We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable delight”
Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Tree Heritage
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable delight”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Where do we start... beautiful location, beautiful rooms, beautiful private beach, beautiful food and most of all beautiful people.

We stayed at PTH October 3-8 with our two children (age 3 and 6) and our family from New Zealand (parents and Aunty). We all had the most amazing stay. Sitting on the edge of Odayam beach, eating our meals and watching the day go by. It was magic!

The staff at PTH went out of their way to ensure everything was perfect for us and they took extra special care of our two girls. The lovely Gopal always had an eye on them to ensure they where safe and having fun. He is an amazing person and goes that extra mile for all of the quests. He played with the girls on the beach, showed them chapati making and let them see the daily fish catch!

Babu, our host, has built the best accommodation in Varkala! We felt so happy we found PTH on trip advisor. There is nothing like it in Varkala. PTH is an unforgettable delight. We look forward to our return visit.

Thanks!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
thanks a lot.
it is so nice of you.and we are really happy to be a part in making your stay a pleasant one.
we will try our level best to live up to the expectations and try to improve constantly.
Gopal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    215
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
294
370
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We searched for a nice place and when the driver showed us Palm Tree Heritage, after seeing other hotels, we knew this is the right place. Private beach. Excellent rooms, wifi, good food. We did not want to leave the hotel.
It is 15 minutes walk from the cliff (main touristic center). Not cheap but worth every rupee. Babu, the owner and Gopal, the manager, did everything to make us happy and to look after all our needs.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avinadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

After two months in India, this was the perfect retreat. It was away from the beaten path a little more south, and waking up to the ocean AND the call to prayer from a nearby mosque was too beautiful to pass up.. Babu was the most gracious host on e could ask for....very helpful with all our questions and request.
The accommodations were luxurious and spotlessly clean, with views directly onto the ocean. The food was AMAZING. We ended up eating there nearly every night with their fresh catches of seafood that kept the menu always changing. Joseph, our waiter, was the best, and would make anything happen. If I ever go to Varkala again, I wouldn't even consider staying at another place. It felt like home in paradise.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1982blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is the perfect hotel for those who wishes the best standard of rooms, perfect cooked food, helpful and friendly staff, tips and suggestions on where to go in Varkala, a "private" beach just outside the door.

I was there for 4 nights with friends and also took the boat trip arranged by the owner Babu. Babu is a very friendly and service-minded man who can arrange anything you wish. Just ask him and he will say "no problem".

The rooms are clean and have really high standards with the most comfy beds ever. The AC is nice for hot days, so is also the fridge. Outside the room there is a nice veranda to sit on. The bathroom is huge and the shower is luxurious.

There is a nice walk to the cliff where you find various shops and restaurants, it takes about ten minutes, but after the sun set, ask Babu to send for a rickshaw as it gets really dark.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We reached out to Babu to help us navigate our first few days in Kerala and everything was just so wonderful. Arriving at crazy Cochin airport in the rain at 4AM, it was a spiritual moment to see a taxi driver with your name on a placard. Everything else was just magical, on-time, and beyond expectation. We first had a brief stay in Fort Cochin (center of town and close to everything), a luxurious night in an Alleppey backwaters boat, and transport from Alleppey to Odayam. Palm Tree Heritage is very new and appears like it is being thoughtfully restored. The staff are kind and attentive, the room was large and clean, the internet worked (!), and the night sky...wow. As a New Yorker where the sky just kind of browns, I've never seen so many stars - the whole Milky Way was visible. Further afield (we wandered for hours each day on foot), North Cliff is kind of annoying but very difficult to avoid, South Cliff is sleepy, and the other direction is natural and unspoiled by resort culture. We ate almost all meals right at Palm Tree - the highlights being the seafood. Everything is hygienically prepared, so you never have to worry about the fruit or the salad. Just a wonderful time, thank you Babu!

Room Tip: Get an A/C room if you can afford it. That just goes for India in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twistedfirestarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed here in low season with my girlfriend for four nights and it took a lot of will-power to leave. We had a choice of two beaches to ourselves each day and were looked after like family. Babu and his staff are totally informal but have paid every attention to detail in making their home, your home too. The rooms are beautiful, traditional and luxurious. Everything WORKS, and I mean everything. The kitchen staff will make you food at any time and even give you a shout when the fresh prawns come in so you can eat them while they are practically still moving.
I happen to travel a lot for work and have stayed in an uncountable number of hotels. Simply put, this is a benchmark in the dreamy, secluded and 'family-run' beach retreat everyone dreams of booking.
Do yourself a favour and make the trip. I would say our experience was heightened due to it being low season and so very quiet on the tourist front but even in high season, there aren't enough rooms for this to ever feel any less personal and private.

Oh, and look out for Johnny the cutest dog you will ever meet.

Thanks again to the staff, and sorry it has taken me so long to write this review.

C

Room Tip: All rooms looked great. We had what can only be described as ;the palace room'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavcha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We just returned from a six week journey around India and we really enjoyed our stay at Palm Tree. We contacted the owner Babu to help with our trip itinerary and coordinate our transfers in Kerala. He patiently answered our numerous emails and took care of all bookings prior to our arrival. We had a great English speaking driver in an spotlessly clean AC car who picked us up at the airport in Kochi and drove through Kerala over the next few days until we reached our last destination in Trivandrum. Babu also arranged our hotels in Kerala including Tea Bunglow, Muthoot Houseboats and his own Palm Tree.
Please do not hesitate to use his services, he was very professional, never pushy, very knowledgeable of the area, and we were happy with his prices which we paid after our arrival. His arrangements were smooth and all the properties were excellent in service, hospitality, and decor.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Palm tree It's a wonderful property overlooking the beach The rooms are reallly spacious clean and decorated with beautiful carved furniture and amazing views. The hotel is a great value and the freshly caught seaood for dinner was delicious.
Babu I can't thank you enough, we had an awesome time and we really hope we get a chance to visit with you again. I highly recommend Babu's services, the warm, caring staff, and the eco friendly hotel is a commendable example for those in the area. Do not hesitate to stay here. It's a gem!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hurdygurdy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
0.9 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Property: Palm Tree Heritage
Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing