We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love for Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clafouti Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Madurai, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love for Food”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Are you a real lover of Food, Never miss to drop in to Clafouti Beach Resort. Good Sea Facing Arrangements, Cool Breeze 24/7, Smiling Attenders, Quality Food in Reasonable Timing, More options to have, Real treat to your taste buds and more over very economical in price.

We stayed about 3days and 2nights in varkala, we had all 3breakfast, 3lunch and 2 dinner at Clafouti Beach Resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mathanv85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    100
    50
    14
    20
See reviews for
65
101
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Since 3 years we visit Varkala Beach and have massage at Ani's Ayurvedic Centre at the Clafouti Beach Resort. My wife and I use this therapy every year to regenerate and heal our bodies. Along the basic massage we had all kinds of special treatments, like Kizhi, Dhara, and Pizhichil. These hot oil massages go deep into the tissues and help with Arthritis and all kind of weaknesses. We can only recommend this Centre with friendly people and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anashwaran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesse, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed in Clafouti with my wife just for a couple of nights. The rooms are wooden cabins, tidy and traditional. We could enjoy nice views and the constant sea breeze from the patio right in front of our room. The restaurant serves local as well international food, and the staff were quite welcoming and polite to us. The papanaasam beach is right next door, few fleeting steps away from the property. We took the ayurvedic massage and by far that was the highlight of the trip, we left really relaxed and happy we chose this place for our short errand. If any regret, it was that we couldn't stay any longer. Special thanks to Amal the young masseur, you were great.

Room Tip: Avoid the "local shops" and hawkers nearby. Total rip-off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujith1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The cabin type room was a little surprising, dark and woody, but overall we enjoyed our 2 days stay. We had a room upstairs, which was actually more private so nicer. The Clafouty restaurant wasn't too bad either, although we preferred the Cafe Del Mar for breakfast as their cofee was the best.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We arrived in Travandrum in the early hours of the morning and went straight to Clafouti from the airport. We had a great welcome and were shown to clean rooms, with noisy but working air con. The resort has lots of lovely bungalows going down to the cliff path, but we were in the main rooms overlooking the sea, with were perfectly fine. The cafe in the garden next to the bookshop served exceptionally good food with a smile. There was only one night where the music from the rock and roll cafe along the seafront disturbed us, but otherwise, it was a great place to explore Varkala from

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emlyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed at Clafouti for 2 nights last week. I checked in to other home stay place befor clafouti, but that place was much more expensive and not so good location, ( I still don't understand how could they charge so much... well, I guess if you are new in India, people always try to rip you off. )

Anyhow, I was walking along the cliff, and spot the Clafouti, and just loved the look of it from outside, and I just moved in right away. sorry to the other place but it was the right choice .

The place is located on the cliff road, lots of restaurants and cafes. and only 5 min walk to the beach.

very clean, reasonable price. perfect place for relaxing and chilling out.

I would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YJ0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thiruvananthapuram
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

tried the restaurant only....nice place to dine while seeing the setting sun........great food ...value for money........nice evening hangout place.....nice balcony.........nice chef..............................fresh sea foods...at reasonable prices

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anzarshouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#19 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clafouti Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clafouti Beach Resort

Property: Clafouti Beach Resort
Address: Near Papanasam Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#8 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#8 Family Hotel in Varkala
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clafouti Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Clafouti Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clafouti Beach Hotel Varkala
Clafouti Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing