We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Homestay”
Review of Kaiya House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kaiya House
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Homestay”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

After going through the reviews, we planned short drive from Trivandrum and stayed a night in Kaiya house. True to the reviews, Debra is a wonderful host, made efforts to make our stay comfortable. A nice place recommended to stay in varkala.
///r_v_k

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r_v_k_v_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
186
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I had a wonderful relaxing start to my three week trip around India at Kaiya House. The wonderful Debra was incredibly helpful and friendly from the outset. From arranging a driver to be there for me at my very early arrival into Trivandrum to giving me a walking tour around Varkala helping me get my bearings, she really made sure my every need was catered for. The rooms are very clean, beautifully furnished (I stayed in the India room) and the rooftop is a wonderful spot to relax, check your internet (there is wifi) and birdwatch. Oh and Babachi cooks incredibly tasty Keralan food for breakfast. I cannot recommend Kaiya House enough. Thanks again Debra for a wonderful stay in Varkala!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missnunziatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
163 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Kaiya house is a wonderful guest house, each room is nicely decorated by Debra, who takes great pride in giving giving you personal service. The rooms are spotless, nb great mattresses, breakfast is rich and varied. The covered roof terrace is great for yoga, bird watching, sun set and relaxing with other guests. Debra is a fantastic host who takes good care of you and helps you with everything you may need regarding excursions, festivals and traveladvice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Kaiya House was our first port of call in India and Debra couldn't have given us a warmer welcome. She took us around the local area and showed us places of interest, as well as giving us advice and tips on other places in India.

We were touched by how caring Debra and the others in the house were - it really was a home from home. The breakfasts were also incredible and special thanks goes to the amazing and accommodating cooks! The house is scrupulously clean and beautifully decorated, and the roof terrace was a great place to cool down and have breakfast. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone visiting Varkala. Thank you to all at Kaiya House for making our first trip to India so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I and a friend of ours spent six nights at Kaiya House in February 2012. This is a lovely place to stay with high standard and a fantastic hostess, Debra. She made us feel very welcome from the very first moment and she always attended to our needs. Conversations with her were always so easy and delightful. Everything worked perfectly during our stay. The beach was certainly within walking distance but if you didn't want to walk Debra called Appu, a very nich rickshaw driver. At Debra's suggestion we made several interesting excursions around Varkala with Appu. When returning from the beach or from an excursion we were always offered something to drink. It was so nice and relaxing sitting on one of the terrasses with a glas of juice. We really enjoyed staying here and didn't want to leave. Kaiya House deserves more that five points.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ubkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had initially booked for 2 nights and stayed 4 in the end. The room was lovely and Debra very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. The rooftop space is a really nice area to sit out. It is a quick and cheap tuk tuk ride (or approx 10 minute walk) to the restaurants and beach. We also did the cooking class with Pema which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LB77756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

You can do cheaper, but you may not do better for your money's worth. It was like staying at a friend's of a friend. Without being intrusive, Debra always provided tips and suggestions to optimize our stay. Efficient and friendly staff complemented by interesting and open guests. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panayioti76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.6 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#14 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiya House

Property: Kaiya House
Address: Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from Varkala's famous cliff tops, this lovely boutique hotel, Kaiya House, offers the traveler a calm and beautiful environment to enjoy the sights and sounds of India in a relaxed atmosphere. The 7 guest rooms all have a theme from different parts of the world ranging from the African room to the Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Native American and English.Suraj and Debra offer a unique experience of India in this family run business. Babuchi, Ledah and Ajit are there to take care of the guests needs and to provide a traditional Kerala breakfast. Other options would also be available with advance notice.Also available are private Pilates classes, yoga by appointment and massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiya House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing