We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous guesthouse in Kerela.”
Review of Kaiya House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kaiya House
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“gorgeous guesthouse in Kerela.”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had a great stay with Debra and her staff at Kaiya house, nothing was too much, and it was nice to be guaranteed a decent cup of coffee in the mornings. Thank you so much for taking great care of us, we will definately be back to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
193
57
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Kaiya House, Debra and her staff definitely shine the brightest in the Tripadvisor galaxy of Varkala.

With Babujee, Letta and Bapu, Debra sees to every need of her guests - from making sure their taxis are paid for if they're too tired to get to an ATM on arrival, to walking them around the little town to orientate them. She has decorated Kaiya House magnificently, using all her collected paintings and objects d'art to make Kaiya House a user friendly work of art itself. Babujee sees to the maginificent breakfasts, Indian or Western, taken outside or on the splendid roof terrace and she is also ever ready with a cup of tea or coffee for the guests. The house itself is well located, a pleasant ten minute walk from the beach and if we returned to Varkala, as we hope to, we'd stay nowhere else.

Room Tip: Choose the Chinese room which is away from the road and also has a balcony backing onto it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meryl U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights at the beginning of January as part of our honeymoon. We were delighted we'd managed to get a room there. Debra is an exceptional host! From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and well looked after. The room was clean and beautifully decorated, lovely touches all around the house. Debra took the time to show us the town and even helped us find another guesthouse on the cliff as she could only have us for a couple of nights. All in all, a lovely guesthouse with an amazing host. A real highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natlefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We greatly enjoyed our stay with Debra at Kaiya House. The house is gorgeous and the rooms are as well. She was very kind and generous with her time while we stayed there. Great stay overall

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Kaiya House is more of a B&B than a hotel – but one of the best that I have ever stayed in. Spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated with care and attention to detail. And Debra is so welcoming that her guests feel like they are coming home. The outside terraces are lovely to eat breakfast, relax and read a book – or have a massage or yoga class which Debra can arrange. Her excellent network of efficient and reliable drivers are also very helpful. And she has lots of recommendations for restaurants, day trips etc which makes the stay in Varkala much easier and more enjoyable. Note that there are no curtains on the bedroom windows – so I’m glad I kept the eye mask from the flight – otherwise I would have been woken up by daylight – but that’s just a minor issue. Overall, it was a wonderful place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wellwhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Our family of four booked to stay at Kaiya House months ago. We arrived off a dusty overnight train to be treated to an early check-in and once we cleaned up, were offered fresh fruit on the sit-out and the best mugs of black coffee we'd had in weeks. The new rooftop is a great place to hang out, as is the garden. Don't miss a walk around the well. We appreciated Debra's local knowledge and she is well respected by the locals and this flows on to their treatment of her guests. Just go there, relax and enjoy being pampered by Debra and her staff!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeeBee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I had the absolute pleasure of staying with Debra and family at Kaiya House in December 2011 for 5 nights.
It was hands down one of the best stays I have ever had in India.
Firstly, Debra was the perfect Hostess.....the entire time we felt as though we were staying at a friends house, not paid accommodation.
The house is beyond clean....and I mean Western standard clean....very tastefuly decorated, free wifi, books to read, lovely rooftop space for chilling out, reading, yoga, whatever...
Excellent food, clean water supplied daily.
Debra was always available to give advice on the area and great tips.
I could go on an on about how great a place this is to stay....but i'll just say, don't hesitate if you are trying to make a decision abotu staying here.
I cannot say 1 bad thing about this place.
Happy Travelling,
Anna Papas, Sydney Australia
bug071@hotmail.com

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.6 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiya House

Property: Kaiya House
Address: Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from Varkala's famous cliff tops, this lovely boutique hotel, Kaiya House, offers the traveler a calm and beautiful environment to enjoy the sights and sounds of India in a relaxed atmosphere. The 7 guest rooms all have a theme from different parts of the world ranging from the African room to the Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Native American and English.Suraj and Debra offer a unique experience of India in this family run business. Babuchi, Ledah and Ajit are there to take care of the guests needs and to provide a traditional Kerala breakfast. Other options would also be available with advance notice.Also available are private Pilates classes, yoga by appointment and massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiya House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing