We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you Debra :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaiya House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kaiya House
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you Debra :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We had a wonderful two weeks at Kaiya House in March. Debra was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, from the e mail communication organising our holiday to arranginga taxi to collect us from the airport, not to mention waiting up to greet us at some ridiculous hour!

Kaiya House was delightful with lots of beautiful artwork and furnishings and so lovely and clean. We loved the roof terrace, enjoying chatting to others over breakfast, watching the tree top wildlife and romantic candlelit evenings up there too.

Debra was so lovely providing us with lots of information to help us explore and discover the delights of Kerela. We had an amazing time, seeing and experiencing some wonderful things. We were so lucky as there were festivals and celebrations round every corner and we met some wonderful generous people.

We would recommend Kaiya house whole heartedly and hope that others get to enjoy this wonderful place.

Room Tip: They are all individual but beautiful, with comfy beds too
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
185
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at kaiya house for almost 3 weeks late December / January . Debra and all the staff were absolutely brilliant and anything we wanted or wanted to know was never a problem. The local information and advise was accurate and very usefull. Myself and Debra even had a trip to the local garden centre (bus mans holiday) but I left my anorak back at kaiya. Breakfast was good and I'm told they served excellent coffee (Julie and Judy). We met lots of interesting people in our time there and was treated to some entertainment from Debra's friends from the states lol. Massage was great too and everyone we spoke to all agreed how good it was. The roof top was great and spent many nights on the gin and tonics soaking up the relaxing atmosphere and watching the giant bats. All in all it was absolutely brilliant thanks to you all at kaiya. I must mention arpu the tuk tuk driver just call him and he's there waiting with a smile, he even let me have a drive from the helipad. Thanks once more to you all, we had a great time and would highly recommend. John Julie and Judy.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank johnsplantsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our time in Varkala was absolutely wonderful. I can't say enough about how our
homestay at Debra's beautiful home, Kaiya House set the tone for our vibrant,
adventurous, yet relaxing vacation. Debra and her staff were very kind and caring.
The spirit at Kaiya House is positive and inviting. We look forward to another home
stay with Debra.

Room Tip: We had the pleasure of staying a few days in the Chinese suite and the African suite. Both were beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I'm happy to join the parade of glowing reviews for Kaiya House. My wife and I recently stayed with Debra and staff for five outstanding days, and we found Kaiya House as clean, comfortable, and welcoming as the majority of the previous reviews indicate. Debra had our comfort always in mind and was the most gracious host and friend throughout, providing everything from a generous town tour on our first day, to great tips, friendly conversation, and expert assistance throughout our stay. My wife and I are already looking to plan a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bengu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed in some wonderful homestays on our trip but no doubt that Debra makes you feel Kaiya House is your home from home. Rooms lovely and really large rooftop terrace is fantastic place to have breakfast or sit and relax in the evening.Great to watch two woodpeckers busy nest (hole) building in next doors palm trees most days.
Guided orientation tour around Varkala on arrival very helpful as it was our first visit. Debra is an amazing fount of local knowledge, knows so many local people and you could tell how well she gets on with them. Easy to walk to most places but if being lazy might want mini cab to/from far end of North Cliff. Alcoholic drinks not always easiest things to get in parts of Kerala but no problem here with it being tourist orientated nearly all restaurants served wide range of alcohol.
Don't want to give any secrets away but thought Debra's guest review book was amazing, especially as it does not ask you for comments. You will have to stay there to find out more!
Nothing was too much trouble for Debra and the team so a big thank you to everyone, oh and Debra no more Chilies in the kitchen.
This is a must stay place, we stayed 4 nights and wished we had longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FORJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Western Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Kaiya House offers something a bit different. Tasteful decoration with Debra's collection of ethnic art combined with warm hospitality and service make this a great place to stay. It's located a bit away from the touristy clifftop strip which suited us but close enough to walk there or to the local village and Varkala town is a short tuk tuk ride away. Debra's introductory walk of the area is really helpful to get your bearings. Breakfast was very good (indian banana pancakes were yummy) and drinks are offered and available during the day if you want them. When we stayed there was a shortage of water but everything was done to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The Wi Fi is accessible in the common areas but was somewhat slow.

Room Tip: It is situated on quite a busy road so if you are a light sleeper you may want to ask for a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmcint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We were greeted with a warm welcome from Deborah and a thorough and reassuring tour of both the homestay and local area, with numerous tips and advice to make the most of our stay. Deborah attended to everything we might need throughout. We enjoyed what was easily the best massage we have ever had from her own masseur, attended a great local festival, and felt very in the know with her recommendations for restaurants and cafes. The rooms were basic but clean, and with Deborah’s attention to detail no mosquito was allowed inside! The homestay is a short walk from the beach, which we preferred as we felt less like tourists and more entrenched in Keralan life. The house itself was beautiful, with a lovely roof terrace for lounging over breakfast and reading in the evenings. This was one of our favourite places in Kerala, and we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.6 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiya House

Property: Kaiya House
Address: Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from Varkala's famous cliff tops, this lovely boutique hotel, Kaiya House, offers the traveler a calm and beautiful environment to enjoy the sights and sounds of India in a relaxed atmosphere. The 7 guest rooms all have a theme from different parts of the world ranging from the African room to the Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Native American and English.Suraj and Debra offer a unique experience of India in this family run business. Babuchi, Ledah and Ajit are there to take care of the guests needs and to provide a traditional Kerala breakfast. Other options would also be available with advance notice.Also available are private Pilates classes, yoga by appointment and massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiya House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing