We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our travel to Varkala, Kerala”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Tree Heritage
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Trivandrum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our travel to Varkala, Kerala”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We selected this resort based on the reviews we read in trip advisor. We went to palm tree with a question mark how it will be.

But our stay for 3 days really was really good. The room and bath room was very spacious, clean and sparkling. The room we stayed was sea facing and it provided a steady flow of good refreshing wind as well a fantastic view. The best thing we liked about the resort is right in front is a beach which is used mostly by resort occupants, which helped us to be in the sea for un-limited hours. More than us, our son had a real good time on the beach sand. Along the side of the resort there is beach trek tracks which is must for anyone to stay here. You can spend hours walking along the beach side and enjoy the view from various cliff's.

Along with rooms, Service of this resort really stands out. Resort team is always ready to go the extra mile to make the customers very happy. We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality, good food (team has customized this to our needs for our son). Special thanks to Babu, Bobby and their always smiling team to make our stay worth memorable.

Our experience has made up our mind that when we come back to Varkala, we don’t need to look for another place to stay. Way you go “Palm tree heritage”.

Cheers,
-Vimal & Family

Room Tip: ask specifically for sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vimalsankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
thank a lot for all the compliments.it is a work of a motivated team and reviews like this encourage our team.
thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    212
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
283
366
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Visited Palm Tree Heritage for 8 days in October.

The quality of the rooms is exceptional at this price, both externally & internally.
There are only 8 rooms so be sure to book in advance.

Palm Tree Heritage is on Odayam Beach away from the Cliff, but it's just a short rickshaw ride to the centre if you want to try different restaurants in the evening. For a change of beach it's just a 10 minute walk along the coast to Black Beach.

There is a feeling of exclusivity, as there are just 8 rooms with a small garden, and a beach shared with the fishermen. Make sure you get up early enough to watch them fish from the beach. I don't understand their language, but I'm sure some of the exchanges are non too polite.

As there are more staff than guests the service is excelent. Bobbi and his team are literally tripping over themselves to make sure everything is O.K. Gupal the manager is always on hand with information or sugestions for trips etc. Babu is the owner and is a font of information. There, that's all the name checks done.

when the new restaurant is completed this place will be even more special than it already is.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview. 1 room doesn't have this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJK_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Thank you for the wonder full elaborate review.the credit goes to all our team.we will thrive hard to keep it up.thanks a million.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel. From the minute we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for Gupal and his staff.

The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. While we were sitting on our balcony, we were approached and told that we just need to tell a staff member and they'll go across, get us some drinks while we sit and read.

While we were swimming in the "essentially private" beach, a staff member noticed that we didn't have towels and brought some down unprompted. And so it went on. We felt welcome and everything was perfect.

The place is right on the beach and it was easy to enjoy the wonderful sunsets.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben_goes_global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
thank you Ben,give my Regards to Jackie.the restaurant will be shifted soon so nobody would have to run across to fetch the beer.we are and will try our best to live up to the high standards you guys have set for us.
thanks again for a review like this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Visited Palm Tree heritage for a short 1 day trip.What stands out most is the enthusiasam and energy of Bobby,Babu and Reji.They were excellent in satisfying all our needs.Room is spacious,clean and you have small "private" beach to enjoy.View from the room is very nice.Food tastes good.They informed that the restuarant is under renovation and i think it is high time they have a good restaurant at this place.The current restaurant is only a short term solution and it needs to improve a lot on cleanliness.This is rated as one of the top 25 in india,but don't compare it with other's in the ranking like the Taj,Oberoi and Orange county.They all are in another league and they charge you too in another league.This is a small resort,but has very good potential to be a good one and most improtantly they serve you very well.So set your expectations properly before you pack your bags to this place.But am sure you won't be disappointed.I am rating this only 4 as i expect them to have a better clean restaurant next time i visit this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
thank you for the feedback.as you said the we already realized that restaurant has to be clean and spotless.sorry for the inconvenience,thats the reason we are building the new one (well renovating the old one).this restaurant where you had food was just a makeshift one.with in a week or so .
the next time you come we are sure you would accept our restaurant for taste and also for cleanliness and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This place is a hidden gem! A bit up the coast from Varkala is this quiet and tranquil resort where the staff can't do enough for you. They're so laid back, letting you enjoy your stay and then any question or queries they can't do enough to help! It's a great location and the views are stunning.

The rooms are clean and well-kept, plus the food we had was delicious!

Great place - would go back in an instant!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
thanks a lot for the review.it is so encouraging for our team and it boosts up our energy to live up to the standards and to head in the right direction of development.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This place is incredible!! The staff is extremely helpful--will recommend yoga, massage and restaurants. They are constantly checking in with you to make sure you have everything you need--I even saw one of them go to the store to buy a guest a new cell phone charger! And, they bought my friend some shampoo. They will bring you food and drink to your deck chair. The restaurant is excellent with very fresh fish, and they are in the process of building a new restaurant and a swimming pool. They set-us up with a reliable driver to take us to the airport in TVR for a reasonable price. The owner is very friendly and nice and always wants to know how he can improve your experience.
Rooms are clean and well-maintained and each has a deck with a view of the ocean. The hotel is basically on the beach, so you are about 50 yards/meters from the ocean which is spectacular.
I would give this an excellent review except for one thing--solo female travelers beware of the location. It is about 1K from town, but a VERY dark and somewhat sketchy walk. The hotel told us it was fine, but it was pretty scary when we did it as two women, and we were followed at one point. There are very few autorickshaws or taxis that will take you back from the cliffs, where most of the stores and restaurants are located, at night. If you stay here as a single female traveler, you will definitely eat dinner each night at the hotel restaurant, unless you want to brave the walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emf790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
hello,
Beth and Elana...hope everything is fine with you.thanks for such a good and elaborate review.hope the shampoo did work on Beth's hair after the massage with specially treated ayurvedic oil.we are happy that you had a nice time here.
about the path from the hotel to the cliff is as we said is safe.or at least we didnt come across any untoward incidents.
thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The hotel is absolutely beautiful and very romantic for a couples getaway. The staff is very relaxed but efficient and friendly. The restaurant serves really good food. Especially the seafood that comes straight from the fishermen that bring in the days catch next to the hotel. The beach is nice and clean and relatively private. However the waves are quite rough so it is not a beach for small kids.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kalleNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
375 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.4 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Property: Palm Tree Heritage
Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing