We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Bungalows ,Clean Great Location but Worst Management Ever, RUDE.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clafouti Beach Resort
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Like everywhere else in Varkala they try to jack you at first sight with their prices. Don't pay more than RS 1000-1200 for a bungalo with A/C. The place altogether is nice but the older manager (bald guy that looks a bit like Saddam Hussein) is extremely rude and will insist on ripping you off. The travel agent next door who is also somehow connected to hotel is a bit of a thief and trys to push the houseboat scam. Don't go for it. If you are in a pinch and need a place to stay, and dont mind negotiating with rude managers then this place is yours to stay. Note that the front bungalos are the nicest with the back units being totally grubby.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripReviewer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2011

Taken there from Station by auto rickshaw driver (I know you shouldn't choose this way, but it was uncomplicated!) and decided it was ok for one night. Had one of the cheapest rooms, which was fine for the money if a little uninspiring. Moved on the next day to a better environment, 2km North right on the beach and very lovely.

Restaurant was good, had breakfast there every day, even after we had moved.

A point no-one ever seems to mention about Varkala cliff accommodation is how hot it gets up there when the sun is on the red cliffs in the mid/late afternoon. Do yourself a favour and get somewhere away from the congested "resort" zone if you find it oppressive as we did.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

When staying in Varkala (or Kerala, in general) everyone goes for all the ayurvedic treatments and other beauty treatments simply to feel pampered. The owner of the homestay I was at in Varkala suggested Lakshmi's to me, which is in the Clafouti Beach Resort on the North Cliff. She is a one woman show, and she is a perfectionist at all the treatments she has to offer. To top it off, she is super personable. We had great conversation throughout all my treatments, which included waxing, a facial, and a pedicure. Her other customers were also raving about the massages she gives. She's not very computer savvy, so there's no website for her, but you can reach her at 09895948080 (she wanted her number posted).

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank farmergirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed here for ten nights in the end, negotiated a reasonable weeks rate compared to what was on offer nearby, staff very helpful and the food in the restaurant was superb, location at the quieter end of the cliff is ideal, regularly saw dolphins off shore from upstairs restaurant. Can also recommend the sea queen and hungry eye restaurants nearby and the sunshine cafe towards black beach, very touristy place but so easy, an oasis in India.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLASHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed at Clafouti over new years eve. I had a very good stay, I had the small bamboo cottage, which was clean and comfortable. The location of the resort is amazing, right on the promenade and close to all restaurants and shops and of course to the beach. Also the staff has been very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the price, we paid 2500 rupiees per night and for India and for that room was definitely too much. However Varkala is a tourist spot and it was high season so I guess that is the reason.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed for about 4 days and the experience was unforgettable whether it was location of resort, quality of food or wonderful staffers. A place which is much cleaner and tidy..a very healthy and relaxed atmosphere to chill out. Certain amenities in the rooms require facelift like state of ACs and intercom connectivity. Hope to visit this lovely place once again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhanwar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Spent two days in Clafouti. First day in a deluxe Bamboo Cottage room with Ocean view and the second day in a heritage cottage room. The bamboo cottage room is quite tiny and the mattress is a big drag. There is no hot water, no intercom and I always need to do an STD call( I am from bangalore) to the reception whenever I need something like water etc. But the advantage with Clafouti resort is it's location and it's restaurant (for which you need not stay in the resort). The sight of the sea outside the room and from the restaurant is fabulous. The peak season starts from Nov 1st so I felt I did not get something worth my money but would recommend this place during off-season...

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKK548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#25 of 52 in Varkala
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#8 of 52 in Varkala
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clafouti Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clafouti Beach Resort

Address: Near Papanasam Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Varkala
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#9 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £23 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clafouti Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Clafouti Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clafouti Beach Hotel Varkala
Clafouti Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing