We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location very relaxing and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect location very relaxing and clean”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Stayed here for ten nights exceeded my expectations lovely staff very accommodating if something wasn't right it was rectified immediately room had a great view and was very clean the hotel has a very chilled atmosphere loved it will be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186338Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    47
    21
    2
    5
See reviews for
32
74
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of India and surrounding countries. Before we booked we read good things on Tripadvisor and were expecting something rather different to what we found.
Upon check in we discovered that our suite had been double booked. This would not generally be a huge problem but the manager was not on duty and the staff hardly spoke any English. The hotel had tried to email but we had not had chance to check. I did however call the hotel 6 times the previous day and did not get a single answer!
The hotel is only a five minute walk from the beach but not right on the beach as it looks on the photos.
In summation this hotel is not four star. The towels were ripped, there was not a restaurant, the staff spoke very poor English, the mattress was the hardest we have ever slept on and the breakfast was laughable ( if you go you will see). On the plus side everyone was very friendly and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraDeLaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in Varkala at Sanctum Springs Hotel. The location is perfect, just minutes from the beach and restaurants. The staff was friendly, and the manager, Mr. Anil Kumar was very helpful with various suggestions, and was readily available. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luna_llena777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2011

The hotel is very comfortable. Double suite have a large room devided into 2 parts. Condition works well but sometimes one need ask reception to eneble it since there are electricity problems. To be 100% sure your room would be cleaned up put the badge on door when you leave the room. Towels and bedlinen are old and looks not very fine some times, but it always clean and fresh. There is no safe box in the rooms but you can leave thing to the magaer. He always write everythig into the journal. Personal are polite especially Mr. Anil Kumar - manager of the hotel. For breakfast we have only omelet (with cheese or with tomato), one type of fresh juice (pineapple), toasts with jam and tee or coffee.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitomaxsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2010

This hotel was perfect, the location was just out of the way but close enough to enjoy the local night life. The staff were very friendly and would go out of there way to help, the rooms were very clean and bright with plenty of space, only one very slight bad point the mattresses are very thin and hard, not that we spent much time sleeping to much to do in a great country. Would very much recommend Sanctum Springs.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajd5823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Quaint place that really is the best looking resort in the hilltop. The location is great with diagonal sea views. However, it is meant for those who want to chill out at the end of the day as it is not where the hub of activity (centre of the cliff) is - though just 2 min walk from the hub. The service was great - if you wanted something - you ask and be immediately served with a smile. I found the staff very warm and hospitable. One of the reassuring aspects of the place is that it has a security guard (I did not see any other resort having the same). For family goers this is really good as there is a well maintained lawn which kids can enjoy in even late at night without concerns on safety (the helipad is not well lit at night). The resturant does not have any variety for lunch & dinner so eat your breakfast here but lunch & dinner somewhere else. Overall great stay for family travellers.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuantLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the first floor which was inexpensive, clean and certainly adequate. The manager was extremely helpful and managed to change my airline ticket for me.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#7 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.7 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum Spring Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Spring Beach Resort

Property: Sanctum Spring Beach Resort
Address: Helipad, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctum Spring Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctum Spring offers state-of-the-art accommodations at 14 well-appointed executive and 3 suite A/C rooms that are intricately crafted with the magic of the east, comforts of the west, teak/cane dapper furnishings, incredible sea vistas and a private balcony from where you can enjoy a spectacular sunset view. The multi-cuisine restaurants serve you traditional favorites and gastronomical delights from across the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctum Spring Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctum Spring Beach Hotel
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing