We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'10nxx kaiya house'”
Review of Kaiya House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kaiya House
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'10nxx kaiya house'”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

debra's kaiya house is a fantastic place to stay
Beautiful decoration and a roof area is great place to relax .
Serves the delicious breakfast at roof..
All the best for the future ..
A nice place recommended to stay in varkala

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajveersinghrathore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you so much for saying you would recommend us and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
192
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

As has been said many times on this site, Debra's Kaiya House is a fantastic place to stay and at such a modest price too. Rooms maybe simple but they are very comfortable, spotless and beautifully decorated and the roof area is a great spot for relaxing.
The staff are friendly and willing to do anything for you, particularly Debra herself, who is happy (I think!) to stay up and wait for your return home after midnight or awake early to see you off on a trip to the backwaters (or cancel it if you are feeling too tired!). She'll call you a rickshaw at any hour, offer recommendations for trips and provide refreshments at all times. We were very sad to leave!

Russell & Carly

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RUSSELL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
I was most happy to stay up and wait for your return after midnight! That tells me you were out enjoying your time in Varkala. You were sad to and I was sad to see you leave. Hopefully we'll meet again and I thank you for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Staying at Kaiya house was a special and memorable experience for us. We travelled in Southern india for 9 weeks and our stay here was definitely a highlight of the trip. We enjoyed great chats with our host, Debra, delicious breakfasts on the rooftop terrace and the best mattresses you're likely to come across in India. The guesthouse is located about 10 minutes walk from the north or south clifftop where most of the action is, but we actually enjoyed being away from the main thoroughfare and enjoyed the stroll ' back home'.Debra is a great host, with helpful tips about the area and has managed to create that 'home away from home' feel .
We stayed at quite a few lovelhy places but this was our favourite. Thanks Debra

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumbalumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

After going through the reviews, we planned short drive from Trivandrum and stayed a night in Kaiya house. True to the reviews, Debra is a wonderful host, made efforts to make our stay comfortable. A nice place recommended to stay in varkala.
///r_v_k

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r_v_k_v_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I had a wonderful relaxing start to my three week trip around India at Kaiya House. The wonderful Debra was incredibly helpful and friendly from the outset. From arranging a driver to be there for me at my very early arrival into Trivandrum to giving me a walking tour around Varkala helping me get my bearings, she really made sure my every need was catered for. The rooms are very clean, beautifully furnished (I stayed in the India room) and the rooftop is a wonderful spot to relax, check your internet (there is wifi) and birdwatch. Oh and Babachi cooks incredibly tasty Keralan food for breakfast. I cannot recommend Kaiya House enough. Thanks again Debra for a wonderful stay in Varkala!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missnunziatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Kaiya house is a wonderful guest house, each room is nicely decorated by Debra, who takes great pride in giving giving you personal service. The rooms are spotless, nb great mattresses, breakfast is rich and varied. The covered roof terrace is great for yoga, bird watching, sun set and relaxing with other guests. Debra is a fantastic host who takes good care of you and helps you with everything you may need regarding excursions, festivals and traveladvice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Kaiya House was our first port of call in India and Debra couldn't have given us a warmer welcome. She took us around the local area and showed us places of interest, as well as giving us advice and tips on other places in India.

We were touched by how caring Debra and the others in the house were - it really was a home from home. The breakfasts were also incredible and special thanks goes to the amazing and accommodating cooks! The house is scrupulously clean and beautifully decorated, and the roof terrace was a great place to cool down and have breakfast. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone visiting Varkala. Thank you to all at Kaiya House for making our first trip to India so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiya House

Property: Kaiya House
Address: Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from Varkala's famous cliff tops, this lovely boutique hotel, Kaiya House, offers the traveler a calm and beautiful environment to enjoy the sights and sounds of India in a relaxed atmosphere. The 7 guest rooms all have a theme from different parts of the world ranging from the African room to the Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Native American and English.Suraj and Debra offer a unique experience of India in this family run business. Babuchi, Ledah and Ajit are there to take care of the guests needs and to provide a traditional Kerala breakfast. Other options would also be available with advance notice.Also available are private Pilates classes, yoga by appointment and massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiya House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing