We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MK Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MK Gardens
Ranked #4 of 96 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Very clean and calm place to stay in Varkala. We All enjoyed the stay there. Recommend to all who come to Varkala for stay in a calm place away from all noise.Clean and tidy, big rooms with bathroom attached .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 238manojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    10
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
34
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cayos Cochinos, Honduras
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We came to MK gardens for three two days and had a great time. The house is really beautiful and the rooms are spacious and clean. You can use the kitchen here so we had fun going outside and buying food and trying out different kerala recipes. Then we went and ate outside on the nice patio that is there. There is free strong wifi available and whatever questions we wanted to ask, Tina was very friendly and helpful in answering. There is a pretty garden outside. Overall, I really enjoyed staying here. It has a very good vibe.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

It was really awesome staying here. Our host, Tina was exceptionally friendly, along with local assistant, Sameer. The rooms were tidy and big and everything was "traditional". The location is just 50 meters away from the cliff walkway. Even the price is extremely generous, considering the location of the homestay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mukhtar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed here for several nights and thought it was a great place. Clean and tidy, big rooms with bathroom attached (hot water but Indian shower) and run by a local family - unlike many of the places here. MK Gardens was nicer than the other guest houses we looked at in Varkala. A reasonable rate per night also.

Room Tip: Lower your budget when asked what it is...Varkala is quite expensive generally, depending on when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunley-Griffin-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

We stayed four nights. We could have easily stayed a lot longer. MK Gardens is run by Rita and family. The guesthouse is set among coconut palms and is a very short walk to the cliffs and beach. Restaurants are nearby. MK Gardens is a spacious two storey modern house with a number of guest rooms, all self contained. We had a great room and balcony on the second floor. The atmosphere is relaxed, low key and friendly. Rita took our phone call when we called to book. She was helpful on the phone and very pleasant in person. Rita lives with her family in another house across from MK Gardens. Good value at Christmas time and probably even better value off season. A short breakfast menu was available courtesy of Salim who helps out. Salim also happened to be a pretty good chef who worked in one of the local cliff side restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Eva Luna
Casa Eva Luna
#1 of 96 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MK Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MK Gardens

Property: MK Gardens
Address: | Near Helipad Cliff Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to MK Gardens! Recently under new management, MK Gardens is a charming, homely and clean guest house perfectly located in Varkala within 50m of the beautiful Main Beach and its wide array of local restaurants and shops. There are 6 spacious rooms available all uniquely decorated. All rooms have en-suite with hot water and free wi-fi is available throughout the building. There is a well equipped communal kitchen which guests are free to use plus a large roof terrace and garden where you can relax in one of our hammocks or on the house swing. The reception also contains a seating area with library and we have a projector for rooftop film nights. The staff have a great knowledge of the local area and we are more than happy to help organise surf lessons, fishing trips, yoga and meditation classes / one-on-one tuition, ayurvedic massage / treatments and customised tours of the local area. Whatever the reason for your visit to Varkala we aim to make your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. If you have any questions in the meantime please let us know and we will do our best to help. MK Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your MK Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MK Gardens Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing