakfast was brought to our room every morning (the freshly squeezed pineapple juice was a highlight) and Shine and the staff couldn't do enough for you (including giving me a lift to the train station on the back of his scooter). Perfect location as its away from the main cliff but close enough to walk or a short tuk tuk ride to all the bars/restaurants. You can access a beach from a path leading down the cliff and this was probably the nicest beach I saw in Varkala, however, be careful as the waves are lethal. I would definitely recommend Varkala and definitely recommend the Seahore Resort, we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: 1st floor cottage with balcony if you want the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    41
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
31
114
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is my second time staying at Seashore resort and it just gets better and better. Everything at the resort is run smoothly and the whole place exudes peace and tranquility. The breakfast is just perfect and the rooms are cleaned daily with fresh sheets and towels. Nobody could stay here and not come away feeling like they found a piece of heaven. I will be going back again and again and again...It is without doubt one of the best places I have found to stay in India.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saramc_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Helder, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed in january- february for almost two weeks in sea shore. It was a wonderfull stay! The staff is very kind. I was hid by a riksja en needed to stay in a hospital for a night. Shine (owner) came and visit me and brought me fresh pillows, food and stuff. So nice and kind! Sea Shore itself is on a great location, only 10 minutes walk from the more busy part North clif. The garden is very comfortable with lots of hammocks between palm trees, got sea view and you can reach the beach by walking down the stairs from the garden.
Breakfast is very nice and healty. Rooms are spotless clean and comfortable. The more expensive ones are a must to stay in. I would defenitly come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wietske W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a very pleasant, attractively priced place to stay in Varkala. Our cottage was very clean, spacious, and had a nice view of the ocean (the cottages and rooms are set back from the cliff, so you don't get a view of the waves. The best views are probably from the top floor of the cottages (which I presume are the AC ones?). Our non-AC room had two ceiling fans, which more than sufficed to ward away the February humidity.

The location is nice in that you have a small beach more or less to yourself. It is much less crowded than the main beach, but there are no life guards here -- and Varkala's beaches can have strong and potentially fatal rip currents. (Also Google pollution and Varkala beaches -- reports we found dissuaded us from actually going in the water.)

The location was somewhat a drag for food though, as most of the decent restaurants are all about a 15-20 minute walk away.) The breakfast at the Seashore Resort also seemed a bit perfunctory.

All in all, we highly recommend this place. However, we did have one negative experience. About $100 were stolen from hotel room. The owner, who was greatly distressed by this, kindly offered to reimburse us.

Room Tip: Our non-AC cottage was spacious. The top floor of the northern most cottage seems like it would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dieWelt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Lots of accommodation choice in Varkala, especially towards the north end, which we deliberately avoided. If you want a more peaceful part of Varkala, quieter beach area, but within 5-10mins walk of more action then this is the place. The private steps at the end of the garden lead straight down to the quiet public beach which is excellent. We had a non a/c room (great fan that does its job perfectly) whilst clean, tidy yet basic, offered good value. For a good price you will feel very comfortable staying at SeaShore Beach.
Shine, the host, is very courteous.

Room Tip: There's a large lockable cupboard in each room, Use it. Minor mishap whilst we stayed at SeaShor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobJung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

A taste of paradise !! No word can describe this place! Thank you Mr shine.... I would recommend this place to any one. It's a perfect place for honney moon or just to relax! The private beach was very hot and clean. And the most important thing in India there were no dogs on the beach.... just perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We spent 7 nights here and would highly recommend it. We were initially worried about the lack of a/c but were pleasantly surprised to find that we didn't need it at all. Shine and the rest of the team were so helpful and welcoming. We booked a room for the first night as we arrived a day earlier than intended and had a cottage for the other 6 nights. The cottage is well worth the upgrade -so spacious and airy. The grounds were beautifully manicured and staff seemed to always be working hard or busying themselves. The beds and pillows in the cottage were so comfy too. I couldn't recommend this place enough. Direct access to the beach below and the fact that it was a small resort with maybe 8 rooms/cottages altogether as well as the lovely breakfast every morning topped it off.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redhenDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#7 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort

Property: Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
Address: South Cliff | West Janardhana Swamy Temple, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a very beautiful piece of paradise. It's a guest house (I couldn't call it something so cold as a resort) that delivers excellent service with a low key spirit of wanting to make your experience as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the higher-end suites are exceptionally lovely and all for prices that make this the very best value I have almost ever experienced in all my travels. 'taken from guest review'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashore Hotel Varkala
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing