We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clafouti Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Comfort, Nice Hotel for any body can go and stay,i can recommended to my friends and family.
It was pleasant and I have myself extended for another night. The Duty Manager (Mr VISHNU) was very helpful with my extension.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MUTTOCET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at Clafouti just last week (early January) in a basic sea view room. We were extremely disappointed and ended up moving the next day to Kerala Bamboo House, a beautiful place along the cliff for a cheaper price. At Clafouti we booked a basic room in the main building, not a free standing bungalow. We were happy not to pay for a bungalow however were extremelly disappointed with our room. The room was dirty, the bathroom extremely uncomfortable with no hot water (even though we were told there was, but it only comes out of the foot tap) air con that didn't work, a rock hard mattress, tiny dirty pillows and no natural light. The whole building with the rooms in it is in a terrible state and is not nice to walk through to get to your room.

The staff weren't overly friendly either so we had no hesitation to move the next day. for 3000 rupees plus tax, there is far better on offer on the cliff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AriyaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights, it was marvellous, the staff was extremely helpful, and did all they could to make our stay enjoyable. The food in the Restaurant was very good, and athough we love indian food, we also tried the western style food they offered and were very pleased with what we got.
Ihighly recomment Clafouti beach resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pfiff145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I went to Clafouti in the last week of December, 2013 with some friends. The place is overpriced considering the quality of the rooms provided. The rooms given to us were strictly average with no view to boast about. The spa was the most disappointing. The management of the spa was thoroughly unprofessional and quite discourteous. They kept us waiting for an hour beyond the appointed time and upon being reminded of the delay, refused to honor the appointment at all, and told us that we were free to go anywhere else if we so wanted to. I would instead recommend Dayana as a place which offers a good massage by an affable staff.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the newly built rooms to the side of the resort adjoining Prashanti.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aayush_agarwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Very bad service !
Washroom door couldnot be looked from inside!
Water leakage in the washroom and the manager says "its his problem, not the customer's problem"
room dimly lit and no body to change the difused bulb!!
Construction work noise and pathetic service!
No one in the hotel to look address customer requests after 10 pm except the security guard!

The only thing that could pacify us was the cool breeze on the varkjala beach cliff!!

CLAFOUTI------ Definitely NOT RECOMMENDED!!
And a caution fro TRIP ADVISOR management and users!!----- I don't know how could trip advisor recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Room Tip: Avoid this place !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SajalMaheshwary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

If you are looking for a place with a location overlooking the ocean, with the staff that will do absolutely everything to try to help and serve their visitors and with the famous restaurant right next door; then, this is it. Their ayurvedic treatments are wonderful and the staff is very knowledgable and experienced about the services they offer. Mainly, they truly care about the visitors being happy during their stay. I highly recommend this place for anyone that will be visiting the area. I enjoyed it very much and wish I could have stay longer.

Room Tip: The newer rooms overlook the ocean (the biggest building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdaSol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The location is awesome, all the restaurants, shops and beaches are nearby. The atmosphere of the hotel complex is also very good - small houses are cosy. But we had booked the most expensive bamboo house in the complex but all we got was a lame house without air conditioning and with very hard mattresses. After we argued a little, they put us in the bigger room. It was fairly nice but you must know that there are no showers or anything like that. Bed sheets were sticky and floor also. But that was because of the climate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liisiliisiliisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#19 of 52 in Varkala
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Black Beach Resort
Black Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clafouti Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clafouti Beach Resort

Address: Near Papanasam Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Varkala
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#8 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £24 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clafouti Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clafouti Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clafouti Beach Hotel Varkala
Clafouti Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing