We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homestay”
Review of Varkala Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Varkala Villas
Honningsvåg, Finnmark, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Homestay”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A genuine homestay
Suitable for everyone: families, backpackers and couples etc
Close to the beach, shops, restaurants and Ayurveda treatment.. but still very quiet and calm.
Very nice people run this place and because of that they will soon be your friends.
You can trust them 100% and they know everything about touristy stuff and local things: great connections when it comes to restaurants, yoga, Ayurveda etc
I stayed at this place for 12 weeks and loved it.
/Andreas

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    14
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
15
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Goettingen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I travelled with my girlfriend, we are a young couple. We stayed at Varkala Villas Haven guesthouse situated a mere 30 metres from Varkala South Cliff. The rooms are simple yet clean. Sunil, the manager is friendly and welcoming. The place is quiet and respectable. There is no breakfast service but guests can use the kitchen for the preparation of light meals. On request larger meals can be arranged.

South Cliff is much quieter and peaceful than the bustling North Cliff but a mere 2 kms away. It is a perfect location for people wanting a quiet peaceful sleep, but who also want access to the convenience and lively atmosphere of the North Cliff.

The views from the roof terrace are wonderful. Sea view rooms would have been nice, but a mere step outside ones room one is greeted by the deep blue arabian sea.

We loved Varkala so much, and felt so much at home at Varkala Villas that we extended our stay by 2 nights and have already recommended the place to any friends heading in that direction. Definitely a place to return to.

Sunil has three properties in Varkala each of which is slightly differently priced with different amenities. Be sure to call and enquire about which one best suits your needs.

Overall a great place to stay, welcoming, clean, comfortable. A wonderful place to unwind.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are more airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STayobZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

...inspired by Varkala Villa's owner Sunil, who was dismayed and concerned about the effect of previous review for his place (see below). Given that small guest houses can thrive or die based on their tripadvisor reviews, we would like to report that we had a very happy one-week stay at "God's Own Villa" in January 2014, in the neighbouring non-AC hut to the previous reviewers (who were still there when we left!).

The big plus points of Varkala Villas are the cleanliness (spotless), the peaceful environment (only the sound of the sea at night), the very friendly and hospitable staff (we got lost on the way home from the helipad area on our first night and Sunil cheerfully answered our call and came to our rescue!) - and the fantastic breakfast of fresh fruit, filter coffee, omelette, toast & some amazing homemade pineapple jam. Scrumptious.

We had looked through the photos here on tripadvisor and on VV's own website and knew in advance that the hut we had booked was positioned in such a way that only half the building had a view of the garden, and in the distance, the sea. The photos on both these sites are completely accurate, it looks exactly like this! There is no direct access to a beach, in large part because of the topography of Varkala's cliffs, but South beach can be accessed in a few minutes from Soul & Surf next door, or the main beach a little further down the hill.

The non AC room was a bit too hot through the day (fine at night) and it is a little expensive when you book in advance, but that's rather the nature of advance booking isn't it... especially for such a small property (God's Own Villa only has these 4 rooms) and we were there during peak season, for a special occasion. And not so bad when you see the rates that the swanky resorts immediately next door are charging! (Soul & Surf and SeaShore).

So in conclusion, I heartily recommend Varkala Villas, we had a very happy and comfortable stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tres_Ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My disappointment was quite huge when I saw the "sea" view they promised me - actually bamboo houses face the wall of the villas in front of them and just a part of the garden surrounded by the stone wall.
Yes, there's a wifi and rooms are clean but for that amount of money Varkala can offer rather cheaper accommodation at better location.

Room Tip: Never book for long period at one place - after the photoshop they are able to offer you everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BhaktielHakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It's a lovely place on the south cliff, quiet and much less touristy (70 rupee on tuktuk from railway station). It has three rooms at the front in the main building, and four cottages at the back facing the green garden and the sea (although blocked a little by another property).
The room was very spacious (incl the bathroom), well facilitated, clean and very comfy. The little terrace was a pleasant place to stay, enjoying the greeness of the garden and fresh air from the sea. It's less than five minute walk to the main beach below, and even shorter via the neighbouring Soul and Surf's stairwalks to the quiet side of the beach.
The breakfast options included Kerelan and Western, and the Kerelan ones were different on both days. A good portion for us and we skipped lunches on two days. :)
Sunil, the manager, was a lovely person to talk to and get information from. He's genuienely friendly and informative (on connection options to Madurai), and he helped us change the dollars with a good rate. His staff Ananda was also very attentive and friendly, with good level of English.
All in all, a very relaxinig place to chill with good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuang Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We had arranged with Sunil airport pickup and the driver took us straight there, we had a long journey but were welcomed with a massive smile.
The room was clean and comfy to stay in.
The garden was beautiful and on our veranda we had fresh flowers every morning and a gorgeous breakfast.
All of the staff were more than accommodating and extremely helpful. When there was a problem Sunil fixed it straight away, and the room was cleaned at every request.
We were only supposed to be there 7nights but we ended up staying 20.
Sunil also let us print our boarding passes in his office and arranged another taxi to take us to the airport.
Only thing I would recommend is juice in the morning with breakfast and afternoon tea :) but when I asked for tea in the evening again they were very pleased to help us.
Also when there was a power cut we were either given a candle or a torch.
Thank you for a wonderful visit and I would recommend to everyone!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jadeington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a very nice and super clean bungalow with a porch, facing the sea. Our hosts were both very nice and helpful not just with any information we may need about Varkala, but also with arranging other tours of Kerala. The breakfast was delicious starting from the super yummy pineapple juice through to the keralan breakfast. The location is great too as it's in the quieter south cliff with very quick access to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddielippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
9.9 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
250 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#21 of 52 in Varkala
143 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Thanal Beach Resort
Thanal Beach Resort
#9 of 97 in Varkala
56 reviews
10.8 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
311 reviews
10.7 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala Villas

Property: Varkala Villas
Address: Janardhanapuram | South Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 97 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Varkala Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varkala Villas have a 3 property ,GOD'S OWN VILLA 2 sea view a/c cottages 2 sea view non a/c Bamboo cottages PARUVILLA 4 non sea view rooms and HAVEN Beach Resort 1 A/C Seaview std dbl bed room and 9 non A/C std dbl bed rooms 5 minutes walkable distance on the beach.We have Yoga and Ayurveda felicities also.We also have a very big garden.Free Wi Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Varkala Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varkala Villas Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing