We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it, the staff really make this place!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Breeze Beach Resort
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it, the staff really make this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

Originally booked here for 3 nights, but had such a great time that we extended to 5 nights which wasn't a problem. Great little restaurant on roof with delicious breakfasts and snacks. Rooms are clean and tidy and i enjoyed lazing on the hammocks with a beer and pakora! The staff here are fantastic, nothing is a problem, when we left they all came down to wave goodbye! Would go back in a shot, wouldn't consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkippaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

The hotel itself is ok - the rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. There are hammocks on the deck. But unfortunately that is about it. The location is a shocker. Once upon a time it may have been ok but now there is a huge construction site directly infront of the hotel between the hotel and the beach. Also as a solo traveller making my way through the unlit construction site to get home really was not very safe. It is about a 5min walk from the main cliffs but given there is so many accom options i would definitely recommend staying on the cliffs. Also it is about four times the price of the accom on the cliffs. I was really not happy that after one night I decided to move to a cliffside bamboo hut which was much better.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalAdventureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

stayed here for 3 nights from 6th - 9th April. Location is 2 mins walk from the busy sea side cliff area full of restaurants and shops, which is near enough to walk to but lovely to leave the hustle and bustle behind and relax on the Sea Breeze roof top restaurant with theri delicious smoothies and ginger and honey tea. We were three girls and felt very safe here. Rooms were spotless, beds very comfortable and shower, air con were fab. Compettivley priced considering how brand new the hotel is and the staff were very freindly and efficient. Hotel also organised pick up from Thriuvdrum airport and our Aruvedic treatments. Would def recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

This hotel is in Varkala, which is a mixed experience in itself, but this hotel is a gem.

Style: minimalist yet reasonably sizeable hotel, with decent facilities, hammocks and the sound of the sea. Friendly and helpful staff who happily changed our room and provided mosquito nets on request. Really liked the lack of focus on new age/ hippy/ "spiritual" type things.

Location: just off the cliffs in Varkala - which gives it a great location, as it's quiet and away from the main part. A very quick walk up to the cliffs past the amazingly violent sea crashing into the rocks.

Cleanliness: extremely clean, with room cleaned daily, fresh towels and clean bathroom.

Rooms: we changed our room easily to get a better mosquito net and more space. Not a lot of storage, but rooms are spacious and quiet with incredibly comfortable beds that we loved sleeping in. Lots of outside space. Tons of hot water from the great shower.

Facilities: we didn't use the restaurant, but the hotel provided us with bottled water and arranged for an autorickshaw to take us to the train station. They also happily extended our stay by one night on request. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, whilst discreet. Internet was available.

Overall: definitely my first choice for any return to Varkala.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salo, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

I was backpacking in India with my boyfriend last November. After spending two weeks in all kinds of budget accommodations we reserved a room from Sea Breeze for five nights, but almost instantly wanted to stay there one night extra. We had a room in first floor without AC, think it was 1200 rs/night. There was a fan in the seiling and mosquito net too.

Service was excellent and we liked very much the rooftop restaurant. Yoga lessons and ayurvedic treatments can be reserved too from hotel staff. They weren't still at all pushy, like in some other places we were during our trip.

Hotel is very near the small Black Beach, we could here the waves to our room at night, which was quite nice. Sea Breeze was just what we needed in that moment. Quiet, well run, clean. Like a little paradise. Although it was one of the most expencive accomodations we stayed in, it was worth of every rupie.

  • Liked — Quiet, clean, good location and very good service
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vivera073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

At nearly the last minute, I learned that I would have approximately a five-day break from work, so quickly did my research on hotels. Sea Breeze felt right, and after a day around Varkala, realized it was the correct choice.
As this was the start of the monsoon period, hence the low season, the rates were very good at SB. I had been advised by a colleague and frequent traveller to India to go for the air conditioning as it was apt to be muggy at this time of year. For IR 1,200 a night I had a large AC room on the ground floor. It was lovely. It was quiet. Every morning I was also introduced to a different "Kerala breakfast," which was included in the RI 1,200 room rate.
Just a hop to the beach, and later a ten, or less, minute walk to my favourite restaurant at the beginning of the cliff area, the area afforded privacy as well as convenience.
Four days on the beach are a bit much for me, so with the suggestions and network of contacts of Baiju, the proxy-manager, I visited the local Temple Festival my first night, a train trip to Trivandrum the next day, an artist's workshop & small village, and then my last day swimming and walking the beaches. The area further past SB towards the mosque was also interesting; the fishing huts and boats as well as the pastel floral mosque of the fishermen.
Ending each day with dinner and chai at Trattorias was heaven. I waited 'til the sun set and the lights of the fishing boats appeared on the horizon & then back down to Sea Breeze with my own torch in hand.

  • Liked — The proximity to the sea; the peacefulness; the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josefina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

Spotted the Sea Breeze while we were spending time at Black Sands beach about 80m in front of the Sea Breeze. The hotel has only a prawn hatchery between it and the beach. Its 8 minutes walk to the Northern end of the North Cliff and one of the best places to eat in Varkala; Trattorias.

We stayed for 12 days in January and 18 days in March in a basic room.Cost was IR 2,250 for the first 6 days of our January stay and IR1,750 for the next 6 days. In March the rate had fallen to IR1,000 a day.All rates included breakfast and the hotel supplied a beach umbrella to take to the beach, worth IR150 a day.You may have to negotiate to get breakfast included.

Our room was on the ground floor,looked out on to a small patio with two cane chairs, then a wider patio that runs the length of the hotel; a hammock outside each room. The overhang ot the upper floors meant the room did not get direct sun and so stayed fairly cool.

The room had a high ceiling with a ceiling fan. The fan worked so well we had to switch it off as we were too cold. The room was bare with a very large double bed, mosquito net that was not needed when we were staying. Attached bathroom nicely tilled with Western WC and cold water shower.There was hot & cold water taps for a "bucket/bailer" shower. Storage was sparse.

The top floor had a restaurant under an awning. The breakfast, order anything you like from the ala carte menu Indian and Western, was excellent. The cook who comes from Darjeeling was very good and could produce most kinds of Indian Cuisine. We ate several times in the restaurant at night the food was so good, although they don't have the range of fresh fish at the cliff top restaurants.

There is a PC you can use on the landing next to the restaurant but it was rather slow but no worse than any other in Varkala.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly from Sunil, the manager to the hotel sweeper.

Given the cost of hotels in Varkala in season the Sea Breeze is great value for money. It's not 5 star luxury but its comfortable, clean and not expensive; every thing a pair of pensioners needed. Several other guests were staying for some time to do Yoga courses.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UKOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Signature Residence
Signature Residence
#43 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Guesthouse
Magnolia Guesthouse
#24 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Crest Resort
Tropical Crest Resort
#29 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#10 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Beach Resort

Property: Sea Breeze Beach Resort
Address: Thiruvambadi (Black Beach), Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the glistening shores of Varkala, Kerala, Sea Breeze is homely Beach Resort. Simple yet elegant and surrounded by nature’s bounty, take a dream vacation to the ultimate escape. Sea Breeze Beach Resort brings to you the beauty of Varkala and showcases the unique culture of Kerala. We have attractive tour packages that reveal to you the splendor of Kerala and efficient and hospitable staff to aid you in all your needs. With the shimmering sea shores to explore during the day and the setting sun to tuck you in bed at night, Sea Breeze is undoubtedly A Place to Unwind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing