We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Varkala”
Review of Jickys Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jickys Nest
Ranked #11 of 97 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shimla
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place in Varkala”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I cannot recommend Jicky's Hotel highly enough. It has to be the best place in Varkala. It's set back from the cliff in the midst of green jungly garden. We loved the privacy and peace of being separated from the commercial strip of the cliff-top, and the convenience of being just a minute away from it all. We slept really well there as it is very quiet, and the rooms are really lovely - unusually for India, everything was extremely tidy, clean, well-built and well-maintained. Lovely bathroom, oodles of hot water, soft towels, toilet paper and soap. The style of the rooms is beautiful - simple, uncluttered and tasteful. Large rooms with cool stone floors, white walls, mosquito net, deep verandah with arm chairs. There's a fantastic roof-top area which we had entirely to ourselves. Our room was cleaned whenever we wanted - daily is standard, with fresh linen and towels. They have beach umbrellas you can use (the ones for hire on the beach cost 100rp) and beach mats. Perhaps best of all, the staff at Jicky's are a total pleasure to deal with. Genuinely lovely caring people who provide a thoughtful and efficient service. There's a great veg restaurant also owned by Jicky's just as you come out onto the clifftop - some of the best food in Varkala.
We stayed there in May, which is low season in Varkala, and the Lonely Planet pretty much says this is monsoon time there. This is totally incorrect, and we plan to return to Varkala, one of our fave places in India, at this time as it was sublime. Gorgeous weather, not a drop of rain, and the place was so peaceful because so few people - beach practically to ourselves at certain times of day, and such a stunning beach it is. We're going back to Jicky's!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShimlaResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    63
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
63
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We had a couple of nights at Jickys in one of the cottages. It was spotlessly clean and airy. The location although not overlooking the sea is fine and is only a minute's walk form the north cliff. This is great as it avoids any possible night noise. The lady who attended to us was delightful and even let us stay in the room all day on the day of our night train out of Varkala.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryncel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Do not hesitate to stay at Jicky's....EXCELLENT place. The staff is very friendly and always there to help you, if necessary. The room was very clean and they got to clean it every second day. The place is only a few meters away from the Helipad so great location. The "cottage" are situated in a very quiet "garden" spot.

We have only positive things to say about the place (except that they could have WIFI access) and for sure if we go back to Varkala one day,we will stay again at Jicky's!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

This guesthouse was great for many reasons. First and foremost is the staff. You are really looked after here and you will be guaranteed a warm welcome. Secondly, the location. You are set back from the hustle and bustle of the main drag - this is an advantage for 2 reasons. The first, you will get a peaceful nights sleep and secondly, the shade of the palm trees will give you a cooler climate to relax in. However, you are still only a 2 minute walk away from everything else. Thirdly, the rooms are clean and comfortable. I think his was the only place in India that I had my bed sheets changed regularly. The price reflects the service you get here. The associated restaurant, Oottapura, is also the best place to eat. I found Varkala a bit too commercial and touristy for me with lots of places offering English breakfasts rather than Indian breakfasts. This wasn't the case with Oottapura - I had some damn good Indian breakfasts here! My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank black_flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canary Islands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We arrived at Jickys on Xmas eve, to enjoy christmas at Varkala beach. Friendly staff welcomed us, and we were shown to our bungalow. This is a lovely group of new builds to add to Jickys original rooms, just across the path. Our bungalow was clean, bright and very spacious with a large modern bathroom ensuite. Outside we enjoyed our own comfortably furnished porch overlooking the garden.This accommodation is in a great location - quiet & relaxing, but only a very short walk to the cliff with all its attractions. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We stayed in the bungalows which look as though they had only recently been finished so they were immaculate. Everything was really clean and the room was of generous proportions the mattresses were the most comfortable we had slept on in just over two months of travelling. Staff cleaned the room daily and provided clean linen and towels, soap and toilet rolls. There were chairs and a table in the room as well as on the sit out and the rooms surround the garden which has been laid out to give everyone some privacy without cutting you off from other guests. Bathrooms were clean and spacious and hot water was provided by a wall heater, the only downside is that water pressure was a little low but not enough to stop you from getting a good shower.

Staff came around each night and lit incense and mosquito coils outside your room, provided candles during power cuts and gave us celebration cake on Christmas eve as well as decorating the garden with lights and a manger.

Books were available to borrow from reception and they were also able to arrange airport transport which was both reasonably priced as well as being the most relaxed driving we encountered in India, which was great as we turned up at the airport calm and relaxed.

We had booked here, without seeing it for 10 nights on the basis of the reviews we had seen on trip advisor we were not disappointed. Jickys was without doubt the nicest place we had stayed during our time in India.

Jickys restaurants Ottupura (Veggie) and Sunset (fish based) were both great.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyStrange123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

After a long and delayed indirect flight from a snowy London, we were relieved to get a warm and smiling welcome from the owner and her staff at Jicky's. The place is perfectly situated for the North Cliff, and the staff kindly took showed us the way to the beach, the restaurants and answered all our questions (we had lots).
While we were in Varkala, we extended our stay with them for 2 days, and we also returned to them later on in our trip. The owner arranged taxis for us, had our laundry done, and even gave us an adaptor plug, as we had bought the wrong one!
I can't recommend this place high enough. If you visit Varkala - go there - you'll feel welcome, their English is great and you'll know that you are getting a good deal for a comfortable stay with all your needs met.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oddkid6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#22 of 52 in Varkala
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#7 of 52 in Varkala
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff
1.4 mi away
Maadathil Cottages
Maadathil Cottages
#1 of 98 in Varkala
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jickys Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jickys Nest

Property: Jickys Nest
Address: Kurakkanni Near Helipad, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jickys Nest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jickys Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jicky`s Rooms Hotel Varkala
Jickys Nest Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing