We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Easy”
Review of Mummy Bamboo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mummy Bamboo House
Ranked #13 of 98 Varkala B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheap & Easy”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We just got back from Varkala and spent our first night staying on the Mummy Bamboo "strip" of hotels.
We booked a room in advance but when we arrived were taken to another hotel 3 tightly packed hotels down the "alley" owned by her brother. We are traveling with children so any unforeseen reservation changes (especially when arriving at night) can not be disputed after dark. We were not happy as we had booked to stay at the "Mummy Bamboo", we were told that a driver was picking us up at the train station and dinner would be ready when we arrived (we set all of this up in advance) Not one promise was kept...we were left wondering where our driver was and told to wait at the train , we had no dinner upon arrival (over 5 hour train journey) and the room that we expected was not what we got. I would recommend Mummy Bamboo for folks that want a clean, inexpensive and very basic room to sleep (600 rupees a night). It is not the best spot as the ocean breeze is completely blocked by the tightly packed buildings off the impenetrable cliff shops. The rooms are cheap with working fans and mosquito nets...just don't depend on your reservation!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familyfieldwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    43
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
63
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed at Mummy Bamboo House for 4 nights this December and can whole-heartedly recommend it. Rani gives a warm welcome to everyone and her cooking is amazing. I'm still thinking about those lovely breakfast banana pancakes and she does a great Thali too.

The rooms are great value, just tucked off the main strip so a little less noise and a little more relaxing. We enjoyed sitting on our veranda with the smell of drying coconut and chili in the air.

Rani is happy to help out with anything, ordering rickshaws, renting bikes etc. Always with a smile. The only caution I would give is that I had an ayurvedic massage at a place three doors down (towards beach) and I wouldn't recommend it - not worth the money and not really any good.

Best value and nicest place we stayed during our whole Kerala trip

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evamay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I stayed here in September 2011 just after the monsoon season ended. The prices were incredible! The rooms were basic but clean, with a shower (no hot water but the weather was so hot it didn't matter), beds with a mosquito net and fan. Rani and her family were lovely, cooking a very tasty banana pancake (with honey and coconut) for breakfast and a huge Thali for dinner. She also called a rickshaw for us to get back to the train station when we departed. The hotel itself is down a quiet alley quite close to the cliffside, close to everything interesting. Did I mention hammocks out the front of the rooms? They were great!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We, a family with 3 children age 6, 9 and 11 stayed for 4 nights at this fantastic homestay. Everything is simply perfect! Rani and Sudhanen took care of us and were always helping out with a big smile. Our children had also a lot of fun playing with the children of the house. If you stay at Mummy Bamboo, do not miss the absolute greatest kitchen in Varkala. Ranis cooking is something above all. After eating at a lot of places on our trip through Kerala, this was no1!

Mummy Bamboos location on the cliff is also perfect. If you want to be close to the beach (100 meters without traffic) and at the same time want to avoid the stress close to the restaurants and shopping, this is the place. In front of the house its also a lot of space (rare in the area) for playing or just relaxing and there is no trespassing or traffic at all.

The house and the rooms looks brand new due to superb maintenance. Everything is clean and the sleep was really good.

Rani and Sudhanen, Mummy Bamboo is something you could be very proud of and thanks a lot for letting us stay in your house!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamNdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I can only write all things good about Mummy Bamboo House. A friendly welcome and hearty Thali/meal for lunch on arrival on our first day, clean rooms, including sheets, bathroom and balcony. The fan was all we needed in our non-a/c room and despite having a mosquito net in the room, we didn't need to use it at all. The place is situated only 30 seconds stroll from the cliff/main walkway where there is an abundance of cafes with similar menus and shops selling similar things. Staying that little bit back from the cliff/main walkway was nice as it allowed that extra little bit of piece and quiet. One great thing about our room on the first floor of Mummy Bamboo House was that our rooms (and even our balcony) remained dry during the massive downpour we had during our stay in Varkala. All in all, great value for money, so would definitely recommend staying at Mummy's and would definitely stay here again should we ever come back to Varkala.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nordlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I was staying there 2 weeks.

The Hotel is in very good conditions and close to the main Cliff (60m) but quiet.
If you want, you can spent time with the family, learning the way of life and just having fun, eat and laugh with them.
They really look to fulfill all your needs and wishes - and really good!
He is a good Tour-Guide and as I found out, he always charges less than other Taxi-driver or Tour-Guides.
The Rooms are not big but enough for two Persons - and the Price is wonderful!!!
We were 3 Persons and so we rented 2 rooms for an incredible price of 12€ per day.
Don´t think, you can´t get a good accomodation for little money - go there, you will get!
My recommendation to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noerdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed with Rani and her family in August last year on a month long trip of India.

We were made to feel like family.

We loved the tucked away location close to the beach and town. So close you can hear the palms and waves from bed.

The cooking lessons were fantastic and we loved every meal we ate there.

Rani and Sudhanan are very well connected and organised and so can advise or arrange anything you need.

We telephoned to advise that our train from Mumbai had been delayed and that we could arrive any time throughout the night. As it happened we arrived very late to a pitch black tiny station and to our delight there was Sudhanan to rescue us.

Mummy Bamboo was one of the highlights of our trip and I won't hesitate in going back.

My one complaint would be that Rani had promised to post me some of her amazing chili sauce I loved so much and it never came :'(

I'm hoping shell read this and it will come.......

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.0 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#20 of 50 in Varkala
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.1 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#24 of 50 in Varkala
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mummy Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mummy Bamboo House

Property: Mummy Bamboo House
Address: Cliff Papanasam | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mummy Bamboo House is set back from the popular North Cliff at Varkala, which is a minute’s walk away. The hotel offers good accommodation – and food - at reasonable prices. It is also quiet.The hotel has been built in the traditional Keralan manner and has seven comfortable en suite double bedrooms, four of which are at ground level and three are upstairs, each with its own balcony and hammock ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mummy Bamboo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mummy Bamboo House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing