We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Jickys Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jickys Nest
Ranked #11 of 98 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five days for 600 rupes per night. Had a lovely view of the garden and just a short walk to the cliff and the start of north cliff restaurants. The room was clean with mosquito net. No hot water though. A great place to stay in Vakala and just off the main route.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Jickys Nest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here of and on nice quite place and very nice people not far from the cliffs and not expensive I would recommend it .the rooms are clean,spacious laundry service available at a good price you can ask advice to the manager Mrs Oscar go there

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

It is very near to Cliff ,though not seen from Cliff it is a beautiful budget rooms ,with pleasing hospitality .It is best for budget travelers.The owner lady was so helpful ,we did't use the library but it seems good.

Room Tip: Second floor ,window room
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank an-e-motion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at Jicky's for 2 nights in January 2013. We each had a separate little garden bungalow room. They were so pretty, with painted murals, mosquito nets over the beds, plenty of hanging space, chairs, table, and a little terrace overlooking the beautiful clean gardens.

We were only there for a short time, and our tour organiser had booked the trip in advance for us. He has a homestay business in Aleppey, so he would have got a slightly cheaper rate as he puts a lot of business their way. As a previous reviewer mentioned, it isn't as cheap as some places, and there was part of us that wished we had had the time to scout around for a cheaper deal. However, it was absolutely lovely, spotlessly clean, and so calm and quiet.

The beds were comfy, and decent pillows too, and hot water in the shower as well!

Breakfast wasn't included in out price, so we ate at the restaurant at the end of the lane. We didn't rate it that highly..there were loads of cawing crows hopping about on the tables, which are a bloody nuisance, not helped by some guests giving them titbits and encouraging them. And the service was very slow, even when they had no other diners. So that rather spoild the breakfast. And the chai I had there was the worst I've had in India, way too peppery, and not at all sweet and spiced as it usually is. No matter, there are hundreds of other places along the cliff which do pretty much anything you could possibly want in the way of food!

The little library was sweet, and the owners were lovely and helpful. There was a power cut one evening, and I was on the way back to my room. I could not see a thing, and ended up tapping about in a neighbour's garden, knocking over flower pots! Then, out of the darkness, a little pinpoint of light, and it was a boy with a mobile phone, who guided me back safely. Handy tip, always take a torch!!

There was a very good ayurvedic massage place, which you pass on the way to the beach..the hot oil head massage was sublime! Highly recommended.

It would be ideal for a special trip with a beloved one, as it is a very romantic, quiet place, away from the bustle of the cliff tops, but only two minutes walk there..

Room Tip: I hadn't seen the other options, so cannot comment on these.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMadHats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I ended up staying at Jickys for 9 nights after I was originally supposed to stay for 5! Just felt so happy and comfortable there. My room was perfect, good size and the balcony was great! They cleaned the rooms ever other day which was amazing. Oscar and mini Oscar were the most lovely and gracious hosts! Very helpful too! The veg restaurant was delicious, suppers were brill but breakfast not amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraMathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed a week in bungalow. Large clean rooms with fan &hot water shower. Friendly helpful staff. Rooms cleaned every other day, gardens patrolled each night to see you're ok. Just behind oottupura veggie restaurant (next to Helipad) and couple minutes from beach. Peaceful oasis. Wouldn't hesitate to return thanks again for ensuring a great stay in Varkala.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMacAactually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I planned to stay here for 1-2 nights, ended up staying for a week. Rooms are small but comfortable and only 2 minutes walk to cliff-top restaurants and the beach. The owners and staff were helpful and friendly throughout. Rooms were meticulously cleaned every couple of days. I would definitely stay here again.

Also, the veg restaurant at the end of the lane, owned by Jicky's, is definitely worth visiting.

Only one word of advice - a few of the books available to borrow at reception were riddled with bookworm - be careful if you are leaving these around your own books.

Thanks to the everyone at Jicky's for a very enjoyable week in Varkala.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picnic390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#21 of 52 in Varkala
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#8 of 52 in Varkala
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jickys Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jickys Nest

Address: Kurakkanni Near Helipad, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: £9 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jickys Nest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jickys Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jicky`s Rooms Hotel Varkala
Jickys Nest Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing