We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
104
120
57
17
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
120
57
17
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clafoutis the cliff sea view seafood off season excellent location walkable distance standard room first floor fresh fish massage intercom cottage honeymoon monsoon tibetan mattress
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

This property is right on the cliff and you can see the sea from your room. I don't think there is any other property in vicinity which can offer this.They have an ayurveda centre but no pool or gym which is fine. They have a big sea facing restaurant which is quite a positive. Overall, at this price if you want to stay in a cliff hotel, I think its quite decent. If you are worried about luxury, pay extra and choose their awesome sea facing suits.

Tip: Reaching there in a car can be tricky and Google maps may not be able to handle it. Hence once you have reached , take help from someone.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank thakurpiyush1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Nice food, noodles are really good, friendly staff and a beautiful view. I can recommend this place, price and service are in full balance. In the hot season it's nice cool to sit upstairs, where the wind flows under the roof.

Stayed: April 2018
3  Thank honbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

I was here with family during the monsoon month of June 2018. The sea was rough with mild showers most of the time. The resort is located on the cliff with beautiful views of the rough sea below. We had booked the villa overlooking the sea and it was an amazing experience.
The restaurant in clafouti offers chinese and north indian food which was not up to the mark. When we wanted kerala style food we had to go to akhil resort which is owned by same management and food was good there. You just need to walk 5-10 mins to get down the beach which will connect to warkala/papanasam beach front.

The honeymoon villas both modern and traditional style have excellent beach view. There are other villas which have beach view from varandas. You can ask the management. And ofcourse the honeymoon villas cost you almost 40% more and is more spacious with excellent views.
I would defenitely give 5/5 for the location but food needs improvement.

Room Tip: the honeymoon villas both modern and traditional style have excellent beach view.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank syed_vasim_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We had booked rooms at Clafouti Beach Resort online based on the images we saw on the website. To our surprise, the rooms weren't as good as what they showcased. It was dingy and smelled weird. They told us that, this was what foreigners preferred. The staff also behaved arrogantly. We requested to switch rooms of equivalent rates or extra. We ended up getting a cheaper room which did not have an A/C remote or power. We had to request for it. However, the restaurant served good food and since Varkala was one of our favourite getaways, we ended up managing our stay.

Room Tip: Never choose the Rooms. Always opt for the Villas. They are comparitively better.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MathewS599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Good service and hotel view is awesome and if you are going for the first time so you will find some difficulty to reach the hotel from the car and the restaurent food is amazing bit expensive food but quality and quantity is good my overall experiance is great withe the clafouti beach hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mubashir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews