We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home stay in Varkala”
Review of Mummy Bamboo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mummy Bamboo House
Ranked #12 of 97 Varkala B&B and Inns
Herzliya, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful home stay in Varkala”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Mummy rooms were in great location, and the atmosphere was warm, safe and clean.. just like at home..
The owners were great warm people that entered us into their home and gave us a real Indian experience. wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oshi_tohami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    43
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
63
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights at the end of our trip around Kerala. We couldn't have hoped for a more warm and welcoming experience. Rani is a wonderful hostess who made us feel at home. The downstairs room was roomy and the air conditioner was a welcome sight. Great value for money and the a case of bottled water in the room was a great idea.
Rani offers a gem of a guesthouse set back a few hundred yards from the cliff top however it was very peaceful.
If you go make sure you have one of Ran's delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dglass72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed two nights at Mummy Bamboo house for 1000 rupees per night. It was an ideal location - easy walk to local restaurants and beach and situated among yoga/ayuverdic treatment centres.

Mummy Bamboo was extremely welcoming - she sent a rickshaw to pick us up from the bus station and offered home cooked meals, helped with washing etc.

Our room was clean with A/C and ensuite bathroom. There was also a hammock outside for relaxing.. Unfortunately there were noisy dogs on the 2nd night and there is some building work in the adjacent house which slightly disturbed our sleep! I'm sure this won't be a problem for many though.

Just a quick note though - make sure you check the times of trains when leaving as Mummy told us our train to Cochin was at 6am and luckily we arrived a bit early as it actually left at 0545!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomCromarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My sister and I have just spent three fantastic weeks at Mummy Bamboo guesthouse. It is the PERFECT base from which to explore beautiful Varkala! Perfectly located mid way along the cliff and set back to avoid the hustle and bustle. It is extremely well priced considering other options in the area. Rani and Sudanen offer an airport pick up service which is reliable and inexpensive. Rani also made us delicious Thali...and we heard her breakfasts were pretty spectacular too. All in all, a great stay... we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had two adjacent upstairs bedrooms (non AC). Great balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

2nd vist to mummys and it's nice to know somethings don't change,a warm welcome from Suduanen at the airport and then Rani and the family at the house. The room was spotless and the hammock just as welcoming.This really is a relaxing place to vist and Ranis cooking lessons were as popular as ever and eating the results even more so .The festival parades were really enjoyable,the locals really know how to enjoy themselves. The place to stay in Varkala,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in total (5 nights first then 2 nights).
This was our first stay here with Rani and her family. After a shaky start because of a greedy Taxi Driver we settled into our room happily. (This was not of Rani's making).
Security here was not a problem if you are sensible and with the guard dog Vikki we felt safe. It is not on the front and is very quiet for it's central location. Less than 1 minute walk to the cliff. The room and bathroom was clean and functional. We were in a room with just a fan. As it was really hot we asked Rani for a possible change to aircon, but when she offered us another fan, this was the perfect solution. There was no hot water, but this is certainly not needed in March! We did not eat here, but could've done if we wanted to and were told, by other guests, that the food is delicious. If you are lucky to be there when Brett, the Aussie, is there he is like a tour guide on his own and was able to give us a couple of excellent tips. Especially as we wanted to go to Kovalem. He advised us about the AC Bus that runs directly from Varkala to Kovalem without having to change at Trivandrum.
If you are on a budget/backpacking this is an ideal place to lay your head.
We visited nearly every bar/restaurant on the cliff and recommend all of them, but we especially recommend Abba for Breakfast with it's Abba special. Very Good VFM.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_Hopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is our second stay with Rani, Sudhanen, Aria and Akil, and our 3rd stay in Varkala.

We always choose the rooms down stairs at the front so that we can be involved with the daily happenings.

Always love Rani's cooking, especially the Crab curry - Banana pancakes were a favorite with Mum for breakfast, and we loved the Idly's and Samba.

The location is perfect - close to the cliff face and also the stairs to the beach - taxi service available at Mummy Bamboo and also TUK TUK's for local travel. Many restaurants so very close to home.

Yoga classes on the roof top at Keeratheeram (next door) were excellent and cheap too!

Ther service at Rani's is excellent and anything you need she can arrange, from cooking classes to shopping trips into the local markets.

Hotel rates are excellent value and the rooms are exceptionally clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan010264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.0 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#22 of 52 in Varkala
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keratheeram Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Arabian Soul
Arabian Soul
#3 of 97 in Varkala
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mummy Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mummy Bamboo House

Property: Mummy Bamboo House
Address: Cliff Papanasam | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mummy Bamboo House is set back from the popular North Cliff at Varkala, which is a minute’s walk away. The hotel offers good accommodation – and food - at reasonable prices. It is also quiet.The hotel has been built in the traditional Keralan manner and has seven comfortable en suite double bedrooms, four of which are at ground level and three are upstairs, each with its own balcony and hammock ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mummy Bamboo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mummy Bamboo House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing