We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Place Would Go Back In An Instant!!”
Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Tree Heritage
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
manchester uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Splendid Place Would Go Back In An Instant!!”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed for five nights at Palm Tree Heritage what a lovely relaxing place to end our first trip to India.The room we had was spacious and spotlessly clean and the maids did a fantastic job in making the room up.The restaurant was clean and the service was great the staff very help full.Babu the manager was very helpful and booked us taxis and things,and even managed to find a sandal I lost(a local dog took a shine to it and decided it may be edible,my own fault for leaving them out all night)but all was well at the end.

The beach was peacefull and clean and we had great fun in the sea dodging the breaking waves.The cliffs at varkala were about a 15 minute walk away so you could still hit all the restaurants and shops etc but return to the peace of Green Palm Heritage.It was like a little oasis.We intend visiting India again and if we are in the area we will without doubt stay at Greenpalm Heritage again and thank you for a nice stay and some fond memories!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sifika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    216
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
295
370
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have been back from India from over a month and I would go back to Palm Tree Heritage tomorrow.
We travelled with two small boys (ages 3 & 5) and it was great for them.
We had a two room accommodation which was spacious and kept very clean, and the first place we stayed with mosquito nets on the bed (fantastic). The terrace was nice and big and you could sit out and watch the sunset on the ocean. (you could probably throw pebbles in the sea you are that close to the beach).
The staff were amazing, (thank you Babu).
The restaurant served delicious food, in the evening you could pick your own fish/tiger prawns etc We stayed 7 nights and did not go anywhere else. (we did leave for a few hours for a festival and one more time for a head massage).
Complete relaxation.
The children loved the beach, the sea, the garden, the room, the restaurant, the staff. Which made this the perfect place for a family. There was no through traffic to worry about and they were easy to see no matter where they were.
If you are after a perfect beach break, quiet, relaxing - go here!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellykbhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riehen, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in march 2012 An excellent beach with fantastic waves. The hotel has nice cool and clean rooms. The restaurant had perfect food and the staff was very friendly. I will definitively come here again.

Room Tip: rooms 101 and 102 have the best view over the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 157henk157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Western Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here for few nights in January 2012. The beach is so beautiful and quiet, we liked the fact that there is a short walking distance to the main cliff. The staff is very friendly and they really want to make sure that your holiday is just perfect. The rooms are nice and clean. It would have been nice to stay longer! Next time then. Thank you Babu and everybody else!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We spent a blissful couple of days at the Palm Tree. This place has everything you could possibly want to unwind and completely chill out.
The location is amazing. A small, clean, uncrowded beach away from the main drag in Varkala. Our room was spacious, clean and very well furnished with a large veranda to relax on. The staff are great. They are friendly and attentive in a nice, low key way. They worked very hard to make sure everything was taken care of for us. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is also excellent. We ate there every evening, choosing from the fresh fish on offer.
This was the perfect beach holiday and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djr69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

After spending a few nights on the rather touristy cliffs of Varkala we accidentally found our way to Odayam Beach and the Palm Tree Heritage. What a difference that made! No jewellery shops, no batik t-shirts, no pumping music. Just the pure sound of the waves.

The Palm Tree's main building was fully booked, so the manager asked us to spend one night in the brand new additional building a few hundred meters down the beach. That wasn't such a bad thing as this place is very clean, very quite and comfortable, too. The room was spacious enough and air conditioned. Ask for the room with a balcony! It's only 50m away from the beach, sitting there and watching the sun set over the Arabian Sea was one of the highlights of our trip.

Even there was space available in the main building after one night we decided to stay in the neighbour building as we thought it's superb (no internet here though but if you really need to go online while you are in paradise just walk a few meters down to the Palm Tree's restaurant, free high speed internet connection there. It even works when you are lying on the beach).

The quality of the food in the restaurant was brilliant. Very authentic and the first time we had some spiciness in our meals since we arrived in Varkala. In the morning you could see the chef walking down to the beach where the fishermen put the fresh fish directly into his pot.
Ok, the service sometimes took a little while but who cares when you got such views to enjoy! And it also was nice to chat with the very friendly waiters (thanks Mubarak, you did a great job!) in the meanwhile, who are trying really hard to make you feel comfortable.
In the evening you can even dine under the starry sky, right on the beach, just beautiful.

For lunch we would also like to recommend "Spice", the restaurant next door. Try the delicious prawn chapati wrap and the carrot lime juice with ginger. Again, it took a while to get served, but you should blame yourself for not being relaxed enough, not the waiters.

The beach is lots of fun. It was incredibly clean and never really packed with people. The fishermen are renting out sun umbrellas. If they are not there, just ask the PTH manager, he will call them and they will come in no time. The waves sometimes can be quite rough but they break really close to the beach, so if you go a bit further it's perfect for a long swim.

So altogether the perfect place to unwind. No cars, no mobile phones ringing, no crowds of backpackers. Not really anything to complain about (maybe the toilet in the restaurant could do with some refurbishment?) and we hope that the management does not listen to other reviewers and puts TV's into the rooms. Why would you need a TV in such an peaceful and relaxed environment???

A big "Thank you" to Babu and his extremely helpful staff. You are doing a great job, keep it like that! We will definitely come back!

Roxy & Carsten, London

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DistUrban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you Roxy and carsten.your reviews just mentioned everything that we have got here and Its giving so much pleasure for us that our service and friendly staffs hospitality made you in to be in a joyful surrounding.We wish to see you people again with us in future and we will establish more and more services to give our guests a wonderful and memorable holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just seeing the photo again as I write this review makes me want to be there again! The Palm Tree Heritage is a fantastic place to stay in Varkala. The accommodation is very high quality and to go to sleep and wake up to the sound of the Arabian Sea is really special. Babu and his team are excellent - nothing is too much trouble and everything is done in a friendly, laid back way that fits perfectly with the relaxed vibe of the place. The food is really good and better than in many of the restaurants on the North Cliff which tend towards a mediocre Westernised version of Keralan food. One of the highlights for me was sitting on the verandah of our room watching eagles swoop in a clear blue sky above the sea. Definitely a place we want to go back to again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you carol for your nice sharing of your happiest moments in this review.We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed a lot with us here.The good experiences that you people share is our encouragement to make our services more by adding more amenties to our property.see you again with us here in our little paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.4 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
294 reviews
1.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Property: Palm Tree Heritage
Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing