We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveller rating
714
241
41
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
241
41
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachmr babucandle light dinnerseafoodfamily suitetiger prawnsodayam beachdinner on the beachthe cliffsuperior suitelocal fishermenhis teamfresh fishsound of the wavesclean beachvisit this placeevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
588 - 593 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in March for 3 nights.
The room we had was lovely, the bathroom in particular was spacious, clean and even had a bath.
The bed in the main room was quite large and the a/c and fan worked well.
Although we had booked 2 deluxe rooms with each having a seaview, one of the rooms did not.
Both however had a nice porch area in front as well.
The location of the Hotel is very good and is right on the bach and you can watch the fishermen pulling the nets in in the morning. It is only about a 15 min walk to the shops that line the clifftops. I would definately recommend going in the sea, I have never experienced water as warm as we found here and the waves were great fun.
The food we ate was cooked to a v good standard, my only gripe would be that the choice of dishes was not as good as we experienced elsewhere on our holiday, breakfast in particular I did not enjoy. However being able to eat dinner on the beach listening to the waves rolling in was amazing. The service was very good and the staff were all v friendly.
The hotels wifi was a bit ropey if i am honest, probably not enough bandwidth to cope, a small tip, there was another unlocked network called DLink which you could get near the front of the hotel. We used this as well as the hotels network.
The hotel did experience quite a few electricity blackouts whilst we were there, more than we experienced elsewhere in Kerala, sometimes this was annoying as it took out the ac and fan.
Overall I would recommend this place, but I would look around at the other restaurants along the cliffs for a bit more of a choice.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a seaview as one of our rooms did not.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pez1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A very nice hotel! The rooms were big and very clean! The staff were absolutely fantastic! Everyone were superfriendly and seemed to really enjoy their job. The staff in the receptionist were very helpful, with everything from booking yoga to organizing tours. The restaurant staff were the friendliest i've ever met! They werent just great waiters/waitresses, they were also intrested in our over all well being. Plus the food was fantastic! I would love to go back there soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky_das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Palm Tree Heritage. This was the best service I have ever had at a hotel. The owners and staff played with our children. They even planned an impromptu birthday celebration for my son, who turned three while we were in Varkola. The owners were also very helpful when we reserved our rooms and the transport from the hotel. They helped us plan a few trips into the city, on a house boat and to an elephant festival when we requested help (however, they did not try to talk us into any expensive packages, which we appreciated).

Also, the food at the restaurant was the best we had in Varkola. The breakfast with half board included any item from the extensive menu. For dinner I suggest the fish wrapped in banana leaf if you have the opportunity. This dish was a bit more expensive than some of the other restaurants in Varkola, but well worth the extra cost.

Please note that the hotel is a 15-minute walk from the main Varkola beach. We enjoyed being away from the busy shops and restaurants (while still close enough to walk or take a rickshaw). However, if you want to be right on the main beach, this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah22222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the honey moon villa , so beautifully located with a wonderful view of the sea you could sit at the porch for hours together looking at the sea. What makes this place very special is Babu and his team who attended to every need of ours and made sure we were comfortable. Hospitality at its best. They help you with everything from transport to medicines. The local fisher man are all very friendly and the beach where the resort is located is like a swimming pool and we had a blast.Food is good and the waiters are prompt with their service.Though the villa looks beautiful we felt the space could have been better utilized. Over all the place was fantastic and we want to visit again.

Room Tip: Take the honey moon villa situated at the right end of the resort.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubhaNiranjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were three of us. We booked the most expensive of all the cottages. We got the least comfortable stay. There were power fluctuations and the AC did not work in our room. Apart from that the constant noise outside the rooms back window, huge cockroaches, ants were not relaxing our moods. Terrible was no Telephon was provided. So we had to go down the stairs through a noisy parking many times just to tell them to fix the AC. However they transferred us on the last day to a cheaper room where the AC worked with only 1000 Rupees less to pay. At the end we were not happy.

The view from top of the villa is wonderful with plenty of rocks and less sand to see. The design of the arches or wooden fassade, doors was so beatifully low that it hit our heads few times giving us a bruise.

Restaurant serves for tourists. So not much choice left to taste the local food except few dishes.

Room Tip: I recommend the cheaper rooms. They are worth the money. The cheaper room even has a huge bathroom with a bathtub which we lacked.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BranStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews