We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cosy backpacker hostel in tropical paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shiva Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shiva Garden
Ranked #18 of 97 Varkala B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cosy backpacker hostel in tropical paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Room (4/5): Considering the price of rs 700 in a tourist ghetto like varkala the rooms were large, clean and in general very homely. Sure for this price you don't get any amenities like an AC or flatscreen TV but time is better spent in one of the nice cliff side restaurants or on the porch of the hostel exchanging experiences with fellow travelers. The rooms - at least the one we had - has holes above the windows and can therefore not be completely closed thus requiring to sleep under a mosquito net, which might not be everybody's preference

Location (4.5/5): The hostel is located on the north cliff. The restaurant and shopping front right on the cliff side can be accessed by a 5 minute walk. The hostel consists of multiple separates buildings spread on a lushly green property. Next to the main building is a meeting point with comfortable seeting under a roof, a book exchange stand and a bunch of hammocks. It's really beautiful albeit not a 5 star environment but ideal for budget travelers.

Service (3/5): Service is virtually non existent as must be expected with budget accommodation of this kind. Later at night there is no body around to assist or any possibility to get hold of necessities like water. But there is a shop/restaurant only 50 meters down the road that will happily provide you with everything you need - including a cold bottle of kingfisher. The host/owner of the hotel is very friendly and helpful when mentally present.

Overall value (4.5/5): I can wholeheartedly recommend the Shiva Garden guesthouse to the budget traveler looking to spend a couple of days in the tropical paradise of Varkala. Shiva guesthouse provides a cheap, friendly refuge to enjoy the beautiful sunsets on the beach and the very not-indian whole-night booze extravaganza of Varkala.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapoCH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    41
    8
    5
    16
See reviews for
15
48
70
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

By far the best place I visited in India the love and welcome that I felt there was more than I could have ever antisapated , I spent nearly over a month there on and off I went and came back twice cause I missed the people I met and the family which runs shiva wish I could have spent more time there but sadly all good things come to an end but I can tell you this I will most definitely be going back ASAP, if your looking for a fun relaxed and happy place to visit then this is the place for you you won't be disappointed.Chris Allan from Scotland xxx

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisyallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 and a half weeks at shiva. The accommodation is clean and comfortable. We stayed in the dorm for the majority of time which is a perfect budget option for backpackers, we treated ourselves to a few nights in a ensuite room and even a couple in the apartment. All the options were excellent and value for money!

The garden is a great place to relax, to exercise or to make new friends over chai.

Sonia, Jayan, Afzal and the crew all made us feel at home and were very hospitable. They are what makes shiva gardens and couldn't have done more for us!

I really enjoyed Sonia's yoga classes, she caters for all abilities and makes every class different! 2 hours in the morning and I would leave feeling calm, revitalised and with a huge smile on my face!

We really were sad to leave, and will definitely return at some point in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Budget accommodation but clean. Outside shower and toilet but perfectly pleasant to use. Beautiful garden with lovely communal seating area. Drinks and meals available to buy. Very welcoming staff. 5 minutes from beaches, shops and restaurants. If you are happy to go simple, look no further and book!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laj_graffiti_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I visited Shiva Garden in November when I was on holiday in Varkala, when I returned in late December it was a no brainer that I was going to stay here. So for two months Shiva Garden was my home, the rooms offer everything you need, I had an en suite bathroom (cold water only, but this was no issue, as it was so hot outside) and a balcony. What makes Shiva Garden so special is the lovely people who run it and the beautiful garden, that encourages guests to socialize. It just has a very chilled and relaxed atmosphere, I made fantastic friends here and it was ridiculously hard for me to leave. Try Yoga lessons with Sonja, you won't regret it. A big special thank you to Afzal for always being happy and attentive. I can't wait to stay here again! Thank you Sonja and Jayan, until December ;-)

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu_Magpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed in Shiva Guest House for one night in Febraury. The room was really nice but a little expensive if i compare it to the rest of the trip. Also there was a fight between the locals and tourists which went on through the night. Overall the place is really good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibhor_Goyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Cool place where it's easy to meet people. Had a great weekend here, stayed in the dorms which were on a lovely rooftop. Friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend this place to anyone but especially solo travellers. Was recommended this place by friends.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Krissy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.4 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bamboo Village
Bamboo Village
#39 of 97 in Varkala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#10 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#24 of 97 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Garden

Property: Shiva Garden
Address: North Cliff Kurakkanni | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHIVA GARDEN is one among the most reputed home stays in Varkala. Perched near a majestic red cliff overlooking the Arabian Sea, this charming home stay offers many warm hospitable services as well as a fantastic garden view. Here we have a magnificent garden growing many famous Ayurvedic plants and trees, surrounding the resort. Guests are only minutes away from the famous 2000 years old Janardhana Swamy Temple, Kappil beach and Angengo Fort built by the British East India company in the 17th century. Shiva Garden is the perfect base for leisure and you may never forget this in your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Shiva Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Garden Hotel Varkala
Shiva Garden Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing