We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Tree Heritage
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in last week and it was a nice place. The room was clean and the the decor was nice. The electricity is not adequate when there are many people staying at the hotel, but the wifi was good. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is good, but the seafood that they have to offer is good, but way over priced. The beach is nice for the area, but it is more appropriate for children age 10+. I would stay there again. I think this hotel will be much better once the pool is complete.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Senoravargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

I think that the staff work hard to get it to the top on tripadvisor views. To me and my family it was a great small place by the sea with great rooms however be careful because the aircon doesn't work. We told them and they didn't sort it. Also the room didn't get cleaned on a daily basis, Finally I would question the cleanliness of the kitchen. We got a honey jar with dead ants in.We are big travellors so whilst we had a couple of issues it still is a good place to stay just not Brilliant

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bowdenkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe double room. I immediately expected the a/c wasn't working properly, but left it on while we went for dinner at the on-site restaurant. Popping back in later on, there was no power at all. I informed one of the staff (young guy wearing glasses), he said there'd been a power cut, said something about the voltage being wrong (?) and that the a/c would be working now.

Anyway, had a wee dip in the beach which is literally seconds from the rooms, then the staff set up tables right on the beach, showed us the local catch, and we made our order for dinner. The fresh prawns we had, cooked in a mild sauce, made one of the nicest meals we've had in India. A few beers after sunset, listening to the waves, made a great end to our first night, though on returning to our room the a/c still wasn't working. It was late, so we left until morning to mention the aircon again. After the same staff member as before (with glasses) tried to convince us we were using the remote control wrong, eventually they admitted there was a problem, and moved us to another room. We were happy with the problem solved, but the same staff member made condescending comments to us later in the day, suggesting he wasn't happy with the "fuss" we'd created...

The main swimming beach is a pleasant enough 15-20 minute walk down the beach, and it becomes clear from the walk that the Palm Tree Heritage has the additional benefit compared to other Varkala options of no vendors/shops, which again makes this option a good choice for a relaxing break. Somewhat bizarrely, we were told by a different member of staff about the risk of encountering violent, drunk fishermen on the walk up the beach, and advised to avoid it after dark. Whether there is a genuine problem, or whether it was a clever ruse to get you to stay on-site for meals and drink, I'm not sure... It certainly isn't good PR for Varkala as a whole! Regardless, I'd recommend walking to the main beach (in daylight!) if you're interested in sunbathing, body-surfing or shopping - or visiting one of the many milkshake and pancake cafes, which reminded us a bit of Thailand.

Given the good quality of our first seafood dinner, we also ate dinner on-site the next night. The meal was just as good, so we can definitely recommend the Palm Tree Heritage for food (the breakfast and other snacks on the menu were also good from our experience). However, our second and final night was slightly spoilt when we were suddenly informed that they'd run out of beer. We found it a bit odd that they didn't just get some more (which they'd done once before earlier in the night), but didn't make a fuss and decided to take it as a cue for an early night after settling our bill for the evening. Weirdly, we were followed back to our room by the same staffmember with glasses, who repeatedly asked us if everything was alright - we both thought he was trying to goad us to cause some sort of trouble!

Our train onwards was the next morning. After a better sleep in the room with working a/c, we again had a nice set breakfast and hung about waiting to leave for the train station. The India Rail live status website gave us a bum steer when the train was due to arrive (the train miraculously went from 46 minutes late to on time in the space of 1 stop!), and we ended up having a mad panic to get to the station on time. The owner was very helpful in quickly re-arranging our pickup, and we arrived just in time to catch our train.

Overall, we enjoyed the setting and the food (I should also point out that the cleaners do a wonderful job, considering the beach is yards away), but our various interactions with one staffmember in particular, and to a lesser extent with other staff, made us glad to leave in the end. The Palm Tree Heritage is expanding with some new and beautiful-looking chalets due to open the week after our visit, so business is obviously good for the owners. I'd suggest they spend as much attention on staff training and maintaining facilities in the existing rooms, noting that we did not receive an apology or discount for the non-working a/c on the first night.

Room Tip: If you need a/c, ensure it's working to your satisfaction as soon as possible, to give you enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiscomBob76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Visited in Oct end and had booked Family Suite for 4 nights.

Good things abt hotel:
- Excellent service by Mr. Babu and his team. A big thanks to Misfer (Mohammed) and Biju.
- Rooms are clean n very spacious and had an excellent view.

Areas of improvement:
- Hygiene in Kitchen - Found flies in milk I ordered for baby and in Sambhar ordered by my wife. The staff apologized twice.
- Food - Ordered chicken and it was very hard to chew. Overall, food is average. Try Abba Restaurant on hill instead.
- Power fluctuations - Had a lots n lots of power fluctuations which also stops the AC in the room.
- No AC or Ceiling dan in Second room of Family suite. There's only a wall fan on one side of bed which was not good enough.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank geek04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Palm Beach Heritage is really best hotel in Varkala- excellent location right on the beach , quiet,friendly atmosphere, very clean accomodation, close to Varkala. Excellent, friendly staff, very helpful and attentive. Special thanks to kind Babu! Unforgettable candle light dinner at the beach . Fantastic People, Food,Location! We would recommend this hotel to everyone who likes such a calm place to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife, 3 kids, my dad and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. They picked us up from Trivandrum airport and arranged for further transport to other places nearby like day trip to boat house in Kollam.

Food at the restaurant was decent. We were vegetarians and we enjoyed the food.

Babu is great. He is the main reason for success of this hotel.

Other minor things to note:

- Service at the restaurant will take time
- Bathroom had a smell. When I brought to hotel staff notice, they promptly took care of it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balaji I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It was an excellent option that I chose to stay in Palm Heritage in Varkala. Almost located on the
beach, and must say an excellent view of the sea from the balcony of the room. Propery manager Babu was very friendly and took care to send in the cab to pick from Kollam and to early check in.
The walk from the hotel to Papnasam beach on the cliff, must say an amazing view of arabian sea.
And in the evening Babu arranged for candle light dinner on the beach, was most relaxing and
wonderfull time to spend with your loved ones. Overall Had a very relaxing and hassle free vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kiranck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.4 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#5 Best Value Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £31 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing