We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Tree Heritage
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Delightful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We had a three-day family gathering at Palm Tree Heritage in last week of October. Babu had made arrangements to pick us up at the airport.

Upon arrival, we were impressed by the waterfront location and the cleanliness of the rooms. The PTH team was very friendly and certainly aimed to please. The food was excellent and the restaurant had a delightful ambiance. I loved the authentic Kerala cuisine made with fresh vegetables and fresh seafood.

Babu helped us book a wonderful houseboat at Alleppey and an excellent local Ayurvedic Spa as well. He is a great resource for planning short local trips as well.

Babu, Gopal, and the rest of the team did a great job. We would love to stay at PTH again if our travels take us to the Kerala coast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlSr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
thank for you great review,these kinds of support is the source of inspiration for us.the credit goes to the whole team of staff.and we are happy to have such a team.
gopal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    208
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
280
365
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

This was a wonderful place to finish our hectic trip to India. The rooms was huge, with massive bathrooms and such attention to detail. I loved the use of local designs and the carved wooden doors throughout. Palm Tree also has a beach right next to the property that is calm after the hustle and bustle of Varkala beach. The food at the restaurant (open all day) was delicious, simple and fresh. Thanks to Babu, Gopal and the rest of the wonderful staff for making our trip so relaxing.

Room Tip: Get a beach facing room if you can. Great view of the sunset at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hkknm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Wonderful place with private beach. Perfect if you want to get away from the busy Varkala beach! Great value for money!
The owner, Babu, can help you with just about anything!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Where do we start... beautiful location, beautiful rooms, beautiful private beach, beautiful food and most of all beautiful people.

We stayed at PTH October 3-8 with our two children (age 3 and 6) and our family from New Zealand (parents and Aunty). We all had the most amazing stay. Sitting on the edge of Odayam beach, eating our meals and watching the day go by. It was magic!

The staff at PTH went out of their way to ensure everything was perfect for us and they took extra special care of our two girls. The lovely Gopal always had an eye on them to ensure they where safe and having fun. He is an amazing person and goes that extra mile for all of the quests. He played with the girls on the beach, showed them chapati making and let them see the daily fish catch!

Babu, our host, has built the best accommodation in Varkala! We felt so happy we found PTH on trip advisor. There is nothing like it in Varkala. PTH is an unforgettable delight. We look forward to our return visit.

Thanks!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
thanks a lot.
it is so nice of you.and we are really happy to be a part in making your stay a pleasant one.
we will try our level best to live up to the expectations and try to improve constantly.
Gopal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We searched for a nice place and when the driver showed us Palm Tree Heritage, after seeing other hotels, we knew this is the right place. Private beach. Excellent rooms, wifi, good food. We did not want to leave the hotel.
It is 15 minutes walk from the cliff (main touristic center). Not cheap but worth every rupee. Babu, the owner and Gopal, the manager, did everything to make us happy and to look after all our needs.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avinadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

After two months in India, this was the perfect retreat. It was away from the beaten path a little more south, and waking up to the ocean AND the call to prayer from a nearby mosque was too beautiful to pass up.. Babu was the most gracious host on e could ask for....very helpful with all our questions and request.
The accommodations were luxurious and spotlessly clean, with views directly onto the ocean. The food was AMAZING. We ended up eating there nearly every night with their fresh catches of seafood that kept the menu always changing. Joseph, our waiter, was the best, and would make anything happen. If I ever go to Varkala again, I wouldn't even consider staying at another place. It felt like home in paradise.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1982blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is the perfect hotel for those who wishes the best standard of rooms, perfect cooked food, helpful and friendly staff, tips and suggestions on where to go in Varkala, a "private" beach just outside the door.

I was there for 4 nights with friends and also took the boat trip arranged by the owner Babu. Babu is a very friendly and service-minded man who can arrange anything you wish. Just ask him and he will say "no problem".

The rooms are clean and have really high standards with the most comfy beds ever. The AC is nice for hot days, so is also the fridge. Outside the room there is a nice veranda to sit on. The bathroom is huge and the shower is luxurious.

There is a nice walk to the cliff where you find various shops and restaurants, it takes about ten minutes, but after the sun set, ask Babu to send for a rickshaw as it gets really dark.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.4 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#7 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.5 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Property: Palm Tree Heritage
Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing