We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute peace and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 99 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

After a hot and sweaty journey to Varkala, arriving at the Sea Shore Resort felt like absolute paradise. It's peaceful and quiet, with a large garden that runs right to the cliff edge, with hammocks to read or snooze in.

The best thing though is the steps that run down the cliff to the beach. At high tide this part of the beach is cut off from the main beach, so we had the sand and the sea to ourselves most of the time.

I would also highly recomend south beach, which is quieter and has a couple of great restaurants to eat in and watch the sun set at the end of the day.

After three amazingly relaxing days we were very sorry to leave this peaceful haven.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SIan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

During our tour visiting Kerala, it was a wonderful three days rest. We had to leave to go on in our trip but we only could do thinking next time we comme back! Basic rooms are not top luxury but enough for a very good stay and very clean. The setting of the hotel is at a small distance of the north cliff much more crowded than this so peacefull place. Direct access to the beach, very pleasant garden and a staff always ready to make your cocooning more delightful. Big and fresh cooked breakfast in the morning, and good chaï all day long. The best place we found of our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

One of the most beautiful places we have stayed in on our trip around South India. Shine who owns and runs the place could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much for him. The situation is amazing. We came there for two nights and stayed for a week. Lovely breakfasts eaten gazing out to sea. Wi-fi and a computer at guest disposal. Shine you are a star. Ian and Sue.

Room Tip: They're all good. Our travel philosophy is the room is for sleeping. India lies outside your d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanandSue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Two nights here were not enough! The room was fabulous with all the amenities one could want and spotlessly clean. The setting of the hotel too is perfect, so quiet with wonderful views of the sea. Breakfast was delicious and made to order. Although we had to go out for other meals, there is so much choice close by in Varkala that this was no hardship.
Thank you, Shine and your staff, we hope to be back!

Room Tip: The cottages in the grounds are very spacious and well appointed. One of the best rooms we had durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barriekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed at the Sea Shore Beach Resort in early March 2013 and had a wonderfully relaxed and peaceful time. The hotel is situated in the much quieter South Cliff area of Varkala, in a fantastic position directly overlooking the beach and the Arabian Sea. There’s easy access from the hotel to the beach below, which rarely had more than half a dozen people on it, but we spent much of our time relaxing in the lovely gardens of Sea Shore, enjoying the sunshine or swinging in the shade in one of the hammocks. Our room was one of the more basic ones, with fan rather than aircon, and while the room itself was fairly small, there was a lovely sitting area with chairs and table and even a hammock and swing seat for our own use, so we had lots of space to enjoy the peace and quiet of the surroundings. There are other options if you want a larger room and aircon, but we found the basic room just fine, with comfy beds and good hot water. The room was kept beautifully clean throughout our stay, with fresh bedding and towels each day, and staff were always on hand if we wanted pots of tea or water throughout the day. A delicious breakfast was served each morning on the first floor overlooking the sea, and although there is no restaurant at the hotel itself it’s only a pleasant 10-15 minute stroll from all the buzz and excitement of the North Cliff for lunch and dinner. The best thing of all about Sea Shore, however, are the lovely staff who created a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, with special mention to the owner, Shine, who had great recommendations for places to eat and things to do during our stay. We felt wonderfully well looked after throughout our stay, and this really was one of our favourite places on the whole 3 week trip through Kerala and Tamil Nadu.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerryBTW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Even if it is only Nr 7 on tripadvisor, we think it is the best place you can find in Varkala (if you like peace and quiet) - we stayed in an AC room at the beginning of our trip and then in room 107, the cottage downstairs room, on the way back when we spent 6 days in Varkala before the flight home.
It is not the cheapest place, although 3000 rupies for an AC room incl. breakfast are not too much if you take into consideration what you get: absolute peace and quiet (and only 15 min. walk to the busy North Cliff), a wonderful garden overlooking the Arabian Sea, NO noise at night apart from the rustling of the palm trees and the sound of the waves - this kind of peace and quiet is a very rare thing in India!
If you can afford it (which we did after our 3-week journey through the south of India):, the cottages are even nicer: 5000 rupies for the downstairs cottage with a lot of amenities: tea-kettle, hairdryer, fridge, AC to cool down the room at night and two very quiet fans which are very intelligently positioned and can therefore be left on at night, clean bedlinen and towels every day (just an idea, Shine: maybe that is not even necessary considering water-problems - towel on the floor= new towel might be a good idea for ecologically aware people).The rooms are cleaned every day and you get cold bottled water and if you ask for it, even the best masala tea we had on our journey - for free!!
We also liked the unobtrusive but always present readiness of Shine and his staff to help in every possible way e.g. keeping bags we didn't need on our journey, organising a taxi to the airport with a driver who drove carefully.
This place certainly is number 1 in Varkala, but I guess the age-group which goes there, does not necessarily evaluate the places they stay at on trip advisor! Which is good somehow for spontaneous decisions as otherwise it would be booked out in advance for months.
We wish you, Shine and your team, all the best and hope very much that adding a little restaurant like you plan will not spoil the peace and quiet of your wonderful place. Thank you so much.
P.S. I don't know how to take back the 1 point for 'fitnessstudio' - it is not something anyone needs there!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I returned to SeaShore resort in February for the second time following a 1 week stay here 3 years ago. The first stay was perfect in every way and I can honestly say that about my recent visit. SeaShore is a simply beautiful small hotel in a wonderful quiet location - perfectly located for access to all that Varkala offers, while also offering a calm oasis for quieter moments. Shine and his staff make sure that everything you need is provided, and go out of their way to provide any extras like taxis to the airport, tuk tuks, as well as help with organizing other trips and activities. They are unfailingly pleasant and responsive, the hotel is spotlessly clean, and the rooms are lovely. SeaShore remains one of my favourite destinations anywhere, and I can't wait to return there!

Room Tip: bungalows rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmyGillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.7 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort

Address: South Cliff | West Janardhana Swamy Temple, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: £25 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a very beautiful piece of paradise. It's a guest house (I couldn't call it something so cold as a resort) that delivers excellent service with a low key spirit of wanting to make your experience as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the higher-end suites are exceptionally lovely and all for prices that make this the very best value I have almost ever experienced in all my travels. 'taken from guest review'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashore Hotel Varkala
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing