We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for short visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
WoodHouse Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Woodhouse Beach Resort is good and budget hotel on seashore in varakala beach side .
staff is not professional but simple and helping .
good hotel to spend few days , visit around and sit in beach side hotel to sea sea waves and the huge sound of waves .
forget fear of limitless sea just relax and spend time with smile and happy mind .
walk along sea shore and buy food and gifts for your memories and get connected with internet cafe nearby .

Room Tip: rooms are almost similar but i think the ones on upper floor are good to see the sea view and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nsarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

We have spent a night there on 8th of April...This is a Nice Hotel...little away from the crowded Varkala Beach...this is actually the last hotel on the north cliff....one should have a walk along the sea side towards north from the hotel(opposite of the varkala beach direction) to feel the real beauty of Varkala...calm and stunning...lots of coconut trees all around...total peace prevails...we are very pleased to visit there.

There is no such sea facing room there ...from every room you can see a glimpse of see...rooms are good , clean with a good working A.C. and T.V.....at off season they only provide breakfast...Toast and omelette...there are few good restaurants near by from where one can have there meals... all in all good hotel to spend few days...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhrubajyoti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Good nice calm location. Airy cozy clean room. Bathroom little small but manageable. In Off season, Restaurant serves only breakfast Toast and Omelette (not much choice though), for food you ll have to go to nearby restaurants.

Service is average and located at one end of beach road so you have to walk a lot to reach Papasanam beach but if you like walking on beach road ogling and bargaining at shops which I liked, it is not much of a problem.

Opt for a sea view a/c room which is not exactly a sea view room but has a balcony that overlooks some part of sea.

Hotel has Black beach which is rocky and hence you cannot go. You need to walk some 15- 20 mins to reach Papasanam beach which is a sandy beach.

Room Tip: Choose sea view a/c room, no cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharma_Ashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I phoned up the night before to see if there were any available rooms, I was told I'd be called back... Didn't get called back.
Then the next day called again and was told 'yes there's a room with air con.' we arrived 30 mins later to be told 'there's no air con room available.' by this point we were pretty tired so just took the room anyway.
It wasn't that great, this room seemed to have a lot more mosquitos than anywhere else we stayed. ended up finding a better room for less money the next day.
The staff were friendly, that's about it.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The place is quiet and serene and the cottage gives a cozy feeling....Foods is good and views from restaurant are amazing...The staff is very good and goes an extra mile to make you feel good...the only downside was little far from main beach though there is another smaller beach right infront of hotel but it washes off early and got submerged in sea even in Feb starting....

Room Tip: Go for the cottage....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AManohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Woodhouse is at the north end of the Varkala tourist strip. Rooms are large and clean, great food is served either upstairs in a little restaurant or below the resort overlooking the sea. Food is good value. If you are wanting to swim at the beach it is a bit of a walk to the Varkala beach or to Black beach but we enjoye, but otherwise an ideal spot.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

First of all, Ashok Lama is an incredible guy. He's the guy you see carrying luggage, cleaning rooms, making sure you're happy, keeping the restaurant staff on task, really running the show. The manager is very nice. I saw him once, but saw Ashok every day all day.
The location is great. It's at the end of a row of resorts and closest to the water (the others go increasingly up a hill, so there's a cliff there), although not on the beach. A small quiet beach is just steps away and the popular "English" beach is nearby also.
The rooms are nice, clean and have a little patio with chairs that face the water. The restaurant is a favorite along the row and has 3 tiers. Great food. Great service!!
Plan to relax and enjoy the sound of crashing waves and some terrific food and service.

Room Tip: The cottages are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fortunateones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WoodHouse Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WoodHouse Beach Resort

Address: Thiruvambadi Beach Beach Road | Thiruvambadi, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £20 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WoodHouse Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your WoodHouse Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhouse Beach Hotel Varkala
WoodHouse Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing