We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$28
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$25
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$22
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
184
43
6
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
43
6
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr shinenorth cliffhotel gardenthe cottageslocation shownminute walksteps leading downstandard roomlazy dayspeace and quietaway from the hustle and bustlefellow guestssea viewshops and restaurantsa lovely place to stayby chanceclean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We spent 2 weeks at the Varkala Beach Resort. It is the best setting on the quieter south cliff. There are stunning views from the garden and after going to the beach it is nice to come and relax in one of the hammocks in the well kept gardens. We spent a little more and opted for one of the cottages with a very large room and bathroom but looking at the standard rooms they are more than adequate. Shine and his team were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast each morning was delicious and you could enjoy the views.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyoung123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Wonderful, peaceful, laid back place located on the south cliff with direct access to a quiet beach, while still within easy access of the North cliff (10-15 minutes walk). Rooms cute and clean with veranda and hammock overlooking the well kept gardens and the sea (great sunset spot at the bottom of the garden on the edge of the cliff). Shine & co were very friendly: No hassle. Beach towels and parasols supplied, efficient laundry service, great breakfast overlooking the sea… Our favourite place in Kerala!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

A bit pricey by Indian standards but worth it. Great setting, spotlessly clean rooms, and a helpful staff.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank aniruddhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Great location. Fantastic view of the cliff and sea.
Rooms large, clean, comfortable.
Situated on south cliff which is really quiet. The beach is like a private beach with no touts, sellers or hassle.
We swam despite hearing that the sea is dangerous, lots of other people in the water but for safety didnt go out too far.
North cliff is about 10mins walk away. Very touristy, loads of restaurant, hotels and shops. Only after visiting there did we realise what a gem we had found in this hotel!
Only negatives would be the limited breakfast choices (we stayed 5 nights so were a bit omletted out by the end); lack of food availability after breakfast (so you have to walk around the bay, really not far, we are nit-picking here!); though the location, views and rooms were great it is very expensive compared to elsewhere that we stayed in India. No TV/phone in the room which we would expect for that price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I was looking for a safe and gentle introduction to the culture of India as a first-time solo traveler there. While the lights and activity of North Cliff may be attractive to others, I was more interested in gazing at the stars from a hammock. Shine, the owner of the Sea Shore Beach Resort, has created a haven on the South Cliff of Varkala. From the carved wooden bed frames to the well-manicured grounds, the Sea Shore is simply elegant. Every day I felt grateful to awaken to the sound of the Arabian Sea and to have direct access to a quiet beach via steps carved into the cliff. I had a front row seat for fourteen gorgeous sunsets. Shine and his staff are available 24/7 to tend to the needs of their guests, whether for an afternoon cup of tea or suggestions for outings. They encouraged me to venture out to explore the natural and cultural beauty of Kerala. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean, and the rooms are serviced daily. In the reception area, there is a computer with internet access and a bookshelf with novels and travel guides. Shine will arrange properly priced transportation to and from the airport. Breakfast and beach towels are included. Also, water, tea, and coffee throughout the day. Restaurants overlooking the main beach of Varkala are within walking distance, and the food is delicious. Nightlife is a twenty minute walk or short rickshaw ride away, but if you're looking for a drunken holiday revel, find accommodation elsewhere. Please remember to add to the tip box before you leave.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dywego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews