We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & spotless guesthouse”
Review of Jickys Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jickys Nest
Ranked #12 of 98 Varkala B&B and Inns
Cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location & spotless guesthouse”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The owner is super nice. 500 rupees for a room which was really clean & also had good wifi. Very near to the beach as well so a great location with a couple of restaurants near by as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mairead K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    63
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
62
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Jickys is a peaceful, clean and comfortable guesthouse. Our room was beautiful with high ceilings and clean white walls and sheets. The guesthouse is situated about 5 minutes walk from the main strip of restaurants and shops and is therefore very well located. The staff were helpful, pleasant & discreet.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceSarah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Hi all,

We stayed at Jickys for a few nights in April of 2014, and had a really great time exploring the area, and really enjoyed the good location of our accomodation, Jickys. On our fifth night we had been silly enough to keep our valuables on the table with the window open and had them stolen while we were sleeping. We woke up to three men with balaklavas and long sticks lurking outside our room. We yelled and they eventually left, but unfortunatly no one came to help us. We were petrified and felt so alone, especially that the man who works for Jickys was sleeping only in the next room. His reaction the next morning was "Oh...I heard something", and continued his business as if nothing happend. We left that morning, complained to the female owner who too seemed a little un-empathetic of the situation. We obviously shouldnt of left our things in sight, and we suggested they at least put fly screens on the windows, because there are only bars that can easily have arms reach through. If you visit here, you will thoroughly enjoy the area, but keep in mind there have been many robberies in the area and to always, ALWAYS lock your window AND DOOR no matter how warm it is outside (there are fans).
Love your fellow travellers,

Room Tip: From experience, we reccomend choosing a room upstairs to avoid wandering on-lookers as the area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FellowTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jickys, Owner at Jickys Nest, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hello I am the owner of Jickys
I came to know through the newspaper that 7 thieves were caught by the police last day.I am sorry for the careless response by my staff. The same day that you told us that your things were lost my wife who was there at the reception told you if such a thing happened at first we should make a complaint at the police station and then see what we can do but you didn't even cared to make that complaint and you left Varkala the same day itself. Since your response was like this to the thing that happened EVEN I AM NOT SURE THAT YOUR THINGS WERE STOLEN OR NOT BUT NOW I BELIEVE YOU
BUT NOW I AM HELPLESS BECAUSE I CANNOT MAKE A COMPLAINT MYSELF TO THE POLICE STATION .
IF YOU ARE SURE THAT YOU ARE ROBBED AT OUR PLACE PLEASE MAKE A POLICE COMPLAINT REGARDING THE ROBBERY AND I CAN HELP YOU IN GETTING YOUR THIS BACK
Regads
Oscar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

The room is basic fan, mosquitoes net (very useful) ,nice bed and a small balcony. There is in room Wi-Fi. Hot water is there, but it is not available in the shower only from the tap so you have to use the bucket. The hotel is 4 minutes from the cliff on a path with poor lighting . We felt the place is overpriced as even on the cliff itself there was no difficulty finding cheaper rooms on a lot higher standard.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LevinY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights, very happy with our room, we had a fan and mozzie net. Nice seating area outside the room, also with a fan over it which was good at keeping the bugs away when sitting outside in the evening. Close to all the restaurants etc but set slightly back so nice and quiet in the evening, felt very safe and fine to walk back in the dark. We did have a few power/ water cuts but I guess that goes with the territory, and most restaurants have a generator so you can just go out. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThaliCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Lovely stay, clean room and good price for time of year. Room was perfect and comes with mozzie net and fan – two mins walk to main strip. Very helpful and can arrange taxi trips if needed. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We has a cottage which was nice enough but very expensive, as we looked around Varkala we found much nicer places much cheaper because they weren't on Trip Advisor or in the Lonely Planet. My advice is don't bother using web portals to book your accommodation, our experience so far has meant every place on TA or other booking websites means that the prices are inflated and the accommodation just OK or worse. You can find yourself a much better deal by searching around on foot or by rickshaw.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anokha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#9 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#12 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#25 of 98 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jickys Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jickys Nest

Property: Jickys Nest
Address: Kurakkanni Near Helipad, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jickys Nest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Jickys Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jicky`s Rooms Hotel Varkala
Jickys Nest Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing