We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location”
Review of Mummy Bamboo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mummy Bamboo House
Ranked #28 of 101 Varkala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Very clean room, 4 poster bed with mosquito net. Good ceiling fan & option of A/C. Very friendly hosts who will cook for you and organise other travel. 2 minutes walk from the Main Street of cafés and beach. Great place.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank __Louis____M____11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

Mummy Bamboo House is a really safe bet in the plethora of accommodation on offer in Varkala. You don't need an expensive resort!

We spent one night upstairs in a non-AC room, but had to move to one of the cooler AC rooms downstairs after finding the heat and humidity in April too much to tolerate! Both rooms were impeccably clean, but the AC rooms have higher ceilings and are more spacious, besides the benefit of being cooler. It's very well-located, being just seconds from the beach at North Cliff.

Rani was extremely kind and welcoming. We really enjoyed her banana and coconut pancakes for breakfast, and heard excellent things about her cooking, though unfortunately we weren't able to sample it for ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed for 5 nights, and would have stayed longer if we could. When we arrived we met other residents who'd stayed there before - all with good tales of previous stays - and all happy to be staying there again. A good feeling about the place as soon as we met Rani; who is a very lovely lady - and this convinced us we should plot up.
The banana and coconut pancakes for breakfast were amazing!!!
The room is a very short walk to the beach and cliff top restaurants/shops, very clean and comfortable. Overall great value for money.
Thank u for having us, we will definitely come and stay again in the future.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We have just spent 9 days at the MBH and had a great stay! Excellent value for money, seconds from the cliff and the wonderful Rani! We took one of her cooking classes during our stay and chopped, stirred and cooked an amazing Keralan thali which we ate off banana leaves in Rani's kitchen.

Our room was spotless and cleaned when we asked. The mosquito net over the four poster bed was so welcome after our previous week elsewhere in Varkala!

We looked at lots of other places in Varkala and have to say that we would stay there again and highly recommend MBH to others looked for good value for money and great location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

It was a coup de coeur. We looked around for a cheap and good place to stay and was struck by the tidyness of the room and the big warm smile of the owner. Simply Love this place. Clean and tidy. Simple basic room. Very good value. Lovely people. Good spirit. Always greeted with an honest and friendly smile. Upper room has a nice and comfortable balcony. Downstairs there are even hammocks, but less privacy at the terrace. Two minutes from the beach, one minute from the restaurant/shop-walking street. Calm but still some cozy everyday life of the family going on in the garden. Yoga and ayurveda close by. Highly recommendalbe. I stress: Highly! We started our stay in a bigger room, but changed to Mummy Bamboo House after a few nights. This place is so much better and still we pay 1/3 of the price of the other room.. Wifi in the room is a plus.

Room Tip: Upper room has more privacy on the balcony, but downstairs the rooms have a tempting hammock. Otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Very close to the beach, restaurants and shops. beautiful and comfortable room with private balcony. The price was extremely affordable from the beginning with minimal bartering needed. The hotel owners (a lovely family) were honest and good people and they did utmost to accommodate us. Would recommend to everyone! Plus, best hotel name ever.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannie-Lou-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We didnt stay at mummy bamboo but enjoyed a cooking lesson by rani. Although she was rather critical of our cutting skills, we learned a great deal about keralan food and i can honestly say it was the tastiest meal ive enjoyed in india yet. Dont expect luxury kitchenwear but do take in this authentic experience! Did i mention the homemade coconut oil?

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank emmuel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kerala Bamboo House
Kerala Bamboo House
#34 of 52 in Varkala
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keratheeram Beach Resort
Keratheeram Beach Resort
#12 of 101 in Varkala
300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Eva Luna
Casa Eva Luna
#1 of 101 in Varkala
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mummy Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mummy Bamboo House

Address: Cliff Papanasam | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: £8 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mummy Bamboo House is set back from the popular North Cliff at Varkala, which is a minute’s walk away. The hotel offers good accommodation – and food - at reasonable prices. It is also quiet.The hotel has been built in the traditional Keralan manner and has seven comfortable en suite double bedrooms, four of which are at ground level and three are upstairs, each with its own balcony and hammock ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mummy Bamboo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mummy Bamboo House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing