We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Varkala”
Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Tree Heritage
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Lovely decorated rooms, beautiful seaside and super friendly and helpful people. The food at the restaurant is excellent and has a very good price value ratio. Room Cleaning was organized very well.... The people (Gopal) were helpful in finding good restaurants, Ayurveda, local spots and also the taxi pick up to our next destination.

Would love to go there again.
Thanks so much for making this a perfect vacation

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ziggy390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Segi and Steffi,thanks for a wonderfull review.and we are happy to know that we were also a part in making your holidays pleasant and memorable.
thanks a million

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

I stayed with my family (including 1 kid) for 5 nights just to chill and be away from the city, the crowd and the pollution. We enjoyed thoroughly. We selected this place because the property looked nice and it was away from the main touristy area; the tariff was also reasonable.

The resort is beautiful, right next to the beach and in a picturesque stretch of the coastline. The rooms are spacious, clean and elegant with an old world charm. It's a small resort of 2 adjacent villas with 5 and 3 semi-detached rooms respectively; I was told they are expanding.

I would say the propery is resort-like whereas the service is more towards home-stay. There are no uniformed staff who are 24x7 on call or a swanky reception or modern amenties and I think most guests can live without that. The ambience is relaxed and casual and helps you savour the sight and sound of the place.

Babu (one of the partners), Gopal (the Manager) and all the restaurant staff are very helpful, friendly and cheerful bunch of guys who do their best to keep the guests happy. They'll generally generally chat with you and not rush about their work.

The restaurant was in a temporary shack a stone throw away because they are rebuilding a proper restaurant. The menu was ordinary but the staff go out of thier way to keep the guests happy. Its actually quite nice to sit in the shack, order a drink and enjoy the sight and the breeze.

The beach was a small gap between wave-breakers (wall-of-boulders) that run along the coastline. I was told between Nov to Mar when the sea recedes the main beach opens up. In the morning till around 11am the beach belongs to the fishermen who pull in their net ashore and sort their catch. It's hectic activity involving 20-30 fishermen, a boat, a raft that is fun to watch especially their yelling and bickering. Sadly, on our penultimate day they occupied the beach much longer and left such a mess that we had to give up the idea of swimming.

Our biggest disappointment is that inspite of booking almost 3 months ahead and confirming many times for a room that has a sea view, we were given the only room in the resort that didn't have any view. I wouldn't be surprised if the management was trying to appease the demands of foreign tourist at the cost of locals.

They have a policy of no food delivered to room (because the smell stays in the room) that I respected but kind-of found difficult to adjust to during vacation.

There is no TV in the room that is perfect for adults who want peace but no so much if you have small kids.

If you are going to the Cliff where all the shops, restaurants, bars and tourists are, it is about 20mins walk along the beach. It's better to take an Autorickshaw back after sunset and request the hotel staff to send the auto to pick you up.

Overall it was a enjoyable stay at the resort and I would recommend others to stay here if they are not too fussy.

Room Tip: There are 8 rooms in an L-shape, and only 1 in the corner that does not have any view. You can ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandip_RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

thank you Mr.Sandip for your review.hope Mishka and madam is fine.as you know the shack which was our restaurant was just a make shift and a more organized and clean restaurant is just ready.about the mess in the beach on your penultimate day,i inquired the local fishermen and found out that it might have been some other tresspassers from some other beach or vedor who came to buy the fish cos normally the local fishermen around here respect us and learnt to keep the beach clean to the extent possible.anyway sorry for it and we will try our best to stop these kind of behaviors.about the room,please dont misunderstand us that we want to please somebody at the cost of others.we want to treat everybody the same,but the rooms are classified and priced according to the facilities and view they have.so this is purely on the category of the room and the cost of it and not depending on nationality.
we are still not sure of the food service in the room,but we will certainly think about the tv option.your suggestion will be viewed seriously.
thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We selected this resort based on the reviews we read in trip advisor. We went to palm tree with a question mark how it will be.

But our stay for 3 days really was really good. The room and bath room was very spacious, clean and sparkling. The room we stayed was sea facing and it provided a steady flow of good refreshing wind as well a fantastic view. The best thing we liked about the resort is right in front is a beach which is used mostly by resort occupants, which helped us to be in the sea for un-limited hours. More than us, our son had a real good time on the beach sand. Along the side of the resort there is beach trek tracks which is must for anyone to stay here. You can spend hours walking along the beach side and enjoy the view from various cliff's.

Along with rooms, Service of this resort really stands out. Resort team is always ready to go the extra mile to make the customers very happy. We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality, good food (team has customized this to our needs for our son). Special thanks to Babu, Bobby and their always smiling team to make our stay worth memorable.

Our experience has made up our mind that when we come back to Varkala, we don’t need to look for another place to stay. Way you go “Palm tree heritage”.

Cheers,
-Vimal & Family

Room Tip: ask specifically for sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vimalsankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

thank a lot for all the compliments.it is a work of a motivated team and reviews like this encourage our team.
thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Visited Palm Tree Heritage for 8 days in October.

The quality of the rooms is exceptional at this price, both externally & internally.
There are only 8 rooms so be sure to book in advance.

Palm Tree Heritage is on Odayam Beach away from the Cliff, but it's just a short rickshaw ride to the centre if you want to try different restaurants in the evening. For a change of beach it's just a 10 minute walk along the coast to Black Beach.

There is a feeling of exclusivity, as there are just 8 rooms with a small garden, and a beach shared with the fishermen. Make sure you get up early enough to watch them fish from the beach. I don't understand their language, but I'm sure some of the exchanges are non too polite.

As there are more staff than guests the service is excelent. Bobbi and his team are literally tripping over themselves to make sure everything is O.K. Gupal the manager is always on hand with information or sugestions for trips etc. Babu is the owner and is a font of information. There, that's all the name checks done.

when the new restaurant is completed this place will be even more special than it already is.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview. 1 room doesn't have this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJK_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you for the wonder full elaborate review.the credit goes to all our team.we will thrive hard to keep it up.thanks a million.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel. From the minute we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for Gupal and his staff.

The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. While we were sitting on our balcony, we were approached and told that we just need to tell a staff member and they'll go across, get us some drinks while we sit and read.

While we were swimming in the "essentially private" beach, a staff member noticed that we didn't have towels and brought some down unprompted. And so it went on. We felt welcome and everything was perfect.

The place is right on the beach and it was easy to enjoy the wonderful sunsets.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben_goes_global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

thank you Ben,give my Regards to Jackie.the restaurant will be shifted soon so nobody would have to run across to fetch the beer.we are and will try our best to live up to the high standards you guys have set for us.
thanks again for a review like this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Visited Palm Tree heritage for a short 1 day trip.What stands out most is the enthusiasam and energy of Bobby,Babu and Reji.They were excellent in satisfying all our needs.Room is spacious,clean and you have small "private" beach to enjoy.View from the room is very nice.Food tastes good.They informed that the restuarant is under renovation and i think it is high time they have a good restaurant at this place.The current restaurant is only a short term solution and it needs to improve a lot on cleanliness.This is rated as one of the top 25 in india,but don't compare it with other's in the ranking like the Taj,Oberoi and Orange county.They all are in another league and they charge you too in another league.This is a small resort,but has very good potential to be a good one and most improtantly they serve you very well.So set your expectations properly before you pack your bags to this place.But am sure you won't be disappointed.I am rating this only 4 as i expect them to have a better clean restaurant next time i visit this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

thank you for the feedback.as you said the we already realized that restaurant has to be clean and spotless.sorry for the inconvenience,thats the reason we are building the new one (well renovating the old one).this restaurant where you had food was just a makeshift one.with in a week or so .
the next time you come we are sure you would accept our restaurant for taste and also for cleanliness and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This place is a hidden gem! A bit up the coast from Varkala is this quiet and tranquil resort where the staff can't do enough for you. They're so laid back, letting you enjoy your stay and then any question or queries they can't do enough to help! It's a great location and the views are stunning.

The rooms are clean and well-kept, plus the food we had was delicious!

Great place - would go back in an instant!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

thanks a lot for the review.it is so encouraging for our team and it boosts up our energy to live up to the standards and to head in the right direction of development.
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.4 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#4 of 52 in Varkala
404 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#27 of 52 in Varkala
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £24 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing