We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Heaven Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$135
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$24
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kshetra Beach Resorts(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$15
US$14
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$22
US$20
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$19
US$18
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
InDa Hotel(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clafouti Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
3
8
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
8
0
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2011

New Heaven Resort is a great place to stay in Varkala Beach. Our room on the upper level was large with plenty of space and had a window with screen that looked out to the ocean and kept the mosquitoes out. The room also has a ceiling fan, high table and shelves for luggage. The en suite bathroom is huge with a sink, shower with cold water, but hot water comes out of a bottom tap to use when showering.
Rarely did the hotel lose it's electrical power. Very rare for India. If the lights did go out it was only for a minute or so.
The four upper rooms have a shared balcony that offers terrific views of the ocean, plus a patio table, two chairs and a hanging chair.
The ocean breeze and the sound of the waves are your only distractions.
Price per night is 800 rps for upper level. Breakfast not included, but the caretaker and his wife are able to prepare breakfast for a fee per your request and serve it on your balcony. Or you can stroll to the Trattoria, the Sun Shine or to any other restaurant s that are about 100 meters away.
The hotel is not fancy, but the rooms are clean and location is about 50 meters from the beach and pedestrian path that runs along the cliff.
The best part of our stay are the husband and wife team that run the hotel. They are very nice and eager to help with anything needed. They keep the hotel very clean and safe which made our stay for the two weeks wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikeWalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stay away from this place, and beware of Najmudeen the toothless crook.

I emailed New Heaven a few days before I arrived to book a room. He responded and said he would pick me up for free from the bus station. They charged me 1000 R per night for a room WITHOUT SHEETS OR HOT WATER.

When it was time to check out, Najmudeen, his wife, and another man cornered me in my room and threatened to call the police if I did not pay an additional 1000 R for the ride. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank freequebec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This place is listed in Lonely Planet under budget accommodations in Varkala Kerala. My friend and I heavily rely on Lonely Planet for most of our budget travels in India and also refer to it for accommodation. Our visit to Kerala was timed at the peak time of New Years which is why for the first time we booked in advance of 2 months!! Being slightly risk averse and not willing to shell out huge sums for last moment accommodation we were also tracking the booking regularly and were assured of even a pick up at Cullambulam( 7 km from Varkala) when we had contacted the resort two hours before reaching.
After a very long bus ride from Kochi when we finally arrived at this place we were shocked to know that there had been no booking and we basically had no where to go.The name of the person with whom we had spoken to since the past two months till two hours back has been advertised on all the walls along with his mobile number but he appeared to be apparently absconding!! To top it all the people present there who were trying to depict that they would accommodate us next door by doing a favor ( after we were asked to pay Rs 2000 for a night) thought this situation was highly amusing and were cracking jokes all the time and making wise cracks ( i guess it had to do with the fact that we were just four girls ). Later on we got to know we were the third case of fake bookings in the day.After a huge fight we finally walked out with no place to go at 8 in the night and all other hotels booked!!

I would really like to black list this place ,kindly book at ur own risk or better still dont book at all...there are tonnes of better places in and around and at better prices.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank nehasahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews