We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax, meet, enjoy!”
Review of Shiva Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shiva Garden
Ranked #18 of 98 Varkala B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“relax, meet, enjoy!”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Such a fantastic guesthouse: friendly and helpful staff; large and clean rooms to suit every budget; wonderful gardens; tasty food served from the kitchen; and many fun parties.
My first stay here (2 months) was in room 106: huge 1st-floor room with king-size double bed; en-suite shower/wc; mosquito net; ceiling fan. So much cheaper, and so much cleaner than the rooms I'd seen on the cliff, and yet only a 5 minute walk away. I settled in quickly, met so many inspiring people, and found it very hard to leave.
AND very hard not to come back: which I did, and stayed for another 2 months in 1 of the 4 apartments.... HUGE double bedroom with a very grand and spacous en-suite bathroom, and a reception room with chaise longue, TV, and kitchenette.
But it's the communal garden that is Shiva Garden's ace card: a great place to relax, eat, lay in a hammock, play badminton, and meet many of the wonderful guests that are drawn to this fantastic place.
If you plan to visit Varkala, Shiva Garden is THE place to stay. Whatever your budget, there's an apartment/room/dorm bed to suit you. You won't be disappointed. ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IanDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    41
    8
    5
    16
See reviews for
15
48
70
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Podgorica, null, Montenegro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Shiva garden is a wonderfull place. Makes you feel at home. Don't get me wrong, it's not as Europe, it's wery exoctic. Beautifull garden with hamocks, a very high swing, badmington feeld, outdoor showers, traditional Kerala food...but most of all is a place where people meet each other and make new frindships. You can also chill in your quiet room or dorm but the best is to go to the garden and say hello to someone new and then miracles happen. I must say I find these place wery spiritual too. I see it like a non formal ashram where people by themselves create activities and become good teachers to each other. I warmlly recomend this place. To get the best out of it, try to do some work around the garden and some Karma yoga, helping to make these place as nice as your home because that's what Shiva garden is, your home abroad. Salute to all the nice stuff of Shiva garden, and keep on the good work. See you next season.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vuk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

When I had two days left befor my flight to calcutta and nothing to do, I went to varkala and liked shiva garden so much that I decided to change my flight and stay for 10 days insted.
Funny thing is that sonya noticed straight away that I wouled stay longer than I thought.
I loved the place and cooked for a night aswell (cous im a chef).
Highly recomended and I will definatly return at some point.
Jayan and sonya keep doing what you do:) love dan.

Room Tip: the treehous!!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank dand43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Florence, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I spend in shiva garden for 4 days and they also arrange some tour for us in entire kerala and needless to say it was one of the best stay i have ever come across people like jayan sonya are great people with a great mind and soul as well people like akbar and sayed (the cab driver) are
very good people and helpful and have a great soul i would love to come back again to shiva garden asap wish all of them a happy life and look forward to see them again in future thanks soumya chowdry

Room Tip: Pls contact well in advance so you can get a good room they are always in demand
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 294Soumya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

After having spent 5 days in here few weeks ago, I am back mainly because I forgot to write a review in the guest book hahaha, now I can leave..... It`s been magical this place YUPI!!! people is what this place has, everyone is so special that they really make you feel as if you were at home, also fellow travelers are amazing, met couple of people that made my first visit fabulous. Thank you Sonia for the amazing talk , out of the blue. You have made my trip so far. Loads of love & prosperity for both of you. I normally do not write reviews on the internet but this place is worth to do so, it is for real people. If you get tired in the beach you can come to the place and either have a chat, lay in the hammock and have a lovely thali. Love this place!!!!!! hope to find something similar in the remaining months around India

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank planeta_guardian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Shiva garden is a fantastic place to ralax, read books, chat to the very nice owners and to other tourists. Very spacious cottages as well as rooms are situated in a beautiful garden. They are very clean and comfortable with nice furniture. There are several hammocks in the garden and the possibility to play volleyball. Moreover, there is kind of a meeting point in the garden, a space with pillows and low tables, where people can eat, drink, chat to each other or connect to the rest of the world (wifi connetion offered). In the morning, Yoga courses are offered by Sonia, who is part of the staff, who runs Shiva garden. We highly recommend this place to everybody!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Undoubtedly the most friendly guest house that I made in India.
The whole team is adorable. The rooms are clean and tidy.
And the best of the best is the kitchen staff.
For me the best chefs in India.
We had to spend two days ... we stayed there five days so the atmosphere is pleasant.
They also offer trips in the backwaters and yoga classes. A superb address.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#20 of 50 in Varkala
142 reviews
1.4 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Varkala
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#25 of 98 in Varkala
48 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bamboo Village
Bamboo Village
#31 of 98 in Varkala
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Garden

Property: Shiva Garden
Address: North Cliff Kurakkanni | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHIVA GARDEN is one among the most reputed home stays in Varkala. Perched near a majestic red cliff overlooking the Arabian Sea, this charming home stay offers many warm hospitable services as well as a fantastic garden view. Here we have a magnificent garden growing many famous Ayurvedic plants and trees, surrounding the resort. Guests are only minutes away from the famous 2000 years old Janardhana Swamy Temple, Kappil beach and Angengo Fort built by the British East India company in the 17th century. Shiva Garden is the perfect base for leisure and you may never forget this in your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shiva Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Garden Hotel Varkala
Shiva Garden Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing