We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Haiwa Beach Residency
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good place”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Nice place near Varkala cliff, just 10 minutes walking.Rooms are good,clean,comfortable bed and pillows,bath room was ok,with hot water.Home made breakfast was a treat.Also there was night security and reception lady was very helpful and caring.They also had massage service which i did not use.Over all we felt good and would go back again

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Do not expect resort facilities. The Haiwa Resort is a B&B with basic facilities. It has an unusual high standard of cleanliness. There are no gounds outside at present. But they do have massage on site & free wifi.
The rooms & bathrooms are clean & comfortable, a reasonable size. No toiletries in bathroom just soap.
Breakfast is taken on the upstairs terrace & is very good. Starting with fresh fruit salad, toast with jam & butter & eggs as you like. There are no other 8facilities for food or drink at the Haiwa. No restaurant or Tea & coffee making facilities. You have to go to the cafes on the cliff tops, which a good 7 mins walk along a dirty uneven track & quite terechorous in the pitch dark, the tracks are not sign posted. At night there are no lights at all, so take tourch with you.
The staff are very pleasant.
The Haiwa has a no shoe policy, shoes are removed before you enter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sproggz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The service is terrible. No phone, no tv, no person to help. we were told that breakfast would not be given. We had to show our booking which clearly mentioned breakfast. Breakfast served was of poor quality. They refused to clean our room, till we forced them. There were no mats, bathroom tiles were broken, hot water was not available. Hot water was provided for kids after begging for it. The place does not have a restaurent and the entire attitude of the staff was terrible. Avoid.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mayurihappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varkala hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I have a alternative title as it was so bad "a lot of NO's".
My wife & i are touring India for 3 months so are moving from one accomodation to another.
This accomodation is a not a place i would recommend to anybody becuase
There were cockroaches & other creepy crawlers in the bathroom a very strong smell of sewage, the sink tap kept falling apart & no light on top of the mirror to shave by.
The mattress was rock hard, the pillows were to soft, the air con unit leaked water straight onto the bed.
That with no tv. no fridge, no wi-fi in the bedrooms helps to make this hotel a good one to avoid at all costs.
Also because the place is built on a corner & many tuc tucs etc use the back side road the hotel is on as a short cut & they all love to use there horn as often as possible & the many crow birds that make much noise especially first thing in the morning around 6am ish all helps to go some other place & definatly not here.
lastly the beach is at least 15 minutes away & if you walk back to all the restaurants at night you will do so in the pitch back as there are no street lights.
Its a good idea to bring a torch.
Just DONT BOTHER there are loads of other better places.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Really helpful staff a nice bloke who gives you useful information and an excellent breakfast, location is good just a 5 minute walk to north cliff. The rooms could do with a revamp and a good clean no a/c. Overall good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Did not get pick up at the airport after having more than 4 emails to confirm pick up. Not most comfortable if you arrive at 4am. We end up taking taxi to the hotel. The room that we boked was good size with decent shower and great air conditioner. The only thing that we did not like was the bed. Very hard mattress that makes you sore everywhere.Could not get internet in our room but you could get one in common areas.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmacel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We booked over new year and paid 2700 rs on the 31st . unfortunately we did not like the room as other reviewers. I would raccomend to avoid the small ground floor rooms.Because they are ddark and smelly. It can even at this location become quite noisy in early morning due to guest leaving and arriving. The staff was friendly enough. In 3 days the room was never cleaned and when we left quite a bit of sand had accumulated. The worst was that the towels were dirty when we arrived. I guess it could be worse, but also better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbear83de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zion Villa Beach View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pulari Gardens
Pulari Gardens
#27 of 52 in Varkala
13 reviews
1.3 mi away
Magnolia Guesthouse
Magnolia Guesthouse
#26 of 52 in Varkala
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#19 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haiwa Beach Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haiwa Beach Residency

Property: The Haiwa Beach Residency
Address: North Cliff | Varkala,Trivandrum, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Haiwa Beach Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best. Your vacation starts here. Haiwa's hot spot on the beach.We have a choice of air conditioned and non air condition rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Haiwa Beach Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haiwa Beach Residency Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing