We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oceano Cliff
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Palace(Varkala)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
32
33
20
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
33
20
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsayurvedic treatmentsnorth cliffbottled waterevery morningprivate beachmain beachoceanadoctorfangardenbalconyseayogaindiaunusableconsultationclinic
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We booked a loft room with no a/c - by the time we arrived at Oceano we knew this was going to be a nightmare, so we requested a/c and they moved us to the premises 200m away that is still being built (though not at present so not noisy). The room here was stunning with the best view you could imagine of the sea. The staff were brilliantly helpful from start to finish (standing with us at 130am to make sure we got our taxi ok). The beaches are beautiful and secluded, although the tide comes up high so be careful not to get caught out. The only down side was the pool - both the swimming pool and plunge pool have not been maintained so were unusable. But with the sea so close, it was no biggie.

Room Tip: Very much recommend the hotel further up the road from reception and a high up room to make the most of the views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights and based on reviews we read we paid extra for a loft room. BIG mistake, these rooms are made of wood, have no air con and so it is like being in a sauna. The only positive was thtey had a large balcony with great views. After struggling for 4 nights we asked for a room with air con and were told we could move to the annexe. A new development just further down the road with air con and a swimming pool but for some reason whilst these rooms were of a slightly better standard apparently they were 100 rupees a night cheaper than we had paid. We did move as the heat in the loft room was unbearable but we were not offered a 100 rupee a night off the original price we had paid despite the fact we had to walk back to the hotel each day to use the restaurant. Whilst the new annexe had a swimming pool which was not chlorinated so we never used it the management have opened this up to the public for a daily charge. We were not immpressed by this as obvioulsy you do not know who is a guest and who si there a daily basis...not good from a security perspective!!!
The restaurant was ok and food was ok but it was immpossible to get a cold drink of any sort. I don't know why, maybe they only have limited fridge space.
Staff were nice and friendly though the management paid more attention to those guests who were having the ayurveda packages, probably as it was all extra revenue to them. Taxis were also expensive booked via the hotel than independently, this should be a service to the guests and not for extra profit for the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jantony207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The hotel has two premises: the main one where administration, dining area and Ayurvedic treatments take place and another about 1/2km away with a swimming pool. Our room, located further away, was simply blissful: very quiet, beautiful view of the sea, nicely furnished. Breakfast was a nice surprise and it usually consisted of fresh fruit, yoghurt, omelet, and several Keralan dishes. All staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Despite smoldering heat during the day the lack of AC wasn't much of an inconvenience and the ceiling fan combined with cool showers proved to be enough to keep us comfortable. We also enjoyed strolling (about 20min walk) to the Cliff for other meals, yoga and surfing; the supermarket and fruit stalls were about the same distance towards the city.

On the downside, wifi was only available at the reception area. For a $65/night room a kettle would have been truly indispensable. Pillows were a bit too big for me, causing a few sleepless nights and a sore neck until I finally ditched the pillow altogether. We initially stayed in a cheaper room but found it unbearable: overlooking the main "road" we were awoken early by staff and vehicles. It also didn't have a proper shower, but instead a bucket in which to collect water to wash yourself with. None of such in an upgraded room, however.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel is very good in terms of "stay at one place rest". It combines decent facilities with well maintained and nice territory to relax, a kind of isolated beach, Ayurvedic spa, and a not bad restaurant.

The stuff is very polite, well trained and helpful. They also speak English well.

If you fill a kind of fed up staying only in the hotel, it is about 25-30 minutes walk along the sea to the Panpanasam beach, where most of the activities and decent restaurants are located. But be aware that after the sunset it's definitely better to go back by ricksha (50-60 rup).

The breakfast was OK: fruits, porridge, juice (not always quite fresh), tea/ coffee, cornflakes, and two dishes from Indian cuisine. And they also can make fried eggs or an omelette by request. It's better to come early, otherwise you might have cold porridge or else.
You can also eat in the local restaurant during a day - it is twise more expensive than at the Papanasam beach. Be prepared to see about 40% of the unavailable dishes in the hotel's restaurant menu... And some of the food (like basic salad, paratha) they prepare in advance, so it is not quite freshly made.

I liked that the beach near the hotel is not crowded at all. But the drawback is that they do not clean it at all. So you are going to see quite a lot of garbage there, especially after stormy night.

In terms of Ayurveda treatment there, I wanted to try it because of a lot of positive reviews here. But my appointment was shifted twice - we had to change the time because they didn't come on time first, than because they've started later the massage previous to mine. So at the end I had no chance to try it at the time convenient for me, and decided to refuse from the idea at all. Anyway, most of the people at the hotel were satisfied with the treatment they had. But mind that Ayurvedic treatment is quite expensive here in comparison to other places in Varkala.

From time to time they host some concerts, which I enjoyed, for I love live music. They may last till around 22pm.

In general it is a quite overpriced please to stay in Varkala. However, if you feel like have everything in one - it is a good choice.

Room Tip: You'd better choose either lofts or suit sea view rooms on the second floor, otherwise you're going to be definitely disappointed. 1st floor rooms are quite noisy and it is not comfortable to hear that someone from the stuff walking near your window all the time. Basics and Standards are not worth their price at all - you can find the same quality for twice less price.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Really nice quite location on south beach with delightful gardener who makes the whole place special. Stayed in loft 302, delightful clean room. superb bathroom with balcony looking onto Indian ocean - excellent wifi in this room too. Between 12-3 room was like an oven no a/c it was unbearable. Breakfast good other meals dont look appealing. Staff and treatments very good. Bit of a trek to decent food on north cliff and they try to rip you off with taxi fares (70% commission) which is bit insulting as its not cheap. Nice place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews