We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit average and staff are indifferent.....Nice restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clafouti Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Needham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Bit average and staff are indifferent.....Nice restaurant”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Taken there from Station by auto rickshaw driver (I know you shouldn't choose this way, but it was uncomplicated!) and decided it was ok for one night. Had one of the cheapest rooms, which was fine for the money if a little uninspiring. Moved on the next day to a better environment, 2km North right on the beach and very lovely.

Restaurant was good, had breakfast there every day, even after we had moved.

A point no-one ever seems to mention about Varkala cliff accommodation is how hot it gets up there when the sun is on the red cliffs in the mid/late afternoon. Do yourself a favour and get somewhere away from the congested "resort" zone if you find it oppressive as we did.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    99
    50
    14
    17
See reviews for
61
101
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

When staying in Varkala (or Kerala, in general) everyone goes for all the ayurvedic treatments and other beauty treatments simply to feel pampered. The owner of the homestay I was at in Varkala suggested Lakshmi's to me, which is in the Clafouti Beach Resort on the North Cliff. She is a one woman show, and she is a perfectionist at all the treatments she has to offer. To top it off, she is super personable. We had great conversation throughout all my treatments, which included waxing, a facial, and a pedicure. Her other customers were also raving about the massages she gives. She's not very computer savvy, so there's no website for her, but you can reach her at 09895948080 (she wanted her number posted).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank farmergirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed here for ten nights in the end, negotiated a reasonable weeks rate compared to what was on offer nearby, staff very helpful and the food in the restaurant was superb, location at the quieter end of the cliff is ideal, regularly saw dolphins off shore from upstairs restaurant. Can also recommend the sea queen and hungry eye restaurants nearby and the sunshine cafe towards black beach, very touristy place but so easy, an oasis in India.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLASHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed at Clafouti over new years eve. I had a very good stay, I had the small bamboo cottage, which was clean and comfortable. The location of the resort is amazing, right on the promenade and close to all restaurants and shops and of course to the beach. Also the staff has been very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the price, we paid 2500 rupiees per night and for India and for that room was definitely too much. However Varkala is a tourist spot and it was high season so I guess that is the reason.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ooty, India
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed for about 4 days and the experience was unforgettable whether it was location of resort, quality of food or wonderful staffers. A place which is much cleaner and tidy..a very healthy and relaxed atmosphere to chill out. Certain amenities in the rooms require facelift like state of ACs and intercom connectivity. Hope to visit this lovely place once again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhanwar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Spent two days in Clafouti. First day in a deluxe Bamboo Cottage room with Ocean view and the second day in a heritage cottage room. The bamboo cottage room is quite tiny and the mattress is a big drag. There is no hot water, no intercom and I always need to do an STD call( I am from bangalore) to the reception whenever I need something like water etc. But the advantage with Clafouti resort is it's location and it's restaurant (for which you need not stay in the resort). The sight of the sea outside the room and from the restaurant is fabulous. The peak season starts from Nov 1st so I felt I did not get something worth my money but would recommend this place during off-season...

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKK548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We only stayed here one night - we arrived in Varkala late in the evening and were so tired, this was the first place we found that looked pretty decent. The rooms were nice and the place has quite a lot of character - however the next morning after scouting around other places we felt we were being ripped off a bit and told the guy on the desk but he didn't want to bring the price down so we went elsewhere.

Rooms are not huge, but pretty comfortable. The mattress was foam I think (major roll together), bathroom was clean but no hot water in the shower head. We asked about the hot water and they said there is only ever hot water out of the lower taps, so be warned if you want a hot shower this is not the place to go. A/C worked well.

It's worth mentioning that Clafouti's restaurant - in front of the hotel right on the cliff - is fantastic and we ate there most of the nights of our stay. Fabulous fresh fish and excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnynz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.6 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.6 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#9 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clafouti Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clafouti Beach Resort

Property: Clafouti Beach Resort
Address: Near Papanasam Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#8 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#8 Family Hotel in Varkala
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clafouti Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clafouti Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clafouti Beach Hotel Varkala
Clafouti Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing