We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place (soul and surf for the budget conscious)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 97 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place (soul and surf for the budget conscious)”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Located on the south cliff only a 5-10 minute walk from the main beach and a few (steep) steps down to a smaller quieter beach. The hotel is located next to soul and surf a popular resort which offers daily yoga classes, surfing lessons and massage (however guests at soul and surf get priority with bookings so you may be unable to get on the surf classes in particular). We loved staying on the south cliff as we were away from the hassle of all the touts on north cliff. Also within walking distance of Marina bay restaurant which serves delicious seafood, Indian food and western dishes. The hotel staff were friendly, breakfast tasty and the rooms clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    41
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
31
114
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a very mixed review as some parts of Sea Shore were very good and others were poor. For this reason I sadly don't feel I can fairly give more than an average review.

The positives first: the setting is gorgeous, the grounds are beautifully kept with a lovely view to the sea. Hammocks and swings outside are a really nice touch. The hotel has steps down to a stretch of very private beach which is much nicer and less busy than further along. Being on south cliff is peaceful compared to north cliff, but only a 15 minute walk away. The breakfast at the hotel was simple but very well done and we enjoyed eating overlooking the sea. All of the staff are very kind, friendly and helpful - they gave extras such as beach towels, beach umbrellas and mosquito plug ins which were much appreciated.

Unfortunately, we felt the room was poor. Please note that the following is only in reference to the standard room that we had - I believe the pricier cottage rooms are much nicer.

The room is described as having a sea view, however the window has frosted and patterned glass, plus a metal grill, plus a thick mosquito net pinned to the frame, so even if you opened the windows you would see nothing. This made the room very dark.
The rugs and bath mat were both stained.
The green bedside lamp shade had brown and black burn marks all around the top.
While the pillowcases and fitted sheet were clean, the flat sheets to cover yourself with were all stained - they were obviously freshly washed and ironed, but they had yellow/orange marks on them which was really off putting. We asked for two fresh ones but these were also stained. When the room was cleaned on our third day, we had new sheets and again these had stains on too.
The bathroom was not nice - a dark blue suite, the shower in the middle of the room with no tray or screen, which meant water went everywhere and caused the room to smell damp - we didn't expect western standards but did not enjoy being in there! Having said that, it was clean.

We did not choose this resort expecting luxury, however we do feel the standard rooms need improving.

Overall this is a lovely place to stay if you are looking for a beautiful setting with helpful staff and a great beach, but be aware that the standard rooms are quite hostel in style.

Room Tip: Go for a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitkatkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

North Shore on Varkala Beach is noisey, crowded and the beach area is not so nice if you want privacy. Here on South Cliff and Seashore Beach Resort we found serenity and ultimate beauty. The staff is excellent the rooms and suites are beautiful, relaxing and very welcoming. While in India, everyone needs a rest and this place is exquisite...don't miss it. Shine, the owner, is just what you want in perfection and attention to detail. He will have someone waiting for you at the train station! Beach gorgeous and water is clean!

Room Tip: South Shore...all rooms are equal, suite cost more but you have more room, the other rooms are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Varkala is fast growing and North Cliff is bustling with activity. And so one can head to South Cliff for more calm and quite. And would definitely recommend Seashore as the best icing on the cake. We blocked a cottage online and the wonderful Mr.Shine replied. Arriving in March end, it was almost off season, and there was less occupancy and made the experience even better. Seashores staff is its greatest asset. Senior Saj, Younger Vishal and Arun with cook Rekha are the wonderful people who take efforts to run the place with utmost sincerity even if there is just one couple on the whole resort (us).
The great advantage is the view. Its bang on the South Cliff and you can peep into the bay where there is the south end of Papanasam beach where waves are crashing. You hear the waves 24/7.
Breakfast is simple and filling and fresh. Rooms are extremely clean and is top notch. AC and lighting are like home and furnishing in tastefully done. It has access to beach via a cliff stairs on rocks. Lots of privacy on beach and you can walk few hundred meters towards the main beach. So its a package with great stay, privacy and quite, walkways and best lawns and giid breakfast, (They dont have a full time kitchen for rest of your day). Mr.Shine and Seashore have been in Varkala for years and hence the best in service. (Take Auto or long walk via beach and again climb if you need to go to North Cliff and Market area. Night time, beach avoidable)

Room Tip: Rooms are smaller and set back. Cottages are wonderful spacious with sea view balcony. Opt for upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArjunKarthikeyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at the Sea Shore for 10 days over Christmas 2013 with our 8 year old son. Let me tell you: the place is an absolute gem!
From the pickup at the airport on we felt exceptionally welcome, well treated and highly valued as guests . Shine, the owner, is helpful in every respect. He is open and friendly and very loving about taking care of every detail about the place. This pleasant attitude reflects upon the staff who were all, without exception, incredibly nice and attentive.
The Sea Shore is located on top of the cliff, away from the crowds, and it is very serene and quiet with it's lush, very well maintained garden. Breakfast is served on the pattio and is tasty. The kitchen is spottless! Fruitsalads here were such a treat!! The rooms are very clean, tastefully decorated and spacious. A wonderful stay!
Shine was able to assist with every and any question, from restaurant tips to elephant rides... but the most incredible thing happened as we were checking out to go to the next hotel: Shine and his team organized the trip there, even came along to find the rather remote place for us! They checked in with us there to make sure everything was fine, and when it was time for the airport trip back Shine organized this as well including all the finepoints! Always with a smile, always very attantive, always incredibly helpful and humorus.
We really must say we can not reccomend this place enough! We absolutely LOVED our stay there and would advise anyone looking for a really wonderful, clean, very serene and very pleasant stay in a place with a goooood energy to absolutly book here :)
Thank you Shine, Shibili and your entire Team!

Room Tip: The view from the upper floor rooms is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VomTripZumGlueck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, having booked 3 cottage rooms. Our experience was in line with the high expectations that were set from the reviews we read on trip advisor. The rooms were clean and seemed brand new, service was impeccable, and the location of the resort was fabulous - overlooking the sea and with good sea breeze all the time. Since the resort is perched on top of a cliff, the descent to the beach below was rather steep - though not a big problem. Breakfast was simple though decent and we would appreciated the service of lunch or dinner in the same resort. I would recommend this resort and would like to come back once more on my next vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MukeshBhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Basic bedrooms with all you need; gentle service; a lovely garden where you get a wonderful breakfast; close to several restaurants. A lovely beach, with the only con that you have to descend (and then climb) 110 steps (nothing wrong for health and diet (:-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noralib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.7 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 52 in Varkala
249 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maadathil Cottages
Maadathil Cottages
#1 of 97 in Varkala
397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort

Property: Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
Address: South Cliff | West Janardhana Swamy Temple, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a very beautiful piece of paradise. It's a guest house (I couldn't call it something so cold as a resort) that delivers excellent service with a low key spirit of wanting to make your experience as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the higher-end suites are exceptionally lovely and all for prices that make this the very best value I have almost ever experienced in all my travels. 'taken from guest review'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashore Hotel Varkala
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing