We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to go if you want to get away from it all”
Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Tree Heritage
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This is the place to go if you want to get away from it all”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

When you arrive here you can feel the stress dissolving. The hotel has real character and charm and is located a short walk North of the cliff top resort so it actually is on the beach. We had breakfast overlooking the fisherman bringing in their catch and fresh fish for dinner at a candlelight table on the beach.
The staff are excellent and really make you feel welcome. If you want to get away from it all and relax this is the place to come.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_H53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 22 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    217
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
295
370
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in March for 3 nights.
The room we had was lovely, the bathroom in particular was spacious, clean and even had a bath.
The bed in the main room was quite large and the a/c and fan worked well.
Although we had booked 2 deluxe rooms with each having a seaview, one of the rooms did not.
Both however had a nice porch area in front as well.
The location of the Hotel is very good and is right on the bach and you can watch the fishermen pulling the nets in in the morning. It is only about a 15 min walk to the shops that line the clifftops. I would definately recommend going in the sea, I have never experienced water as warm as we found here and the waves were great fun.
The food we ate was cooked to a v good standard, my only gripe would be that the choice of dishes was not as good as we experienced elsewhere on our holiday, breakfast in particular I did not enjoy. However being able to eat dinner on the beach listening to the waves rolling in was amazing. The service was very good and the staff were all v friendly.
The hotels wifi was a bit ropey if i am honest, probably not enough bandwidth to cope, a small tip, there was another unlocked network called DLink which you could get near the front of the hotel. We used this as well as the hotels network.
The hotel did experience quite a few electricity blackouts whilst we were there, more than we experienced elsewhere in Kerala, sometimes this was annoying as it took out the ac and fan.
Overall I would recommend this place, but I would look around at the other restaurants along the cliffs for a bit more of a choice.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a seaview as one of our rooms did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pez1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 22 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A very nice hotel! The rooms were big and very clean! The staff were absolutely fantastic! Everyone were superfriendly and seemed to really enjoy their job. The staff in the receptionist were very helpful, with everything from booking yoga to organizing tours. The restaurant staff were the friendliest i've ever met! They werent just great waiters/waitresses, they were also intrested in our over all well being. Plus the food was fantastic! I would love to go back there soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky_das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 22 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Palm Tree Heritage. This was the best service I have ever had at a hotel. The owners and staff played with our children. They even planned an impromptu birthday celebration for my son, who turned three while we were in Varkola. The owners were also very helpful when we reserved our rooms and the transport from the hotel. They helped us plan a few trips into the city, on a house boat and to an elephant festival when we requested help (however, they did not try to talk us into any expensive packages, which we appreciated).

Also, the food at the restaurant was the best we had in Varkola. The breakfast with half board included any item from the extensive menu. For dinner I suggest the fish wrapped in banana leaf if you have the opportunity. This dish was a bit more expensive than some of the other restaurants in Varkola, but well worth the extra cost.

Please note that the hotel is a 15-minute walk from the main Varkola beach. We enjoyed being away from the busy shops and restaurants (while still close enough to walk or take a rickshaw). However, if you want to be right on the main beach, this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah22222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 22 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the honey moon villa , so beautifully located with a wonderful view of the sea you could sit at the porch for hours together looking at the sea. What makes this place very special is Babu and his team who attended to every need of ours and made sure we were comfortable. Hospitality at its best. They help you with everything from transport to medicines. The local fisher man are all very friendly and the beach where the resort is located is like a swimming pool and we had a blast.Food is good and the waiters are prompt with their service.Though the villa looks beautiful we felt the space could have been better utilized. Over all the place was fantastic and we want to visit again.

Room Tip: Take the honey moon villa situated at the right end of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SubhaNiranjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 22 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were three of us. We booked the most expensive of all the cottages. We got the least comfortable stay. There were power fluctuations and the AC did not work in our room. Apart from that the constant noise outside the rooms back window, huge cockroaches, ants were not relaxing our moods. Terrible was no Telephon was provided. So we had to go down the stairs through a noisy parking many times just to tell them to fix the AC. However they transferred us on the last day to a cheaper room where the AC worked with only 1000 Rupees less to pay. At the end we were not happy.

The view from top of the villa is wonderful with plenty of rocks and less sand to see. The design of the arches or wooden fassade, doors was so beatifully low that it hit our heads few times giving us a bruise.

Restaurant serves for tourists. So not much choice left to taste the local food except few dishes.

Room Tip: I recommend the cheaper rooms. They are worth the money. The cheaper room even has a huge bathroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BranStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 22 March 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

If you ever wanted to stay right on a beach, this is the place. Just on the beach and what an experience you have when you take that candle light dinner right on the beach with the waves at an arms distance from you.
All thanks to Babu as he met us on his other property (Bamboo Lagoon Resort, Alleppey) and recommended to visit this place and surely we would have missed something if we did not add this in our plan at that moment.
Staff is helping,sea food is great and location is super awesome!!! Must visit place if you are in Kerala!

Room Tip: All are good but of you could get something facing the beach that will be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satender P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, 1 April 2015
Dear Friend, Hope everything is OK. Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise. Thanks & Regards Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.4 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 52 in Varkala
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Property: Palm Tree Heritage
Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing