We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat
Tehran, Iran
1 review
“Travel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

ery nice place to relax and get energy . Close to the beach and very safe with very lovely staff.:-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saeed2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
8
21
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Foggy in Sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is our experience of this hotel. Obviously others opinions may differ.
We stayed on a B&B basis in a standard air conditioned room.We found this hotel to be very pleasant, especially the price and location (opposite end of the cliff from the 'helipad and about 50p to there by tuk tuk) The staff were absolutely wonderful, friendly, very helpful and accommodating, as was the manager, who helped me organise a new sim card, without me having to leave the hotel Nothing but nothing was too much trouble. The hotel itself is a little tired. Impressions were that this was a hotel of former glories, but the rooms were clean and everything worked. The pool was a little gem and a real bonus in Varkala, and was 'cleaned' every morning, certainly while we were there. The gardens were very pretty and well maintained. We stayed here for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time. On the basis of our stay and the price paid we would really like to reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Those at the front of the hotel have sea views,, whilst others overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smarticus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Good location and facilities, near the Black Beach in a quite location. Manager and staff friendly and attentive. Excellent ayruvedic treatments provided by Dr Vijay & Mirash the therapist. A good swimming.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building first floor offer excellent accomodation and good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

If it wasn't for very good location and the price (that was quite affordable) this hotel would have been total disappointment. Main reason for booking were swimming pool and Ayurveda massage in hotel. It turned out that swimming pool was unusable because of opaque water - (explanation was that it was temporarily, due to cleaning but it lasted 6 days) and there was no Ayurveda doctor in hotel and we were comforted with: "no problem, you'll find a lot of Ayurveda places around ..." There was no restaurant in the hotel, we had to go to another hotel for breakfast. We didn't like the fact that we were advised by the staff to keep always closed windows (we were on the ground floor). When I asked for explanation "don't tell me it is because of snakes" I got scaring answer accompanied with a big smile: "Lady, this is India!".
A tip for the staff: you are there for guests - not opposite as it seemed to be. Someone should have explained you that staff in a hotel is supposed to work and not be on a holiday.

Room Tip: Try another hotel :-)))
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nen608707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varkala hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

It seems as if this hotel has been built as a family home, but the family don't want to occupy it yet, so they have opened it as a hotel until such time as they want to move in...!... So this means that there is no proper, staffed reception, or room service (no phone in room), and the whole place is like a large, clean house minus the family.

This above is my only negative observation.

Generally the hotel is spotless and room huge, with huge bathrooms too. The grounds and swimming pool area were very well kept.

The walk to the beach was about 1 minute, as was the walk to the breakfast 'room'... in fact a beach side 'shack' affair, with excellent staff.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and was simple, but very ample and good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelpp1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Loved this place in the past, especially the pool, but new owners are ruining it. The room we booked was dirty, then the power went off just for that room. They wanted to move us to an ugly interior room with huge spiders running on the wall. Followed our house boy Ashok across the street to a better place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This place is located in an isolated beach and the most charming beach in Kerala. The property is well secured and maintained. The ambiance is nice and the best part is its adjacent to the beach. The view from the balcony is mesmerizing. The weather is good and you get great food especially the grill fish. Varkala beach is secluded and is far better than the Kovalam Beach, its surrounded by the coconut trees. The view of sun set and the approaching storm is awesome. Its a lovely place to spend days, ideal for couples. The resort is great in terms of location, cleanliness and service.

Room Tip: Take either the deluxe room or the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soumika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.9 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#10 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat

Property: Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat
Address: Thiruvambadi Road | North End Down Clif, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing