We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place with excellent host.”
Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Tree Heritage
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
“Great place with excellent host.”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Great quiet place to chill out with quality restaurant. Located on an unbusy strip of beach stone throw away from the Varkala's main beach. There's local fishernen every morning doing their traditional nets. Great to watch and you're welcome to join them if you dare.
Rooms are massive and nicely decorated.

Greetings Babu from Finland. You're the man. Whoop whoop!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skibbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BABU_THILAK, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 10 January 2016
Dear Friend,
Greetings From PalmTree Heritage,
Thanks for the spotting remark,we are extremely much happy that you have given us an exotic feedback.we hope you and your family are doing well.we are awaiting for the next best opportunity to serve you and your family .come visit us again for a memorable time.

warm Regards,
Babu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    213
    36
    12
    6
See reviews for
292
369
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

This was a wonderful little spot: gorgeous beach, clean & spacious rooms, relaxed atmosphere & delicious fresh seafood for every meal. 2 friends and I stayed here for 3 nights, and it just wasn't long enough. The hotel isn't located on the cliff where the majority of hotels, shops and restaurants are, but that is part of its appeal. Babu is a terrific host & does everything he can to make his guests feel welcome, relaxed and happy. There were three of us traveling together and Babu provided a second (comfortable) bed in our room so we could all stay together. The small beach in front of the hotel is lovely, quiet & clean. The hotel is small, so we really almost felt like we had the place to ourselves. The water was perfect (though some rough waves!) and the sand was lovely. We dined at the hotel restaurant right on the water for all of our meals and had delicious fresh seafood & yummy drinks. Some of the staff doesn't speak great English, but Babu is always around to help and the setting is so peaceful and beautiful that it hardly seems a big deal. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a gorgeous beach setting, a relaxed atmosphere and some yummy food right on the beach!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdnycgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BABU_THILAK, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 10 January 2016
Dear Friend,
Greetings From PalmTree Heritage,
Thanks for the spotting remark,we are extremely much happy that you have given us an exotic feedback.we hope you and your family are doing well.we are awaiting for the next best opportunity to serve you and your family .come visit us again for a memorable time.

warm Regards,
Babu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We stayed our first 3 nights in India at the Palm tree Heritage and because of the quailty, also the last 3 nights. The location is perfect, a little away from the hussle and bussle of the cliffs but still easily close enough to walk. It has it's own private beach, which is clean, secluded and very quiet. You can watch the fishermen pull in their morning catch whilst you eat your breakfast. The rooms are very clean, with good sized comfy double beds and quiet efficient air con. Babu is a great owner who readily helps you plan any part of your trip and gives you the low down on where to go in the area. The restaurant is good also. Having recently changed hands it is now run by Babu, who cooks exceptional sea food, much better than that served on the cliffs. Although a little pricey for the area, it is well worth the money purely for the comfort factor and how quiet it is. I also hear that Babu is building a pool and a new honey moon suite named the 'Minchin suite'.....aren't you Babu.......

Room Tip: Barter for all taxi/rickshaws!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieminchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BABU_THILAK, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 10 January 2016
Dear Friend,
Greetings From PalmTree Heritage,
Thanks for the spotting remark,we are extremely much happy that you have given us an exotic feedback.we hope you and your family are doing well.we are awaiting for the next best opportunity to serve you and your family .come visit us again for a memorable time.

warm Regards,
Babu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We stayed at the Palm Tree for 3 days in March.
It is really beach hotel and not just for it´s name like many hotels on the cliff.
The Odayam beach is small but very clean. Even the sea water seems cleaner than in Papanasam beach.
The hotel rooms are really beautiful, well furnished, very spacious and there are soft and large beds. Perfect for honeymoon!
Bathrooms are even too big, maybe. In our bathroom there was a bath and a shower also.
All balconis are spacious with comfortable chairs and unforgettable sea views. Sunsets are amazing, naturally, but it is interesting to watch the fishermen in the morning also.
Breakfast selection was surprisingly good. The coctail menu was also impressive.
Babu, one of the owners, is extremely helpful and friendly.
The Palm Tree heritage is the pearl of Varkala!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaMia020410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BABU_THILAK, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 10 January 2016
Dear Friend,
Greetings From PalmTree Heritage,
Thanks for the spotting remark,we are extremely much happy that you have given us an exotic feedback.we hope you and your family are doing well.we are awaiting for the next best opportunity to serve you and your family .come visit us again for a memorable time.

warm Regards,
Babu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Palm tree was great. Fantastic location, good rooms, and Babu the manager was excellent. The restaurant could be better, although if you are not too bothered about having a big choice (and you like seafood) its not bad and there are lots of other places around to eat. Much quieter than the cliff in Varkala and in my estimation a much better place to stay far away from the crowds.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDGLYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BABU_THILAK, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 10 January 2016
Dear Friend,
Greetings From PalmTree Heritage,
Thanks for the spotting remark,we are extremely much happy that you have given us an exotic feedback.we hope you and your family are doing well.we are awaiting for the next best opportunity to serve you and your family .come visit us again for a memorable time.

warm Regards,
Babu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at Palm Tree heritage for 2 nights as part of a 10 day trip around Kerala. We loved this place and were so pleased we found it. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the clifftops during the day (with arguably its own little beach which they share with a couple of small resorts) but only a 5 min walk to the start of the clifftop for the evening entertainment.

Babu - -the manager - is fantastic. He made us feel not only incredibly welcome and like we were 'home' but also went out of his way to help us make changes to our iterinary, flights etc. A really genuine guy. Overall its just a great place to hang out and relax with a really friendly atmosphere. Definaltey recommend to others

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BABU_THILAK, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 10 January 2016
Dear Friend,
Greetings From PalmTree Heritage,
Thanks for the spotting remark,we are extremely much happy that you have given us an exotic feedback.we hope you and your family are doing well.we are awaiting for the next best opportunity to serve you and your family .come visit us again for a memorable time.

warm Regards,
Babu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2011

In this place it is easy to enjoy peece, comfort and a very clean and quiet surrounding. The service is good and you get support where you need it. You are not to close to the busy parts of Varkala but close enough to get what you need whenever you want. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. You can enjoy sunset directly from the room or from the very close beach. Very romantic and special.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKober_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BABU_THILAK, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 10 January 2016
Dear Friend,
Greetings From PalmTree Heritage,
Thanks for the spotting remark,we are extremely much happy that you have given us an exotic feedback.we hope you and your family are doing well.we are awaiting for the next best opportunity to serve you and your family .come visit us again for a memorable time.

warm Regards,
Babu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.4 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Property: Palm Tree Heritage
Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing