We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottages..”
Review of Jickys Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jickys Nest
Ranked #10 of 102 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We ended our Kerala journy in Varkala and were so pleased we visited. We only had one night but it was exremely worthwhile. We were travelling with another couple and had a cottage each, the cottages were new, spacious, well appointed and private. Varkala is a chilled destination and no real hype, fab cafes - good coffee! free wireless and most of all great views from the cliffs.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moreauwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

My boyfriend and I spent 10 weeks traveling around India and how happy we were when we landed in beautiful Varkala. Especially when we rocked up at Jicky's and they made us feel welcome and at home! They sort everything out for you - laundry, trips, mopeds, even a trip to the doctor (and all without scamming)! The madam here runs a tight ship and always puts her guests first. We couldn't leave - we ended up staying 10 days!!! Thank-you Jicky's - THANK_YOU

Room Tip: Depends on price range - but all rooms and clean, bright and airy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grrranville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed in the private cottage at Jicky's Rooms in Varkala, South India. It was perfect place to relax, and it was very close to the beach, restaurants, etc. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zengirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed eight night at the main building of Jicky's. The staff were so kind and full of informations. The rooms are very clean and calm, among the palmtrees and bird's sounds.
I definitely recommand that place which is worth trying and very close to the main tourist area and a fabulous vegearian restaurent, Otupuram.

Room Tip: Rooms at the first floor are more daylighted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grillon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My partner and I stayed in one of the large, newly built (I think) bungalows in September 2011, and can highly recommend this place as a budget option. The room was spotless, and cleaned every two days. Any problems were addressed immediately, and the staff were friendly. It's low key, and set in a lovely and quiet tropical garden. Take a torch - it's set back a couple of minutes from the main strip, and you'll need it walking back to your room at night. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The large bungalows are new-ish, very large and good value - I think there are only two/three of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneIndiaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This accommodation was one of the best experience on my entire 2 month India trip. The location is not on the front of the cliffs but in return it's not that noisy and you reach the beach, the cliffs and helipad in a few minutes.

The rooms are very nice with marble floors and cabinet in wood. There are nice patios in front of every room. They provide beach mats and parasols for free. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

The price/performance ratio is excellent

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NormanBezzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Jicky's is great full stop! the rooms are spotless, the balcony and seating on the 2nd floor a nice place to relax and the location very peaceful and surrounded by palms and passion flowers! We paid 750 INR for a good sized double room and they cleaned the room every two days with clean sheets and towels. A very nice place i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#10 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#24 of 52 in Varkala
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Black Beach Resort
Black Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jickys Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jickys Nest

Address: Kurakkanni Near Helipad, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: £11 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jickys Nest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Jickys Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jicky`s Rooms Hotel Varkala
Jickys Nest Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing