We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good deal rooms / amazing value restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akshay Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Akshay Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a good deal rooms / amazing value restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

the hotel does not look the most inviting at the first glance, but the crew/owner makes it very special. simple spacious spartan rooms with balcony (our was) over a couple of floors that climb the hill. ayruvedic centre and a vegetarian restaurant on the first floor tucked away from the street traffic. yoga exercise room on the top floor.

food! amazing to watch the cook preparing your simple and tasty food. even tea making was a ceremony.

100 metres to the beach (where religious rituals and fish trading takes place), but about 500m to the main clean sand beach. 200 metres to the ATM machine at Temple Junction.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernardusimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Marsa, Tunisia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a friendly, warm yet cheap beach resort, Akshay is the place to be!!!!

Délicious vegeterian restaurant, warm and excellent service, very kind staff...Shibu the manager has made his resort a warm and cool place.

The only hard time i had is when i had to Check out as we feel like we are in a family like environment!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aïcha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

The manager Shibu will make sure you have a good stay here. He has a rare skill in Indian hotels (unless 4 or 5 star). He understands hospitality not too much just there when you need it. The hotel is clean, quiet, great value and close to the beach. If you are looking for the more crazy nightlife in Varkala then this is the wrong place as that is all on the north cliff but if you want the best of both worlds it's only 10 minutes walk.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinGuy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We have thoroughly enjoyed our time staying at Akshay in Varkala. It is a lovely beach town, which is really quiet compared to the rest of India we've travelled through. Akshay is perfectly situated just outside the really touristy part of the beach. It is very reasonably priced and the food has been great (we haven't actually eaten anywhere else so far). We keep saying that we'll leave in a few days, though we've already stayed a week and haven't made any plans to leave!

Room Tip: They have a range of rooms (some with balconies and one as a stand alone out-house) so ask to see wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
281 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Wonderful Staff, great location, excellent Restaurant Passion Fruit, with a simple Indian menu serving fresh organic food. I arrived here for a day and stayed a week with the lovely relaxed atmosphere it was hard to leave. Its only 2 minutes from the beach & across the road there is another wonderful coffee shop called Kerela Spice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dublinblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pabianice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

decent conditions for reasonable price.Very friendly and cool owner.Excellent,cheap vegetarian restaurant.300meters to the ocean.The same to the bus stand at
Temple Junction.for more info ring +24248604556

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacek s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Great staff, very friendly and so close to the beach. Well priced. The restaurant had a small menu but tasty indian food. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank backpacker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.0 mi away
Pulari Gardens
Pulari Gardens
#25 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zion Villa Beach View Resort
0.0 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
IndraPrastha Beach Resort,Varkala
0.0 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#20 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akshay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akshay Beach Resort

Property: Akshay Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#9 Spa Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AKSHAY BEACH RESORT are situated near the Janardhana Temple and less than 100 meters away from Papanasam main beach. At Resort are 20 rooms with different category of comfort. We offer A/C and non A/C rooms. Room service is 24 hours available. Free wi-fi.The additional services are:- Restaurant with traditional Kerala food and special combo thali. Restaurant are situated on open terrace and garden floor of Resort . All guests can get cooking class at open kitchen from the chief;- License Aurvedic lady doctor with more than 20 years experience (consulting; fluent English; all kinds of aurvedic massages; treatments in our own clinic);- Yoga classes by a professional instructor with more 29 years experience at the territory of Resort- Laundry available 24 hours;- Tourist taxis and transfer from airport/ train station are avalible;- Motorbikes borrow for guest;- We propose for free: library, frisbee, speedminton, balls and other games’ equipment. The property is runs by the owner/manager Shibu. P.JosephProfessional service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akshay Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing