We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation at varkala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Excellent place, close to the beach and multiple dining places. The manager Mr. Anil Kumar and his staff made sure that all our needs were met. (we had elderly family members with us). Food at the Sanctum was also good and very reasonably priced. Wonderful pleasant and friendly staff. Would recommend this place without any reservation. Susy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socksy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Sanctum Spring Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

Hotel is in a good position at one end of the North Cliff area and an easy stroll along to numerous restaurants and gift shops. Rooms are a nice size with good balconies, those on 2nd and 3rd floors have lovely sea views, perfectly positioned for the sunset. Aircon is efficient and we really needed it in January with temp in mid 30s. The beds are very hard, probably the next stop would be a board. Breakfast is very basic but with Coffee Temple 5 minutes away don't let that put you off There are quite a lot of stray dogs in the area so you do get a nightly dog chorus at around 10.30pm for an hour or so. It would be the same for any hotel or guesthouse in the area. There is safe parking if you are driving yourself and the helipad is well signed so it is easy to find.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms have sea views but there is no lift
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The Sanctum Spring is well situated, overlooking the sea in the pleasant resort of Varkala. I stayed in a room on the ground floor, next to reception and overlooking the pleasant lawn. The room is clean, relatively spacious, and comfortable as long as you are happy with your bed being a little firm. It has no character, but is adequate and functional. Breakfast was served a little late, but a general friendliness from the manager and staff compensated for this. For the money, I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DullDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Perfect hotel for a total relaxing holiday. The rooms are quite comfortable and cozy giving you the total ambience and comfort of your home. The rooms are quite spacious and plenty of moving space along with private balcony facing the sea. In simple words its worth the money spent till the last penny!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulanant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

The Sanctum Spring is perfectly located for the North Cliff. Although not directly by the sea shore (the Helipad is in between), the beach is only minutes away. Restaurants and shops are just a one minute walk, so it's also perfect for solo women travellers. The hotel feels safe, there's a 24h security guard, rooms have balconies with sea view and the staff is friendly. Special mention of Mr. Kumar, the manager, who is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious enough and very clean. Only two minor imperfections: the mattresses are very hard and the housekeeping could be a bit more diligent. During my two-week-stay the wash bin wasn't cleaned once. I'm sure both issues would have been dealt with within minutes had I mentioned them, but I didn't mind too much. All in all the Sanctum Spring is a great place and I would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivylee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Let me start with the best thing about Sanctum Spring, the manager Mr. Anil Kumar. After sending Sanctum Spring an e-mail, Mr. Kumar responded promptly and offered us a special rate (Rs. 2300) which was 30% lower than their published rack rate. After asking information about the way of payment he responded that no advance payment was necessary and he sent us the booking voucher by e-mail. What an exceptional service! Also during our stay Mr. Kumar showed an interest in making our stay a pleasant one.
The room was spacious and clean with a very pleasant balcony with a view of the garden and a bit of a sea view. Now the worst thing about Sanctum Spring: the beds are rock hard. After a sleepless night I requested an extra mattress which - in all fairness - the manager arranged immediately and the problem was solved.
The hot water in the shower was hit and miss. Most of the times there was hot water but more than once there wasn’t.
The air conditioning was another hit and miss. The air conditioning stopped working one evening at 10 PM which was fixed within half an hour. But another time I woke up sweating in my bed at 2AM because the air conditioning had stopped working in the middle of the night. No one was there to fix it, so we had to open the door to the balcony and put on the fan to get some cool air.
We had breakfast three times. Two times it was a really lovely breakfast, served by a really friendly guy. Freshly fried eggs (cooked to perfection), fresh toast, a pot of good strong coffee (rare in India), butter, marmalade, fresh pineapple juice and some bananas. But one time the guy said no one was in the kitchen and apart from fresh coffee just offered us just some disgusting leftovers from a breakfast buffet. The difference with the other two breakfasts couldn’t have been bigger.
The location of Sanctum Spring is perfect. The hotel is located at Helipad in Varkala, which is very near beautiful Papanasam beach and all the restaurants and shops at North Cliff.
All in all we had a pleasant stay and with the discount it was value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whatsinaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

this hotel was really good. Its about half a minutes walk from all the hustle and bustle of the varkala cliff tops (shopping, other hotels etc) and i liked the seperateness. It gave us a chance to get away a little from the more touristy elements of a very beautiful location. The room was very clean and the service was prompt and well organised. They had good internet and there were always plenty of taxis and rikshaws out the front for when you left. Stay away from the restaurant though - we found it pretty average in comparison to the incredible food available on the cliff tops.
In reality though, it was a very good hotel in a simply magical location.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankiejholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.6 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum Spring Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Spring Beach Resort

Address: Helipad, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £24 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctum Spring Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctum Spring offers state-of-the-art accommodations at 14 well-appointed executive and 3 suite A/C rooms that are intricately crafted with the magic of the east, comforts of the west, teak/cane dapper furnishings, incredible sea vistas and a private balcony from where you can enjoy a spectacular sunset view. The multi-cuisine restaurants serve you traditional favorites and gastronomical delights from across the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctum Spring Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctum Spring Beach Hotel
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing