We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 98 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
2 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, having booked 3 cottage rooms. Our experience was in line with the high expectations that were set from the reviews we read on trip advisor. The rooms were clean and seemed brand new, service was impeccable, and the location of the resort was fabulous - overlooking the sea and with good sea breeze all the time. Since the resort is perched on top of a cliff, the descent to the beach below was rather steep - though not a big problem. Breakfast was simple though decent and we would appreciated the service of lunch or dinner in the same resort. I would recommend this resort and would like to come back once more on my next vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MukeshBhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    41
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
31
114
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Basic bedrooms with all you need; gentle service; a lovely garden where you get a wonderful breakfast; close to several restaurants. A lovely beach, with the only con that you have to descend (and then climb) 110 steps (nothing wrong for health and diet (:-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noralib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a great place in a stunning location at the top of South Cliff with views out over the sea and away from the hustle and bustle of North Cliff but within easy reach. The rooms are spotless and well appointed, particularly the bungalow rooms. Shine and his team are helpful and always have a smile. They work hard and the create a welcoming and laid back atmosphere. Shine took me up onto the roof to show me the solar thermal panel providing ample hot water. The beach at the bottom of the steep steps is lovely and nothing like as busy as further north and it is possible to walk south for miles along the beach. The current is strong though and the waves powerful so care is required. This is the sort of place you could stay for weeks and I wish we could have! Very relaxing retreat but with all that Varkala has to offer within walking distance. The garden is big and there is potential for more shrubs and colour around and between the palms. It would also have been nice to have had the option of being served a beer and nuts while sitting enjoying the stunning sunsets.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Beautiful hotel with a stunning view of the ocean. Quiet harmony but also close to shops and restaurants. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. A tasty breakfast. Clean room. Lovely garden. Great value for money. We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anni2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Best location in Varkala, on the Southampton Cliff.
With a nice garden and 110 steps down to the beach, this is perfekt, more relaxed than the more pushy North Cliff. With clean rooms, and a verk helpful staff this can be recommended for your stay i Varkala.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have just returned from 6 nights at the SeaShore beach resort - we spent Christmas day relaxing on the sun loungers and hammocks under the palm trees, listening to the Arabian sea crash against the shore below. A Christmas that we will always remember and treasure.

SeaShore is a wonderful place for two reasons: the staff and the location. Set on the south cliff, SeaShore has a wonderful palm-tree rich garden which has uninterrupted views over the sea. Unlike on the north cliff, there is no road or public path between the garden and the sea, so you are just sharing this tranquility with the other guests (there is a total of 9 rooms/cottages). There is a set of stairs that go from the garden down to the beach, and Shine has umbrellas that you can borrow should you prefer to lie on the beach. You can also borrow yoga mats.

Shine and his team are among the most kindest, gentlest souls we met in India. They put in every effort to make sure our stay was special - from picking us up at the train station, walking us to our first restaurant (when we arrived late and disorientated) and helping us to find a church so that we could experience a Christmas service, Indian style (there is a lot of Christianity in Kerala).

The breakfast is lovely - served outdoors with full sea views - with a choice of porridge, banana lassi, eggs, masala omelettes, fruit salads, fresh juices. Coffee and tea are available all throughout the day.

The rooms are small and simple - wooden beds, simple white bedding - but you'll probably prefer to be on a hammock in the garden anyway. The cottages are larger (there are 4) and if we went again, we'd probably opt for a cottage.

Seashore is not a hippy hangout or a luxury hotel. It's a welcoming home-stay where you feel totally welcome, safe and at home. I would recommend it with ease to families, couples (of all ages), and anyone who is looking for some chill-time while in India.

Room Tip: The cottages are bigger than the rooms. If we went again, we'd choose one of the cottages. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Seashore is in a great location looking out at the sea on the cliff top at the quieter end of Varkala. It is very simple but has all you need to be comfortable. Rooms are very clean and I love the hammocks you can flop in whenever you need. Staff friendly too. We like quiet places in good locations and Seashore offers that. I have been there twice now and relaxed very quickly both times. highly recommend it!

Room Tip: we had a top room, a bit more expensive but great views and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#12 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort

Property: Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
Address: South Cliff | West Janardhana Swamy Temple, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a very beautiful piece of paradise. It's a guest house (I couldn't call it something so cold as a resort) that delivers excellent service with a low key spirit of wanting to make your experience as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the higher-end suites are exceptionally lovely and all for prices that make this the very best value I have almost ever experienced in all my travels. 'taken from guest review'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashore Hotel Varkala
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing