We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$135
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$24
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kshetra Beach Resorts(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$15
US$14
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$22
US$20
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$19
US$18
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
InDa Hotel(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clafouti Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
184
43
6
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
43
6
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr shinenorth cliffhotel gardenthe cottageslocation shownminute walksteps leading downstandard roomlazy dayspeace and quietaway from the hustle and bustlefellow guestssea viewshops and restaurantsa lovely place to stayby chanceclean rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed at the Sea Shore Beach Resort in early March 2013 and had a wonderfully relaxed and peaceful time. The hotel is situated in the much quieter South Cliff area of Varkala, in a fantastic position directly overlooking the beach and the Arabian Sea. There’s easy access from the hotel to the beach below, which rarely had more than half a dozen people on it, but we spent much of our time relaxing in the lovely gardens of Sea Shore, enjoying the sunshine or swinging in the shade in one of the hammocks. Our room was one of the more basic ones, with fan rather than aircon, and while the room itself was fairly small, there was a lovely sitting area with chairs and table and even a hammock and swing seat for our own use, so we had lots of space to enjoy the peace and quiet of the surroundings. There are other options if you want a larger room and aircon, but we found the basic room just fine, with comfy beds and good hot water. The room was kept beautifully clean throughout our stay, with fresh bedding and towels each day, and staff were always on hand if we wanted pots of tea or water throughout the day. A delicious breakfast was served each morning on the first floor overlooking the sea, and although there is no restaurant at the hotel itself it’s only a pleasant 10-15 minute stroll from all the buzz and excitement of the North Cliff for lunch and dinner. The best thing of all about Sea Shore, however, are the lovely staff who created a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, with special mention to the owner, Shine, who had great recommendations for places to eat and things to do during our stay. We felt wonderfully well looked after throughout our stay, and this really was one of our favourite places on the whole 3 week trip through Kerala and Tamil Nadu.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerryBTW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Even if it is only Nr 7 on tripadvisor, we think it is the best place you can find in Varkala (if you like peace and quiet) - we stayed in an AC room at the beginning of our trip and then in room 107, the cottage downstairs room, on the way back when we spent 6 days in Varkala before the flight home.
It is not the cheapest place, although 3000 rupies for an AC room incl. breakfast are not too much if you take into consideration what you get: absolute peace and quiet (and only 15 min. walk to the busy North Cliff), a wonderful garden overlooking the Arabian Sea, NO noise at night apart from the rustling of the palm trees and the sound of the waves - this kind of peace and quiet is a very rare thing in India!
If you can afford it (which we did after our 3-week journey through the south of India):, the cottages are even nicer: 5000 rupies for the downstairs cottage with a lot of amenities: tea-kettle, hairdryer, fridge, AC to cool down the room at night and two very quiet fans which are very intelligently positioned and can therefore be left on at night, clean bedlinen and towels every day (just an idea, Shine: maybe that is not even necessary considering water-problems - towel on the floor= new towel might be a good idea for ecologically aware people).The rooms are cleaned every day and you get cold bottled water and if you ask for it, even the best masala tea we had on our journey - for free!!
We also liked the unobtrusive but always present readiness of Shine and his staff to help in every possible way e.g. keeping bags we didn't need on our journey, organising a taxi to the airport with a driver who drove carefully.
This place certainly is number 1 in Varkala, but I guess the age-group which goes there, does not necessarily evaluate the places they stay at on trip advisor! Which is good somehow for spontaneous decisions as otherwise it would be booked out in advance for months.
We wish you, Shine and your team, all the best and hope very much that adding a little restaurant like you plan will not spoil the peace and quiet of your wonderful place. Thank you so much.
P.S. I don't know how to take back the 1 point for 'fitnessstudio' - it is not something anyone needs there!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I returned to SeaShore resort in February for the second time following a 1 week stay here 3 years ago. The first stay was perfect in every way and I can honestly say that about my recent visit. SeaShore is a simply beautiful small hotel in a wonderful quiet location - perfectly located for access to all that Varkala offers, while also offering a calm oasis for quieter moments. Shine and his staff make sure that everything you need is provided, and go out of their way to provide any extras like taxis to the airport, tuk tuks, as well as help with organizing other trips and activities. They are unfailingly pleasant and responsive, the hotel is spotlessly clean, and the rooms are lovely. SeaShore remains one of my favourite destinations anywhere, and I can't wait to return there!

Room Tip: bungalows rooms are wonderful
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmyGillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We liked this hotel very much. Despite the high price, it is worth the money. Spacious area, very quiet and peaceful, uncrowded. We wanted to spend there three days, but in fact we have spent a week, replaced by three of the rooms, because they were booked by someone in advance.

Breakfast is included, and it is quite good.

There is wi-fi.

There is hot water, but in small rooms, its temperature depends on the pressure of the water, and the water pressure is very small.

Sometimes there are a few people on the beach.

The hotel has no restaurant, we had to go to the city, but it is even a good idea, because no visited by a lot of people.

The rooms are very clean, we went barefoot in the entire hotel, including the beach. Cleaned once in three days.

There are A/c and ceiling fans.

Room Tip: Rooms in the cottages are better than small rooms near reception.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank small_sweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at this establishment for two days. Intimate hotel with only nine rooms , away from the more busy North cliff, but near enough to pop into when wanted . Well looked after garden over looking the sea , which at times could have large waves to navigate before you reached the calmer area . There is some steps to the beach , but 126 of them plus had to navigate boulders after the steps , then of course do the same going back .If you are getting on this could be a problem .
Rooms a good size with plenty of storage space .Shower room large, but in need of a re-grout. Air conditioned, plus tea/coffee facility.Balcony with sea view, with table and chairs, plus clothes stand to dry clothes .
Breakfast was a bit limited but adequate. No more meals or snacks available. during the day .
Staff were very helpful , and would phone for a tuk tuk if required, plus help with any other questions .
If you want a quiet resort away from the crowds, this is for you .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seafarers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews