We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bet during Off-season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clafouti Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best bet during Off-season”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Spent two days in Clafouti. First day in a deluxe Bamboo Cottage room with Ocean view and the second day in a heritage cottage room. The bamboo cottage room is quite tiny and the mattress is a big drag. There is no hot water, no intercom and I always need to do an STD call( I am from bangalore) to the reception whenever I need something like water etc. But the advantage with Clafouti resort is it's location and it's restaurant (for which you need not stay in the resort). The sight of the sea outside the room and from the restaurant is fabulous. The peak season starts from Nov 1st so I felt I did not get something worth my money but would recommend this place during off-season...

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKK548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    100
    50
    14
    20
See reviews for
65
101
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We only stayed here one night - we arrived in Varkala late in the evening and were so tired, this was the first place we found that looked pretty decent. The rooms were nice and the place has quite a lot of character - however the next morning after scouting around other places we felt we were being ripped off a bit and told the guy on the desk but he didn't want to bring the price down so we went elsewhere.

Rooms are not huge, but pretty comfortable. The mattress was foam I think (major roll together), bathroom was clean but no hot water in the shower head. We asked about the hot water and they said there is only ever hot water out of the lower taps, so be warned if you want a hot shower this is not the place to go. A/C worked well.

It's worth mentioning that Clafouti's restaurant - in front of the hotel right on the cliff - is fantastic and we ate there most of the nights of our stay. Fabulous fresh fish and excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnynz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

A green nice garden that welcomes you, and a friendly staff who will talk you through in getting a room there. Bamboo chalet was over priced, bed mattress was way too soft without spring support, bathroom was basic without hot water. Our room was facing west, so it's really hot in the evening!!
However the 4 rooms on the new concrete building were much better, cheaper, nice terrace and a harder bed.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamburgkiosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

.The staff at Clafouti were all kind and ready to serve at all times. The room was well appointed, clean and very comfortable. A short walk to the beach, and a great deal! I would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blissmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

The location of this property is true awesome....its one of the most well maintained properties in varkala...
Must recommended .....
The only problem was the bed in the room...hope the mangement does some thing for tht...
Their shack is the best shack out there...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

I just spent a few nights at Clafouti on North Cliff after previously staying on the quieter South Cliff area. I got a good deal since low season had just kicked in. My room was clean, secure, huge bed, with a good fan! On site there is also a fantastic beauty parlour owned by Lakshmi - she gave me a very good manicure, pedicure and henna art - and a very good chat. I highly recommend her services. I also had a honey massage at the on site ayurvedic clinic which was amazing. Clafouti also has one of the best value restaurants on North Cliff, as well as an internet cafe, shop and travel agency. And a sort walk to the main beach.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmachips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK / Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Located along the most crowded strip of hotels on the North Beach clifftop. (If you want something more secluded / off the beaten track, I really recommend you take the time to walk south down the beach to the hotels beyond the Hindustan Beach Hotel. Places there are much more worth their high prices.) Clafouti comprises a collection of mostly of low-rise hotel buildings, semi-detached chalets, a restaurant and an ayurvedic centre. Landscaping is a little Disneyfied but it's green, the palms are good shade from the heat, and the balcony restaurant has great seascape views (but so do all the balcony restaurants on the strip - and there are many).

We looked at a few different rooms. They offer doubles suitable for most budgets: 700-2500 Rupees. Cheapest ones are dark and lack good air circulation. Top end "deluxe" ones are quite nice & sea-facing but really overpriced. This is generally the case for all food and accommodation in Varkala.

Our mid-range room had no sea view, being set back about 200 yards from the cliff top (behind the front chalets), but it was clean & spacious, had a new coat of paint and a huge private double balcony on the rooftop of the building. We paid 1000 Rupees per night, non-AC (it's cool enough with ceiling fan and good ventilation). There was the option of AC for about 500 Rupees more. Bathroom was small but clean; toilet is Western-style, shower is "Asian", ie. without a stall. No room service but staff are friendly, quiet, & there's toilet paper, *clean* sheets, towels and fresh soap provided without need for repeated requests!

All in all, pretty good for short stays.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Invisibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#19 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 52 in Varkala
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clafouti Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clafouti Beach Resort

Property: Clafouti Beach Resort
Address: Near Papanasam Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#8 Family Hotel in Varkala
#8 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clafouti Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Clafouti Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clafouti Beach Hotel Varkala
Clafouti Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing