We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great balcony with swinging chairs at peaceful end just above best beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Heaven Beach Resort
Ranked #54 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I checked out heaps of places and this was the best budget option. Black beach which has the best beach and swimming is 2 min walk. Rooms clean spacious really nice sheets and towels. Quiet, large balcony with wifi and swinging chairs with views through palm trees to ocean. Great restaurant with awesome views and the lovely Madu.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandysun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

Not really a "resort" but the location was great and the rooms were spotless and spacious, important when it's hot! Bathrooms inside. The rooms on the ground floor will be at least 300 rupees cheaper. We paid 500 a night (low season). Not too sure what the other review was going on about the owner being a crook...? He and his wife were more than lovely on our visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleycrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Varakala is teaming with places to stay and you could pick any number of them depending on what you are looking for. We chose the New Heaven because we could find the phone number and make a reservation ahead of time. It turned out to be a great choice. The hotel is situated at the north end of the cliffs where it is a quieter and less busy than a few hundred meters south. I found this perfect. You can either head south down the cliff to the large, popular beach, or, closer to the north there are pockets of sandy beach such as Blacks Beach that are less crowded (but not as nice waves). There is a good restaurant just between the hotel and the beach (but to the side -- you can still see the water from the rooms); or there are practically a million more a short walk away. The rooms are spacious and clean with netting on the windows so you can let in fresh air w/out letting in mosquitoes. The ceiling fan makes the room quite comfortable. There is both hot and cold water (hot only for a bucket bath, cold for bucket or shower) but we found we never wanted hot water. The owners don't speak a lot of English but communication was never a problem and the workers did sweet things like bring our kids fresh coconuts while harvesting on the property. Overall, a good value for a simple but great room.

Room Tip: upper rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I visited New Heaven resort this christmas (2012) and to my opinion, this is the best place to stay at in Varkala beach!
New heaven is situated at the north cliff in the end of the long stroll. This part of Varkala beach does not have that many tourist like there is at the south part and it is near to the black beach which is the best beach to hang around at.
We had a seaview and could sleep to the sound of the waves in the night. New heaven is a familyrun hotel. We had breakfast including, sometimes continental and sometimes traditionel Kerala breakfast. The rooms is big, clean and very nice. They also can provide 24 hour taxiservice to resonable prices. Nearby is Luna Azul café which is a very nice restaurang with excellent food.
Me and my two kids had a wonderful christmas here for five days (the best stay during our holiday in India) and I can really recommend New heaven!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trimokasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

New Heaven Resort is a great place to stay in Varkala Beach. Our room on the upper level was large with plenty of space and had a window with screen that looked out to the ocean and kept the mosquitoes out. The room also has a ceiling fan, high table and shelves for luggage. The en suite bathroom is huge with a sink, shower with cold water, but hot water comes out of a bottom tap to use when showering.
Rarely did the hotel lose it's electrical power. Very rare for India. If the lights did go out it was only for a minute or so.
The four upper rooms have a shared balcony that offers terrific views of the ocean, plus a patio table, two chairs and a hanging chair.
The ocean breeze and the sound of the waves are your only distractions.
Price per night is 800 rps for upper level. Breakfast not included, but the caretaker and his wife are able to prepare breakfast for a fee per your request and serve it on your balcony. Or you can stroll to the Trattoria, the Sun Shine or to any other restaurant s that are about 100 meters away.
The hotel is not fancy, but the rooms are clean and location is about 50 meters from the beach and pedestrian path that runs along the cliff.
The best part of our stay are the husband and wife team that run the hotel. They are very nice and eager to help with anything needed. They keep the hotel very clean and safe which made our stay for the two weeks wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikeWalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stay away from this place, and beware of Najmudeen the toothless crook.

I emailed New Heaven a few days before I arrived to book a room. He responded and said he would pick me up for free from the bus station. They charged me 1000 R per night for a room WITHOUT SHEETS OR HOT WATER.

When it was time to check out, Najmudeen, his wife, and another man cornered me in my room and threatened to call the police if I did not pay an additional 1000 R for the ride. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank freequebec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This place is listed in Lonely Planet under budget accommodations in Varkala Kerala. My friend and I heavily rely on Lonely Planet for most of our budget travels in India and also refer to it for accommodation. Our visit to Kerala was timed at the peak time of New Years which is why for the first time we booked in advance of 2 months!! Being slightly risk averse and not willing to shell out huge sums for last moment accommodation we were also tracking the booking regularly and were assured of even a pick up at Cullambulam( 7 km from Varkala) when we had contacted the resort two hours before reaching.
After a very long bus ride from Kochi when we finally arrived at this place we were shocked to know that there had been no booking and we basically had no where to go.The name of the person with whom we had spoken to since the past two months till two hours back has been advertised on all the walls along with his mobile number but he appeared to be apparently absconding!! To top it all the people present there who were trying to depict that they would accommodate us next door by doing a favor ( after we were asked to pay Rs 2000 for a night) thought this situation was highly amusing and were cracking jokes all the time and making wise cracks ( i guess it had to do with the fact that we were just four girls ). Later on we got to know we were the third case of fake bookings in the day.After a huge fight we finally walked out with no place to go at 8 in the night and all other hotels booked!!

I would really like to black list this place ,kindly book at ur own risk or better still dont book at all...there are tonnes of better places in and around and at better prices.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank nehasahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
954 reviews
0 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
290 reviews
0 mi away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#35 of 102 in Varkala
51 reviews
0 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#10 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Heaven Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Heaven Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Price Range: £14 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Heaven Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Heaven Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing