We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gumnut Beach House Homestay
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Upon arriving at Gumnut Beach House Home stay, we found it to be relaxing, welcoming and very clean. Rose and Radha were more than accommodating in assisting with our travels considering I was five months pregnant and traveling with a two and half year old.
Beach access is great and surf was good as well as many enjoyable local attractions nearby.
They have great local knowledge of the area and are more than welcome to provide info if required. The rooms are private and well set out and we definatley plan on staying again when we return to India next time.

Room Tip: book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
31
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Gumnut home stay is more than just an accommodation in Varkala. Rose and Radha are wonderful hosts. I felt I had a comfortable space to hang around. I loved to sit on my room’s balcony. And the house is really clean.

Rose is very helpful in a very discreet way, and she can sense what kind of help you need. With her, I finally understood the way trains work in India.

The house is situated on the “Indian” side of the beach. Within a 5 minute’s walk by the beach, you can reach the “tourist” part.

I had a wonderful time there.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

What a great place to call home for as long as you can. Rose is very helpful and friendly, but don't ask to take her picture, she is shy in front of the lens. The rooms are very clean, and you have the use of a kitchen, and drinking water is avaiable for free. It is located away from all the busyiness , in a nice neighbors setting.I look forward to getting back there in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mouchnino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Gumnut Beach House is situated in an ideal location to see, smell and hear the ocean next to the cliffs. The rooms are large and very spacious with new and clean furniture, kitchen facilities, and internet was handy. Surf was great and there are many spots close by for explorers. I had an incident with my board and thankfully was able to get it repaired cheap locally.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Our Indian travelling experience wouldn't have been the same without the kind hospitality and local knowledge of Rose and Radha at Gumnut Beach House. My family and I loved the rooms and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the stay. Great big bathrooms and nice new facilities make it a winner after visiting several other older style home stays which didn't meet our expectations. With great beaches, temples, restaurants and much more Varkala is the place to be on holiday when the winter blues kick in! Book early if possible so you dont miss out on a room when the holiday season starts as we will definatley be coming back next year!
Regards
Scratcher

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank globalwanderer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Traveling alone to India can seem a little daunting to some but meeting up with Rose and radha was very comforting & soon felt that I had known them for years.
Upon opening the front gates, you instantly feel a calming presence as you pass through the tropical gardens. The lush trees & undergrowth provide for the wildlife which is entertaining.
As you approach the front door, you are warmly greeted & invited in for a cuppa & a chat. Gumnut has a personal touch that is lacking in the more established hotels and home stays. I was treated to a tour of the house & noticed straight away that the rooms were spacious & comfortable, the bathrooms spotless.
You can wake up with a warm soothing herbal tea upstairs as a cool breeze gently blows away any humidity.
Rose and Radha were extremely helpful & offered me a personalized tour as well as local information on the best shopping. I even had traditional Indian tattooing at Roses beauty parlor !!!
Gumnut is situated on the southern cliffs & a nice distance from the tourists. It is close to town as well as yoga, meditation and ayervedic treatments.
Gumnut is reasonably priced & great value for money. I am sure they have many travelers returning. Next time plan to stay for 2 months.
See ya next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ronny38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Gumnut Beach House is clean and comfortable and relaxing. Hosts Rose and Radha are friendly and helpful and made our stay special. We enjoyed swimming in the beautiful Lakshadweep Sea, shopping, rejuvenating ayurveda massages and visiting amazing places like the ancient Janardhanapuram. The local food was fresh and delicious and I enjoyed learning to cook Varkala cuisine at Rose's beach house too! Very affordable and within walking distance of good restaurants, shops and Papanasham beach. The garden is a photographer's dream -full of beautiful butterlies and birds. Gumnut Beach House is the perfect place to stay in Varkala.

Room Tip: There are lots of rooms to choose from at Gumnut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zacandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#12 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumnut Beach House Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumnut Beach House Homestay

Property: Gumnut Beach House Homestay
Address: South Cliff Temple Road West | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful new homestay: 5 spacious rooms with fans and hot water, all attached bathrooms. 2 Minutes walk from main beach and restaurants. Guest kitchen has complimentary tea, coffee and filtered water. Close to Janardhana Swami temple. Budget accommodation. Lovely quiet area on South Cliff With free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gumnut Beach House Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumnut Beach House Homestay Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing