We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaiya House(Varkala)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
184
43
6
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
43
6
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr shinenorth cliffhotel gardenthe cottageslocation shownminute walksteps leading downstandard roomlazy dayspeace and quietaway from the hustle and bustlefellow guestssea viewshops and restaurantsa lovely place to stayby chanceclean rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed four nights at SeaShore and were very pleased with our time there. The host, Shine, is very accommodating and helpful - he helped us arrange a car and driver for a day trip to Ponmudi and also our forward transport. The location at the South Cliff is perfect for those who want a respite from the busy northern part of Varkala. Breakfast was great, our room was clean and cool, and we loved lazing around in the hammocks overlooking the ocean. Perfect experience!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

It is hard to write this review without it sounding like advertising copy - which it isn't - but the Sea Shore really is a slice of paradise!

There can be few lovelier cliff-top settings than here. The Sea Shore is on Varkala's peaceful South Cliff (only a 10-minute walk, but a world away from the traveller-concentrated North Cliff/Beach), with stunning views and the soothing sounds of gently swishing waves and the breeze through the palm trees. Everything is very relaxing and leisurely. The garden is well manicured with springy, lush green turf and is dotted with palm trees, bushes, hammocks, sunloungers and chairs. As there are only about 10 rooms it is not crowded.

The (safely fenced) cliff edge is at the end of the garden and from there, a 130-step private path winds down to a beautiful secluded beach, perfect for an early morning dip. The waves are big and fun, but you need to be careful not to go too far out, as there is a strong undertow and there are no lifeguards.

We stayed on the upper floor of one of the garden cottages and it was well worth every extra rupee. Our large room was spacious, clean and cool, with a covered balcony with 2 comfortable chairs and a table facing the sea and sunsets. It also gave us a sheltered ringside view of a magnificent sudden tropical thunderstorm one evening.

There was free Internet. Breakfasts were lovely with freshly squeezed juices. There are some good places to eat over on the North Cliff but we liked the Lotus Cafe, which is on the South Cliff like the Sea Shore but a 5-minute walk further south (not easy to find, so best to ask for directions). The food was nice and there were romantic candlelit tables on the cliff top.

I cannot praise Shine, the owner of the Sea Shore, highly enough. He is a born host and has worked very hard to make it such a special place. He and his staff are extremely welcoming, caring and efficient and instinctively know what pleases guests. When we were there, all our fellow guests were European and some were returners. We hope to return there too one day!

Room Tip: The garden cottages are more luxurious and are set nearer the sea (particularly the one on the left as you face the sea) - well worth paying the extra. Go for an upper floor room for a better view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dicknharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We loved our stay at the fantastic SeaShore Resort. Shine was a great host, the breakfast was nice, the rooms were very clean & modern while the quiet location on the top of the cliff was perfect, not to mention the private beach. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulJavascripting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

As this cozy nine room resort lies right on the south cliff, it's far more peaceful and quiet than the north cliff which is a centre of the action in Varkala. It takes just 10 to 15 minutes to stroll pleasantly by the beach to the main part of the north cliff beach though.
The stretch of sand to be reached directly from the resort downstairs feels like your own, as most of time there's literally no one to share the beach with you.

A short 5 minutes walk will take you to the great beachside restaurant Marine Palace that serves awesome fresh fish, huge prawns and squids all washed in chilled Kingfisher.

As during our stay, we were the only guests having the whole place all for ourselves, a feeling of bliss and peacefulness was too nice to be real :)

Cottage we stayed was nothing to complaint about too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nowe_rozdanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I would recommend this place mostly because of the wonderful location with the private stair down to a secluded part of the beach, and I would stay here again for this reason! Also relaxing hammocks in the big garden and outside each room, perfect for reading. There is a supplied beach umbrella outside the room that we appreciated a lot.
I liked the bed, my spouse found it too hard. The bathroom was built pretty stupid. It is a long corridor with the sink first, then the shower and last the toilet. The shower does not have anything that seals off the water so the bathroom becomes very wet. Does not matter much, but can be a bit slippery.
we stayed in an AC-room, but almost never used the AC since the fan was very efficient.
You can hear your neighbour guest, which might be annoying depending on how much noise they make. Or how private you want to be.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Freshestest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews